We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO AIR-CONDITIONING” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riviera Hotel to your Saves list
Riviera Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazzale S.M. Elisabetta / Gran Viale, 5, 30100 Lido di Venezia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
guwahati
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“NO AIR-CONDITIONING”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were on a family holiday and stayed in this hotel in 29th May to 1st June 2012. The hotel have many many good things but they fail on their promises.

Hotel is very good, well decorated, very friendly staff and well located, just in front of LIDO water taxi (vaporetto) station. Breakfast is very lavish. But with one thing we got annoyed. We booked this hotel as it claimed to have air conditioners in the room. The rooms have air-conditioners installed but it does not work. When we talked to the front desk staff, they told us that they are still awaiting for the sanction of power load. We felt like cheated. Hotel should not claim air conditioning as amenities. But overall our stay was good. Extra facility - hotel is surrounded by many many restaurants where you can enjoy true Italian food.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    129
    45
    16
    6
See reviews for
39
144
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mooresboro
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My wife and I had the opportunity to take a European vacation in October 2012. This hotel will always stand out in our minds as a true Italian hotel. The hotel was quaint and lovely, the decor was fantastic, the food was delicious, and the service provided by the staff was stellar!
This hotel is facing the waterway. Our room was room # 4 which is located on the second floor. We were privileged to have a private balcony large enough to seat a small classroom!
Even if we never have the opportunity to travel to this area again, the memories of this great hotel will always remain fresh in our minds. You must plan a trip and include this hotel in your itinerary! We would return to Italy if our only destination was the Riviera Hotel!

Room Tip: When requesting a room, pick a room on the second floor and request a private balcony. You will enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palestine
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Hotel is good in general, the location is perfect since it is near the boat station to the airport and to Venice. The rooms are very small, and there is no refrigerator !!!. The service is good and it is clean. Breakfast is average and decoration is typical venetian with morano chandeliers.

Room Tip: Ask for big room to get normal one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This little hotel is close to the vaporetto stop and restaurants, shops and cafes. It's very comfortable, the staff are friendly, polite and helpful and the place is clean. The breakfast was good and the decor is interesting. It's very quaint.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I visit Venice every other year, always in September and we constantly find that 3 star and 3 1/2 Star hotels are usually somewhat cramped and often dated. To get any real bedroom space with decent decor, you have to upgrade to 4 and 5 star accommodation with the extra costs involved.
This year (2012) we experimented and stayed on the Lido at the Riviera Hotel. The rooms were delightful and the views over the water were just super. The Vaporetto (water bus) stop was just opposite the front door and whilst the journey to the Piazza San Marco was about 12 mins, stoping at this hotel more than made up for the journey time. The hotel staff were always willing to help and the service was first rate. I was strongly tempted to rate this hotel as four star. The Lido itself is perhaps THE residential area for the wealthier sector of Venitian Society and was the epitomy of cleanliness Evenings were not so "full on" with the milling crowds and a must for our future visits to Venice. I strongly recommend this hotel to those wishing to visit Venice and who are unfazed by the short travel to and from Lido to the centre of Venice each day. We took a group of thirteen from Australia and only two of them were unhappy by the Vaporetto travel each day. The breakfasts were really wholesome and a great starter to the day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the water. It will really top off your holiday experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Very nice hotel located just across the street from the vaporetto station. Boat ride to San Marco takes only ~10-15 min, but when you go back to your hotel you are in a completely different environment and can relax far away from the crouds of turists. We also enjoyed exploring Lido, a beautiful little town with nice restaurants and beaches. Hotel is very resonably priced, much cheaper comnpared to hotels in Venice. We had a nice, clean room, rather spacious for european standards. Bathroom was really small, but it did not bother us much. Breatkast, icluded in the room price, was great. Hotel personel was also nice and friendly. We enjoyed staying in Lido and hotel Riviera and would probably stay there again if we go back to Venice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

had postcard view of venice. convenient about 100 feet from dock. yep a little noisy but worth putting up with. get up in morning to sun shining on venice and watching the sun setting over the city in evening.

good breakfast and a bathtub you could swim in.

room had a antique bedroom set that would cost $20,000 in the u.s. never stayed in a hotel that had such a bedroom set.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Address: Piazzale S.M. Elisabetta / Gran Viale, 5, 30100 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Venice
Riviera Hotel Province Of Venice, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.