We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Benign Biasutti” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Biasutti

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Biasutti to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Biasutti
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Enrico Dandolo 29 | Lido, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Lido di Venezia
London UK
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Benign Biasutti”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Checked into this hotel with a prepaid reservation from a well-known online travel agent. Reservation was a 'breakfast-included' rate. Ther Hotel's paperwork stated that breakfast was not included and despite me calling the travel agent from the hotel's front desk, they refused to honour the breakfast-included option and told me I would have to pay €10 extra per person per night for breakfast. Not the best of welcomes!

Hotel is in a pretty and very quiet street about a 5 minute walk from the Lido SME Vaporetto stop with very frequent waterbus services to Venice proper (15 mins) and the airport (60 mins).

Bedroom was small but comfortable decorated in period Venetian style. Bathroom was tiny but very clean. The powerful shower is wihin the bathtub (which doubles as a mini jacuzzi). There's no shower curtain just a half glass screen that fails to prevent the whole bathroom from flooding whilst having a shower no matter how careful you are. Just plain bad design!

Buffet breakfast was a joke. Another reviewer has commented that it was the best buffet they had ever consumed. I couldn't disagree more. There was a choice of about 5 cakes (of the Betty Crocker variety), greasy croissant, cheap sliced white bread which was a few days old, mortadella and cheese which flies had been using as a landing strip, fruit juice that tasted as though it was made from a packet, the most horrendous hot drinks from an aged machine - all of which tasted of the same nothingness. The surly and humourless eastern European grump in charge of the Breakfast sitting could not even manage a reciprocal 'Buongiorno' when greeted by guests. We asked her to make us a proper cup of caffe latte - she scowled and sighed and took an age to produce a cold cup of coffee worse than that from the machine. The atmosphere in the otherwise pretty and sunny breakfast room was one of a doctor's waiting room. My tip is to pop out to one of the local cafes.

Daytime reception staff were the saving grace of this otherwise humdrum place. Pleasant, helpful and friendly understates their demeanour. They are a credit to this pretty yet otherwise depressing establishment.

I would not stay here again and cannot recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    76
    40
    16
    5
See reviews for
22
96
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed in the Biasutti Hotel for 3 nights and we were really surprised how nice it was. We booked the Hotel with booking.com and payed just 200€ for 3 nights, althought it was a special offer. The Hotel staff was unbelivebly nice (i worked in a Hotel once and i know how it is, but these guys were very friendly). The breakfast was good as well and you had enough choices.
Our room was very big with a nice double bed. The furniture was quite old but i guess that is the specific venice charm - we liked it. The TV was huge (with English BBC News) and the WIFI was free, even in the rooms.
The Hotel is in a very nice area on Lido. The mini shopping street, a few restaurants and the busboat stop are very close. If you dont mind to get a boat every morning to Venice and like it a bit quieter at night its the perferct place to go. It just takes you 15min to the Marcus Square and the boat tickets are surprisingly cheap.
When you are under 30 you can buy one of these 'rolling cards' which allow you to get cheaper offers in museums and on the boat tickets. (Overall we paid togehter 44€ for a 72h boat ticket) But if you are over 30 it doesnt really matter either, because these tickets are not expensive (33€ each) and very usefull to get to certain places in Venice.
We were surprised how big it actually was. We both imagined a much smaller city.
If you like walking aroung in Venice dont forget to buy a map (you can get them for 2€), especially when you have a target. We tried it without one and ended up somewhere random. The streets are quite often dead ends and there a lot of water around so you need to find a bridge to cross it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at this hotel in April 2012 whilst we explored the various things that Venice had to offer. Overall it was a very pleasant hotel with all of the basics that you could possibly need.
It's location on the island of Lido is perfect for getting away from the hussle and bussle of Venice itself. If you're under 29 years of age I would highly recommend buying a Rolling Venice card for 4 Euros which entitles you to a large discount on boat transport passes. We paid 18euros for unlimited boat travel for 72 hours instead of 32euros. The pass also gives you lots of discounts on main attractions and specific restaurants.
The hotel is approximately a 1 hour boat ride from Marco Polo airport and costs around 26euros for a return trip. Beware when waiting for the Alilaguna boat back to the airport - local Italians seem to be given priority even if they haven't waited for the boat as long as you!
Only dissapointments with the hotel: walls were extremely thin and we could hear every word of our neighbouring guests, beds were very hard, shower had no curtain so baths are probably a wiser decision and the decor was a little old.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We enjoyed 2 wonderful nights - it is a 5 minute walk to the ferry over to Venice, but Lido itself is wonderful and quiet at night, and has its own little shopping area nearby with amazing gelato and good restaurants. The front porch is a great place to relax in the afternoon (see photo!).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

I stayed at the Best Western Biasutti for a couple of nights before moving on to Eastern Europe. The vaparetto is easily accessible by foot from Marco Polo airport, take the red or blue line (quicker) to Lido SME port. The Biasutti is in a good location not far from here, but it is a question of knowing where you are going – I would recommend investing in a local map rather than a taxi! There’s nothing much going on in Lido, but I came to realise it is a great escape from Venice, and the weather was still very temperate in mid-October. The main square and shopping area (just a 3 minute walk if you know where you are going!) is busy in the evening, although the outdoor cafes closed by 10.30pm the gelateria was open until midnight. There is also a Billa supermarket open early to late which is a handy stop off for picnic items.

The hotel itself is pretty enough from the outside, but is an old property and this is reflected in the interior. The staff were friendly and very helpful, and the facilities matched expectations so overall I was happy staying here. Access to Venice from Lido is very easy (its better value to buy a travelcard rather than singles), consequently not a lot of time was spent in the hotel itself. The buffet breakfast was more than just standard continental fare – in fact was a coffee and cake-lovers dream, although cooked items were also available, and available until 10.30am so was far from rushed. The buffet was actually better than the Villa Oriana Relais St Agnello (the TA reviews rave about the breakfast but this was in fact superior). There was a small gym available (the swimming pool was closed for the winter), a bar and terrace area. Internet access was available in the public areas, and I was pleased to find that I could also access it from the room itself. The hotel staff were happy to arrange free transportation to the glass factory in Murano, which was a bonus.

Now for the negatives: the room itself was a disappointment; dark with poor lighting, styled in shabby Venetian fashion with little space to manoeuvre suitcases etc. The TV was small, old, difficult to navigate with limited channels and very poor reception. The fridge which was very handy, and the bathroom was bright and clean, with a huge jacuzzi bath and powerful shower, both of which I loved…what I really disliked though was a lack of a shower curtain, which meant that the bathroom would flood no matter how careful I was. It was not the kind of room you would want to do anything more than sleep in. I don’t understand why this hotel is rated as a 4* - I thought it was on a par with the Hotel Bazzoni, Tremezzo (Lake Como) which was a 3*.

I would recommend staying in this hotel for the location away from bustling Venice, price (far more reasonable than Venetian hotels) and service from the staff, they really were nice people. I would not however recommend it for newlyweds, those with mobility problems as there are some steps to the entrance of the hotel, or anyone wanting a luxurious experience.

Room Tip: Not sure there are any superior rooms?! Ask for a room facing the road for a lighter aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

If you look at the pictures of the bedrooms on the BW site you will be disappointed with your room. Ours was like the Travellor Photos May 2011 from Pensione--red bedspread, small room by North American standards.
However, for the price it was really good. The room and bathroom were very clean and the Lido is the best place to stay. Venice has way too many people even in off season so the Lido is lovely.
The hotel is a 15 minute walk from the water taxi (vaporetta). Walk down a lovely tree lined promenade street, S M Elisabetta, with outdoor cafes then right on another street with more expensive cafes and bakeries then left on Dandolo which is a residental area. All of Lido near the hotel is safe to walk and very charming. If you take a lot of luggage take a taxi to the hotel from water taxi the otherwise the walk is easy.
The hotel has a GULTEN FREE breakfast which is wonderful. My husband had eggs, sliced meat, good tasting bread and little cakes all gulten free. The breakfast was really 4* with lots of choice and really a hilite of our stay. Cappaccinos and lattes are included.
The breakfast is served in a lovely room that reminds me of an indoor garden room with lots of windows around three sides. The other choice is an outdoor terrace at the front of the hotel which has flowers and plants around it great for hot days.
The staff went out of their way to help us and we loved out stay.

Room Tip: Perhaps phone ahead to get a better room. We got a terrific rate so maybe not a terrific room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We got off to a bad start when we arrived & found out that the company we had booked with (Hotel Connect) had gone bust!! which meant we had to pay all over again! however the manager gave us a good deal and we will claim the money back, the hotel is about 15mins walk to the boat terminals so its quite handy, but nothing happens at this hotel i never seen anyone sit and have a drink and they don't do snacks only breakfast which is the same thing everyday, eating out in venice is very very expensive no matter where you go but the supermarkets are reasonable, we were here for 5 days which was too long 3 would be enough, its a good hotel for getting around and sightseeing but don't stay too long or you will be very bored.

Room Tip: no views out of any room so i don't think it would matter, no pool no balcony so nothing to see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Biasutti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Biasutti

Address: Via Enrico Dandolo 29 | Lido, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Lido di Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lido di Venezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Biasutti 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Biasutti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Biasutti Hotel Venice
Best Western Hotel Biasutti
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western
BEST WESTERN Biasutti Province Of Venice, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Biasutti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.