We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grande lady of the lido” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria to your Saves list
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran Viale Santa Maria Elisabetta, 28, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Braintree, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Grande lady of the lido”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Enjoyed staying at this hotel. all the things that you expect from a decent hotel were provided - a comfortable bed, good linen, clean towels, clean rooms and bathrooms, showers that work and a bit of space to move around.

There is a slight 'shabby chic' air to the place in that the bathrooms are not ultra modern and there is an air of age and character which I enjoyed but they were not sufficient to be to the detriment of any services or expectations.

I either had very quiet neighbours or the room soundproofing is excellent, always a joy not to hear what everyone else is doing, sadly so rare!

My room was on the second floor at the front and I had no problem with external noises, but sadly not high enough for a view. You need three and above for that.

Breakfasts were a good standard of continental buffet including hot scrambled eggs, which joy of joy were actually edible for the whole five mornings.

The staff were all very helpful and pleasant, but unobtrusive.

I would not hesitate to stay here again provided the room cost is appropriate - I would not pay 1,000 plus a night or anywhere near for the privilege. Does anyone actually pay that?

Room Tip: Upper floor front to get a view over to St Mark's
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    212
    77
    21
    19
See reviews for
99
279
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. Were advised by travel agent that it was too far from Venice but actually much better option . We were there in the Easter holidays and it was great to escape the craziness of the main land . We stayed in the junior suite Top floor . Views across to Venice . Much cheaper than the mainland. Even with taking into account ferry prices. Places around the hotel were cheaper than the main land . We did intend to go back to Venice at night but were happy to stay local . Hired a double cycle one day and just travelled around the island which was great fun . Would highly recommend this hotel for a more relaxed visit to Venice

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coban, Guatemala
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I had a wonderful stay at Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria. The hotel's location on Lido was perfect for a tranquil sleep away from the Venice party scene, but at the same time was well situated for a beautiful water taxi tour of the city on route to the train station!

The staff at the hotel were incredibly helpful and their dining recommendations excellent. The room was beautiful and the breakfast one of the best I've had!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 5 night in one of the 35sqm suites. We were a family of four (2 adults and 2 children). The suite had 2 rooms, one with double bedroom and one with twin beds. There was also a bath/toilet attached to the double bedroom. The room was lovely and had hair dryer, tea/coffee making facilities and a minibar. The buffet breakfast which is included in price was fantastic with eggs, bacon, salads, cheeses, fresh fruit, cereals, pastries, breads, yoghurts etc. The hotel is located a few minutes from the boat service and has lots of great cheap restaurants around. Fifty euros for family of four including wine. The boats go non stop from lido so in ten minutes you can be anywhere on Venice which means in some ways far better than staying in Venice. Lido is quiet, relaxed and not high prices. Staff at hotel were fantastic letting us have room early and allowing you to leave bags on departure day so you could enjoy Venice a last time before heading back to airport. One last thing is wifi was free.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived quite late on a Saturday night having negotiated the coach transfer and water bus journey. We were welcomed by the very helpful staff. Our room was amazing, a huge bed and a spotlessly clean bathroom. The view from the room wasn't bad either. The restaurant was great, the buffet breakfast was more than generous. The bacon could have been a bit crispier but I suppose that's just personal taste. On checking out on our last day the staff looked after our bags until we came back for them later in the day.
Overall a very pleasant stay.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

At first glance you look at this hotel and think 'wow' but does it really have the wow factor? not really.
The decor of the outside of the hotel, reception and corridors is beautiful and looks very elegant unfortunately this doesn't continue when you get to the bedrooms. I stayed in a junior suit and overall it was pretty basic throughout. The beds were very hard and with one pillow which made it very difficult to get a good nights sleep furthermore the duvets are more like towls.
Now the next issue i had was the fact i could hear when the rooms next door to me went to the toilet this was because often you would hear the flush from the toilet, as you can imagine this gets annoying throughout the middle of night. Moving on swiftly to the house keeping, well where to start? i was provided cups and spoons in the room and they was never washed throughout my 3 day stay which made them start to mould (yeah not very nice) My bedsheets also had a hole in them which again wasn't very nice considering this is a 4 star hotel.
Now to the matter of breakfast, well if you like salad for breakfast, cold egg, fatty bacon and cold stale bread you should be alright!.
And now to my last point the explicit video playing in the reception well, this was supposed to be advertising their spa but it is completely not appropriate to have in a hotel in my opinion. in the fact the only thing that saves this hotel is the lovely staff members with great customer service skills

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel for 3 days with friends whilst exploring Venice and the Lido. It is very close to the Vaporetto stop and just a beautiful 20 minute boat road across the lagoon to San Marco. The hotel was great! The outside is striking with the antique interior being far more subtle. The hotel reminds you of a bygone era of glamour and sophistication, the walls are adorned with photos of Hollywood stars holidaying at the Lido and the price was incredibly good value for money. Lovely setting, a great breakfast and staff who were helpful, polite and friendly. I don't think I ever passed a member of staff who did not greet me with a smile and a friendly hello. The management and staff really do deserve praise. This was my first trip to Venice. I'll be back and will be staying at the Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria again. A fantastic stay - Grazie!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria

Address: Gran Viale Santa Maria Elisabetta, 28, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
#5 Family Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grande Albergo AUSONIA & HUGARIA is a historic residence in Venice with a one-of-a-kind atmosphere with a Thai SPA and wellness center. The hotel is just a few minutes from the dock where the "vaporetto", the local public water-bus transportation, leave every 10 minutes for Saint Mark's Square, the downtown of Venice. The suggestive boat trip is just 10 minutes long and takes you through the Saint Mark's basin.The hotel is a welcoming gem in Liberty style with period furniture, large frescoed halls, perfect for any type of event, a renowned restaurant and rooms with every comfort for a romantic and exclusive stay.Every year, many national and international stars select the Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria for their stay in Lido during the Mostra Internazionale d’Arte Cinematografica (the Venice Film Festival) to appreciate the beauty and charm of the timeless structure and the superior service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Albergo Ausonia And Hungaria Wellness & Spa On Venice Lido Hotel
Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria Province Of Venice, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grande Albergo Ausonia & Hungaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.