We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine, Budget Option in great Neighbourhood on Lido” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Reiter Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Reiter Hotel to your Saves list
Reiter Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran Viale Santa Maria Elisabetta 57-B | Lido, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fine, Budget Option in great Neighbourhood on Lido”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

Simple, Clean, Budget Hotel. Great location on the lido in lovely bustling neighbourhood. 5 mins from vaporetto and 15- 20 mins journey to st marks square. We didnt have breakfast. Its a basic hotel but if all your looking for is a clean bed in a nice safe area its perfect.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    52
    41
    17
    16
See reviews for
21
58
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

First impressions walking into the "lobby", a seedy old man sitting behind a counter. No computer, just notepads. Then, I had to drag my luggage up the stairs (no lifts). We reached our room, and had to use actual keys to open our door, which took us about 5 minutes and a whole look of jimmying to be able to get it to unlock. After opening the door, we were greeted by a strange, bleach kind of smell. Bathroom was clean which was nice. Room was very old. It had a tiny analogue tv with a remote that didn't work. The bed was old, and was actually two singles pushed together with a double sheet over it.

After the second night of sleeping, though, I woke up with red bites all over my body. It seems I was attacked by bed bugs. This was not acceptable. I would not recommended this hotel to anyone.

Also, most of the time there was no one at reception. On their website they advertise a buffet breakfast, I never saw anything of the sort. Nor was there internet access like described also. Not worth the money spent, even if it was cheap.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

Room: very small, with old furniture but clean. no problems with hot&cold water. no problems with reservation, check-in/out, etc.
Location: the street is rather noisy (e.g. buses) but it's ok in general. it takes 5-10 minutes to get to vaporetto by foot. it takes approximately 10 minutes to get to the main island by vaporetto. with 72h ticket it's not a problem to live on Lido. Lido in general wonderful place to walk and live, with fresh air & lots of restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights in June. It was perfectly situated on Venice Lido. We prefered to stay on the Lido away from the hustle and bustle of Venice mainland. The nightlife is better on the Lido anyway! The beach is great also (with clubs on a night) and only 5 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel is on the main street of the Lido with plenty of nice restaurants and bars within walking distance. About a 10 minute walk to the water ferry terminal. It was only a 10 minute water taxi ride over to Venice mainland where we went most days. You can buy a travel card for 30 Euros at the airport which covers you for all water boats. It is about 6 Euros for a single journey from the Lido to Venice mainland so well worth investing in the travel card if you plan to explore. We also found it easy access to other islands such as Burano, also included in the cost of the travel card. The hotel itself was basic but clean. No air conditioning but moblie fans were provided. Great value for money and staff were friendly enough.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

venice is an expensive place to stay.

as two backpackers it was the best deal we could find. its a bit of a long boat ride from the main tourist spots which is a pain but we had a good nights sleep staying in lido as it is quiter.

on the upside the beach is a ten minute walk away.

hotel was decent. ensuite bathroom seemed new and refurbished. room was a bit old and musty with large damp spot on ceiling. however for the price we were paying it served its purpose. comfy bed with no bed bugs and clean bathroom. can't really ask for more :)

supermarket is down the road, staff i met were pleasant and willing to help.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

I stayed with my girlfriend here from April 9 to 11.

Provided you're fine with Lido and the 6.50 euro ferry fee you'll be paying each time you want to leave (or not, somehow I don't think anyone ever checks if you paid to board), the location is quite good. Lido seems to have a "main" street extending from the ferry stop to the beach across the island where the grocery store and all the restaurants and tourist shops are. Reiter is conveniently located roughly half-way down this street.

Upon arrival, we were notified that our double room was unavailable for the first of the two nights, and that they could either offer a much smaller room with two single beds for 10 euros less than we ordered, or we could get a regular double at a sister hotel elsewhere on Lido. Wary of sister hotels, we opted for the first option, landing what I think was 203. As promised, the room is ridiculously small, coupled with an absurd amount of bulky furniture. The combination of both factors meant we had to stuff our luggage into the closet, and move the table and dressers around as if we were playing "Parking Garage" whenever we wanted to open the balcony/window. The second night, however, we were offered a much more spacious room with three beds at our original rate as compensation--307 I think.

Both rooms were adequately clean and tidy, though they had water/fungus stains around some ceiling corners. We had some moths flap around our pillow in the second room, as well, so I would not be surprised if bugs become an issue as the summer goes on. The electrical wiring also seems a bit hazardous, with the sockets shakily sticking out exposed from the wall. The bathrooms were clean and roomy, however, with all the standard amenities like towels, soap, shampoo, etc. Water was hot in the first room early in the morning; in the second room, by 10 AM, it would not exceed lukewarm. Because we changed rooms each night, we did not get to see how well room service took care of used sheets and towels. Each room gets a TV, but no fridge, and food is not allowed into the room. The balconies are also a nice touch, provided you can access them. Decoration is plain, sparse, and very inconspicuous. In short, a decent place for sleeping, but I wouldn't want to spend any time of my day in there--what you'd expect of a decent hostel.

The staff appear friendly enough, though their English is limited. They're helpful enough to let you use their dining hall utensils and tables for eating your own food during the day, but not enough to tip you off to a good restaurant or local price range. Maybe they're much better if you can, or at least try to, speak Italian.

Didn't try their breakfast (for which you have to pay). No lift.

All in all, there's nothing terribly wrong with this place (aside from having ridiculously small rooms directly across from the stairwell), but nothing endearing either. Expect this to be more of a good hostel than a hotel, and you won't be disappointed. The price could be cheaper for what you get, though. I realize Venice is expensive, but so is Rome, and we grabbed a much better place there for the same price (Alice in Wonderland). Especially when you consider that this is Lido, a ferry ride away from mainland Venice and with a bland continental atmosphere (no Venice charm here), I think they should be offering either a better rate or better amenities. But all in all, I wouldn't mind staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopatcong, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

despite the comfortable location if you wanna be located at Lido and the overall cleanliness of the room this hotel could be much, much better....the main problem with our stay was the staff: very unhelpful. The impression of being considered as a disposable, slightly annoing useless costumers never left us as anything we asked just seemed to be a good reason for an eyes-roll and a "no".
Having said that the rooms are poorely furnished but clean (at least our was), the bed was ok and bathroom is very small with hot water that tends to run out mid morning if the hotel is full...no breakfast included in a price that should have been 30% cheaper to raise the overall experience.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Reiter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reiter Hotel

Address: Gran Viale Santa Maria Elisabetta 57-B | Lido, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Reiter Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Reiter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reiter Hotel Venice
Hotel Reiter
Reiter Hotel Province Of Venice, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reiter Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.