We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Riviera” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riviera Hotel to your Saves list
Riviera Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazzale S.M. Elisabetta / Gran Viale, 5, 30100 Lido di Venezia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hotel Riviera”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Located on Lido Island, a nice break from the hectic pace of the main tourist square. More conventional and larger rooms, provides a nice variety of restaurants and other attractions. Only a short water taxi ride to St. Marcus Square. Nice rooms, our friends had a beautiful view of Venice, although the water taxi station is across the street and the noise can be a little annoying at night. Our friends A/C didn't work, and they weren't told about it at check in, which was a big downside for them. There's a nice hotel veranda for relaxing in the evening while watching the sun set on Venice. The breakfasts were excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    129
    45
    16
    6
See reviews for
39
144
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

My followers know i like a bit of luxury on my travels as does my Polska Princess so we chose this hotel as it looked nice and at over £100 per night expected a bit of luxury. First the negatives, it was dated as easy as that the room was small and the bathroom you could not put your arms fully out, it was very basic. We specifically asked for a double room and got 2 single beds put together and a double duvet thrown over the top. No kettle in the room either. The breakfast had a large selection of cake and fruit. Very little meats and the hot was dry scrambled egg and greasy bacon with bones in it.
The positives is its proximity to the water busses and the view over the lagoon is to die for. It certainly bought out the romantic in me.
Tips: Insist on a room with a view as its all it has to offer really.
Get a water bus pass for your duration as it is much cheaper and your only mode of transport.
A gondola ride is 80 euros for half hour which is expensive but has to be done but beware if you get caught in traffic on the canals your clock is still counting regardless.
Dont get caught with a free ticket to the Murano factory it is basically like time share they send you by taxi and leave you to get a bus home if you dont buy and its a very hard sell. Good if you have over 5000 euros to spend on glass. we bought a glass gondola in the gift shop when we eventually got out, it cost 40 euros, they wrapped it and when we got home saw a sticker with made in china on the bottom. My Princess taught me a few chosen polish words that night i can tell you.
Overall a fantastic place to visit and eye catching but you only need 3 days max to see it all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lagoon or you will be very disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This was a great little hotel it is a little dated but it does have an elevator and is located right across from the boat terminal. The breakfast which was included was excellent they had everything you could imagine you want including little cookies and crackers you could put in your bag for later when you were traveling around town. We did have to pay to check our bags after we checked out but thats pretty much what you expect to do when traveling in Europe.

The hotel is right across the street from the boat terminal so it was great to be able to just go from the airport to our hotel at 10pm when I got in. They had a couple cafe's nearby recommended by the staff for us to eat at when we were all checked in around 11:30pm.

They also have a great little shop downstairs to get some gifts at probably one of the best gift shops I saw on my whole trip.

Room Tip: See if you can get a corner room so you can have two windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The Hotel itself was nice! The proximity of the hotel with the water taxi dock was amazing! Make sure you take the water taxi down the Grand Canal! The room was clean as well as the bathroom. There was a great view of beautiful Venice from the windows and balconies! The Hotel is also close to the beach! There was a great selection of food for breakfast! Overall my stay at the Riviera Hotel was great!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, FL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed here for our 20th anniversary. What a treat! Wonderful attention by staff, clean and spacious room and a view of Venice that was incomparable. The breakfast is plentiful. Two items for readers: 1) take into account the time needed for a water bus or taxi and 2) right now there is construction directly in front of the hotel. Do not plan to sleep late.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We have just returned back to the UK after 3 fantastic days at the Riviera Hotel. Before we set off, I emailed the hotel for advice on how to get from Treviso Airport. They replied with a detailed description of bus from the airport (an AVTO bus takes you from right outside the terminal all the way to Piazzale Roma), then the waterbus from the Piazzale Roma to the Lido ( Routes 5.1 & 6 are the quickest & Route 1 takes you to the same place but with more stops en route). The Hotel is right in front of you as you step out of the Lido water bus terminal). Buy a ticket for the water bus pass card from the ticket office in Piazzale Roma for the duration of your stay (then you can roam where you want when you want...... The water buses run all night). We got a friendly welcome on arrival with all the staff at reception speaking better English than I do! We were there for my wife's 40th birthday & we had a room on the 4th floor overlooking the lagoon & Venice with the mountains in the distance. Fantasic! The room was very clean, as was the bed (our sheets were changed every day!!)& the en-suite(toilet, bidet, sink, & shower). The bed was huge & neither my wife or I have slept so well in years (although that may be due to not having the kids with us too). Breakfast is from 7-10am with everything you could ask for (but if you like a brew..... Take your own teabags) to set you up for the day. I am no Rothschild, so this trip was on a budget & cannot think of a better way to "do Venice" than stay on the Lido. See all the sights of Venice by day & come back to the Lido at night to eat & drink (MUCH cheaper & MUCH friendlier). A 10 minute stroll up the road from the hotel is a fantastic beach (hire a parasol & sun loungers for 9euro each for the day (this also gives you access to the showers & toilet). try as many flavours of ice cream as you can while you are there too! All in all it was a fantastic stay at a fantastic & friendly Hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a lagoon view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Just returned from 2 nights B&B at the Riviera. We had a lovely time. All staff very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. We had a lagoon view room which was worth the extra, it was lovely waking up, opening the shutters and gazing out across the water at the Venice skyline. Room spacious, bed one of the largest 'doubles' I have ever slept in and very comfortable! Plenty of choice at breakfast and hotel itself gives off a lovely vibe, yes it may need a little updating, but that made it even more olde world venetian, the reception area is a joy in itself with its fabulous chandeliers and venetian artifacts.
Location great, literally over the road from the water bus stops, our room was at the front and we did not experience any problems with noise from the water buses even though they run through the night.
As you do a lot of walking in Venice the hotel is a lovely sanctuary to recharge your batteries during the day, it is quite nice to get away from the crowds and all the hustle and bustle occasionally and we made full use of our 48 hour vaporetta passes.There are a number of water buses that take you to the Lido, eg 1, 5.1, 5.2, 6 and we tried them all as they each take you to different stops or on a completely different route which was an adventure in itself. It also gave us the chance to really experience Venice from the water, and each time we travelled on the water buses we noticed something different.
All in all we had a fabulous short break in Venice and the Riviera most certainly contributed to this.

Room Tip: Lagoon view room worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Address: Piazzale S.M. Elisabetta / Gran Viale, 5, 30100 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Venice
Riviera Hotel Province Of Venice, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.