We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ejoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Riviera Hotel to your Saves list
Riviera Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazzale S.M. Elisabetta / Gran Viale, 5, 30100 Lido di Venezia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Pine Beach, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ejoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at the Riviera at the end of September. The room was small, but clean, and the décor was charming while a bit cheesy. The staff were pleasant, and the breakfast was fine. The coffee was wonderful, and there was an excellent assortment of foods to choose from - even Prosecco! The vaporetto stop across Grazie!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    119
    38
    14
    5
See reviews for
32
131
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here in October and we were well pleased, the rooms were clean ,well furnished and comfortable,and the decor was really nice all in gold. The staff were frendly and most helpfull,we arrived after midnight and the guy on duty was most helpfull,and took our lugage to our rooms. The decor of the reception rooms was comfortable and really nice being again all in shades of gold. The breakfast was really exellent ,there was an assortment of rolls ,pasteries, fresh fruits ,jems,cheeses and assorted meats as well as bacon and eggs,cearels also a bottle of wine and juices. We found it very handy to get into Venice and also any other places we wanted to go,the water buses being right across the road. There were plenty of places to eat around and also it was within walking distance from a lovely beach,all in all a great location. We would certainly recomend this hotel to others and will stay there whenever we visit Venice again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

I was there in September and really like the place.
Just 2 minutes walk from the pier ( when the taxi boat drops you off)

The rooms are a bit small, but they are quite charming and that is all its needs.
The breakfast was ok and the staff very polite.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Many thanks to all the staff at the Riviera Hotel for making our stay on the Lido Island so enjoyable. The hotel is clean and tidy,the breakfast is all you can want for,the position is ideal for the vaporetto trip to Venice and we had a wonderful view from our room.
Some previous reviewers have moaned about the noise of the Vaporettos, we heard nothing!
(Why book a hotel by a Vaporetto stop if you're noise sensitive?)

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing Venice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

Hotel Riviera is conveniently located feet from the Lido water bus station. It is about a 20 minute boat ride to San Marco and an hour from the airport. It is a quaint and charming hotel in a quiet area. I stayed in a single and the room was quite large, clean and quiet. I was on the first floor. However, the bathroom is really tiny and barely enough space to move around.
Breakfast was plentiful but had too much pastries. It is definitely for the guest with a sweet tooth. Sparkling wine is a first in a 3 star hotel.
As mentioned previously, internet is very expensive and there is a €2 charge /day for the safe.
All in all, Hotel Riviera is a solid 3 star hotel in a very good location.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights from 28th Sept 2014 in room no 7. The room was spacious and had a decent size bathroom but was very dated, fixtures and fittings needed a good dusting, no English speaking channels on TV (not even a news channel) and probably the noisiest hotel I have ever stayed in. The walls must be very thin as we could hear conversations in the next room and if someone above us was having a bath or shower the noise was unreal. However the staff were very friendly, the breakfast was what you would expect of a continental breakfast and the location is very good.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

I am afraid to say that this hotel was the only disappointment during a six day trip to Venice. I always book double rooms for single use as I don't like the confines of single rooms- in this case we paid for double rooms and got the single room size with two single beds squeezed into it. I have never stayed in a hotel before that in one room the beds were placed headboard to tailboard along one wall and in the other room one bed in one corner and the other bed in the opposite corner both against the walls. This was less that I would expect from a decent hostel.

The bathrooms were also tiny and in the first room I used for one night, the shower was impossible to use and requested a change which they did kindly do to the same size room, but bigger bath room.

I had the misfortune one night for the neighbouring room to become occupied by late arrivals who turned up at one in the morning and proceeded to shower and talk loudly for the next hour and a half. The walls were so badly insulated and as the bed was up against the wall, I had the interesting experience as though I was sharing the shower with them including the hair dryer toilet use and obviously conversation. I know the hotel is not responsible for the inconsiderate behaviour of the guests, but they are responsible for the lack of any soundproofing.

On the plus side everything was cleaned well and the bed linen and pillows were ok. Except that is for the unfortunate habit of using a dirty counterpane to cover up clean linen - so if you get a smelly counterpane being reused over a clean pillow, it doesn't take long for the clean pillow to get the odour from previous guests of unwashed hair - most unpleasant.

The breakfasts were ok, but on all five mornings I rejected the bacon and scrambled eggs on offer as dried up and inedible. Fortunately there was a reasonable choice of fruit and yoghurts and cereal etc. The lady who looked after the breakfast room was also a bright spot on the day and couldn't have been more helpful.

The hotel itself was in a good position for getting the vaperetto and access to all the islands was good. It is noisy though, mostly from the islands buses that park in the road by the side with the engine running at all times. There is also a noisy outdoor bar just opposite, even with the window and shutter shut, it was loud until quite late.

Wifi is available, but for a fee of 4 euros for 60 minutes and a charge of 2 euros a day for the in room safe.

The staff for the most part were charming and helpful.

I would have no hesitation in staying on the Lido again, but sadly not here. The only way I can explain the good reviews is that they must all have been written by people staying in superior rooms, so - don't stay here unless you are willing to substantially upgrade!

Room Tip: Don't know. Only use if you are prepared to pay for the larger rooms at the front of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Address: Piazzale S.M. Elisabetta / Gran Viale, 5, 30100 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Venice
Riviera Hotel Province Of Venice, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.