We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and accommodating overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grangeville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gateway Inn
700 W Main St, Hwy 95 and Hwy 13, Grangeville, ID 83530   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Grangeville
Snake River Plain
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable and accommodating overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

Really comfortable king-size bed. Clean room, good reading lights, comfortable chairs, and nice amenities. The continental breakfast was good with a couple of unexpected extras (fresh fruit). We will definitely return in the spring.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, MT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights while we explored nearby Hell's Canyon. It's an older hotel, but nicely remodeled. Comfy beds, new bathroom, fridge and microwave in the room. Service was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a nice variety of cereals, toast, fruit, juices. There is a very nice outdoor pool for the summer. We are going back with our daughter so she can see the Canyon too.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

My teen grandson & I were just traveling through on our way home from vacation. The Super 8 was full for the night, but they referred me to their overflow motel, The Gateway Inn, just through the parking lot. Because of my physical need to be on the ground floor, my teen grandson and I stayed in the largest room in the motel, which included 2 double beds and a sitting area at a reasonable cost. The bathroom area included a large changing area near the sink and a separate shower/toilet area. The shower was spacious and the towels fluffy. My grandson wanted to take a late swim, got a towel from the clerk, and had a really nice swim in the outdoor pool. The staff was friendly, the room was clean and comfortable. We were referred to a local restaurant, Oscar's, for a late dinner and breakfast and enjoyed both meals there. They do provide a breakfast onsite, but we were up too late to partake. We loved the fact that the entire motel is NON-SMOKING!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2007

Went beck through Grangeville, The Super 8 Motel, their other property was full so we stayed at their Gateway Inn Motel. As was their Super 8 - it was clean and had great beds. We took the kids over to the Super 8 to swim in their indoor pool as the outdoor pool at Gateway was closed for the season.

It was a little less expensive and well worth the price. We were glad that we had another option as we did not call ahead for reservations which we will do next time. The property was in the process of remodeling and our room was remodeled and their breakfast was also good like the Super 8. It is nice when your kids eat alot.

We had a great dinner just steps away at Ernies Steakhouse which we found out about through the Idaho Statesman newspaper here in Boise as the were picked as one of the top ten Steakhouses in Idaho. We watched the sunset from our room and just had another great stay in Grangeville.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — not as nice as the Super 8 BUT still great.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Illinois
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
278 helpful votes 278 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2007

We stayed here one night in July and were not disppointed. The room was large but needed renovating. The hotel recently changed owners and is being renovated this Summer. One of the two queen beds was pretty soft, but the other was fine. Their pool was great...recently relined. Towels were new and fluffy. There was a sufficient breakfast included, all for under $60. The best hotel in town, the Super 8, was oversold, so the Gateway was a good second choice. The hotel previously was named Monty's Motel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn

Address: 700 W Main St, Hwy 95 and Hwy 13, Grangeville, ID 83530
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Grangeville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Grangeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA 2 Diamond rated property, newly remodeled, NOW 2 New rooms with Kitchenettes! outdoor pool, Direct TV with HBO and ESPN etc., King and Queen deluxe beds, refrig/microwaves, guest laundry, guest computers, high speed Internet, breakfast bar. Next door to Subway Restaurant, Taco Johns, Pizza Factory, Palenque Mexican Restaurant, Oscars Restaurant and Brodocks Lounge. Designated pet rooms available. Coffee & Espresso Outlet on property! Also next door to our sister property Super 8 Motel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gateway Inn Grangeville, Idaho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gateway Inn to your Saves list