We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Tavernetta

La Tavernetta
Via F. Morosini, 4, 30126 Lido di Venezia, Italy
+39 041 526 1417
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $34 - $67
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Padua, Italy
2 reviews
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Good food but I wouldn't say excellent. Small portions. Menu should have some originality to deserve the first place among venetian restaurants.
I enjoyed my "Tagliolini with zucchini and gamberi".
Baccalà was too dry. Frittura: ridiculously small.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    85
    25
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We made the trip to Lido purely to visit this restaurant. Whilst I agree that it perhaps isn't worth the day trip to the island we were still very pleased that we made the effort. After spending a few days in Venice in the heat it was nice to head to Lido and walk down the beach to cool down. The food was delicious and whilst one waiter was pretty rude the other made up for this and was extremely helpful and pleasant.

We went for muscles, prawns and seafood linguine and enjoyed all of it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant, but do not go to Lido just to have dinner there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

We loved the laidback atmosphere of Lido and decided to have dinner in this highly rated restaurant. Defenitely agree with previous reviewers that if you are already on this island, go there, but do not visit Lido just because of this restaurant. The food is good, we had scallops tartar recommended by our waiter and daily catch seabass, both adorable. Service was friendly, but little bit too slow.
We also passed by Ristorante Valentino heading back to vaparetto and have to say atmosphere there also looked lovely and inviting. I have no idea what the food is like there, but perhaps also worth to try.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

While located on Lido, rather than within Venice itself, the trip out there is worth it. The scallop tartare was one of the most delicious, inventive dishes I had encountered on our trip, and was a speciality of the restaurant. The pastas were the best we had all trip, clearly home-made, with chunky, delicious sauces. Service was on point, friendly and attentive, even when it became busier, and the red wine with our mains was superb.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Had an excellent meal here recently and would definitely go again if I went back to venice. Had a 4 course meal which was beautiful. The waiter was brilliant and recommended food and drink which was really helpful!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tavernetta also viewed

Lido di Venezia, City of Venice
Lido di Venezia, City of Venice
 
Lido di Venezia, City of Venice
Lido di Venezia, City of Venice
 

Been to La Tavernetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tavernetta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.