We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Riviera Hotel to your Saves list
Riviera Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazzale S.M. Elisabetta / Gran Viale, 5, 30100 Lido di Venezia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Charming and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here the night before a cruise and it was lovely to get a vaporetto at Marco Polo, enjoy the ride, then cross the road for a great Riviera welcome. Soon we were out exploring the shops, restaurants and supermarket nearby. The Riviera was good value for Venice, and I had a small but comfortable room. We enjoyed the breakfast, with fresh fruits, tiramisu, and lots of pastries. The decor was ornate, and charming to our tastes. The staff were friendly and helpful. The vaporetto 1 was wonderful, zigzagging from Lido down the Grand Canal to Piazalle Roma, where we got the Peoplemover to the cruise terminal. Coming back we stayed in Mestre, but found it exhausting, hauling suitcases across Venice's many bridges, in the crowds and heat, getting to the railway station. We found Lido cheaper, easier, fresher and more relaxed, and we'd choose Lido next time, and possibly the Riviera.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    119
    38
    14
    5
See reviews for
32
131
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights before cruise. Room was small but adequate and had a view of lagoon towards San Marco. Great location right across road from waterbus terminal, very convenient to get anywhere! Staying on
Lido was an excellent choice! Quaint little village with great restaurants and shops. I enjoyed renting a bike and riding around island! Breakfast was great and available in front room of hotel viewing comings and goings around waterbus terminal.
I had purchased a 72 hour pass for the Alilaguna boat rather than the vaporetta. 2 separate companies. Alilaguna is more comfortable, but not as frequent. This was not a problem once you have the schedule. Their pass also included a Grand Canal tour and a 4 hour tour to Murano and Burano. This pass also got me from airport to hotel and to cruise terminal.
I would stay at the Riviera Hotel again if in Venice!

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Riviera Hotel is a very good choice for a visit to Venice, it is located at the Lido, with the Vaparetto to the city and the airport on the other side of the street, a lot of good restaurants nearby and the free beach some hundred meters away. The hotel has nice rooms, very small bathrooms, but a very good breakfast and very nice and helpful personnel.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The hotel is situated in a very nice, old building right next to the Lido vaporetto stop. From here, it’s easy to reach the other parts of Venice or stroll down on Lido. The hotel is very clean, the breakfast is more than adequate, the employees extremely helpful. If only the room would have a real bathroom... I’m sure not every rooms in the hotel are like this, but hey, that was my luck. The place in question was incredibly small, cca. 80 cm by 1,5 m. I know, I’m fat, but not THAT fat. Actually, when I had to turn under the shower, first I had to open the showers door, turn, than close it again. But that’s nothing a real turist couldn’t survive, so I have to say that for this price, the hotel was pretty ok.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

nice hotel, with great view. Clean hotel and friendly staffs. Stayed here with my husband for a night prior to our cruise. Great location, ferry rides is just across the hotel.You won't miss the hotel,when you get off Lido, the hotel is just in front you.Our room was at the back, with view of the restaurants at the back of the hotel, so it will be great if you ask for a front room for a greater view. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed here for a week in August with my 15 year old daughter and chose the Riviera Hotel because of the location. It is situated directly across from the vaporetta station which is great and means that travelling to the different areas of Venice is really easy. We bought a weekly vaporetta ticket for 50 euros and this could be used as many times as you wanted, which proved good value. Although other reviews state that there is some noise disturbance due to the location, we had no problems with that aspect even though I'm a light sleeper. Staying on Lido was a good choice for us as we were able to escape the fast pace of Venice city and relax on the beach when we wanted. It was a holiday with a good mix of culture and relaxation.
The Riviera is typically Venetian which suited us. We paid a supplement for a room with a lagoon view which I felt was worth the extra. It was lovely to look across at Venice in the setting sun and to open the shutters in the morning and watch Venice wake up. Although the room wasn't huge it was adequate for our needs with air conditioning, the use of a safety deposit box and hot running water every day. It was kept spotlessly clean and fresh bedding and towels were provided as requested.
I found the staff to be very polite and helpful and the ladies at breakfast were brilliant. As both my daughter and I are coeliacs they provided us with a lovely gluten free breakfast every day. The normal breakfast selection looked very good with cereals,yoghurts,breads,cheese,cold meats,fruit as well as a cooked choice of bacon and scrambled eggs. The ladies were always on hand to make sure we had everything we needed so top marks to them!
The beach at Lido was easily reached after a 5 minute walk. There is a choice of 2 beaches- a free beach or a private beach. We chose to go on the private beach but it was very expensive for an umbrella and 2 sunbeds(26.30 euros before 2.30pm and 20.50 after 2.30pm) and this did not include the use of the beach shower or toilets. A cost of a further 5 euros.
The Riviera is also very close to all the restaurants in Lido so you don't have to walk far for your evening meal. We had a lovely meal at Villa Laguna with a table overlooking the lagoon. This did prove to be more expensive than the other restaurants on the main stretch but as they say, you get what you pay for. There are a fair few kiosks selling pizzas etc along the stretch and lots of ice cream kiosks. Delicious ice creams and wonderful flavours!
We had a really great hoilday staying at this hotel and managed to visit all the main attractions in Venice including Murano and Burano as well as having a good chunk of time to relax and unwind. I would definitely recommend this hotel and if I return to Venice I would stay here again.

Room Tip: A room with a lagoon view is worth the supplement
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The location and our view were great. We had the family room at the top of the property. The beds were clean but the furniture old which always looks dirty. Granted its Venice so it is older. Bathroom was very old with only cold water which was ok since it was august but when we mentioned it to staff, they didn't really bother with it at all. Breakfast was ok, not great coffee especially for Italy. Breakfast ladies were very nice, friendly as opposed to front desk staff.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Address: Piazzale S.M. Elisabetta / Gran Viale, 5, 30100 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Venice
Riviera Hotel Province Of Venice, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.