We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and service were good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Marco's Ristorante

San Marco's Ristorante
10 Highway 20, Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
289 897-8880
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Fonthill
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Niagara on the Lake
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Food and service were good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Small restaurant but the food was great. Five of us tried different food and no complaints. Found it strange that not too many men there at lunch time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    12
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fonthill, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very good Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Great atmosphere and very accomodating and friendly staff. Very good menu selection and when the food arrived all of us were extremely happy with our choices (all different choices.) It may be a tiny bit pricier that I expected but overall it was a great experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Friendly staff but underwhelming food. Other half of my party was served stone cold pasta and nuked veal parm. No vegetarian option other than a salad. Tomato sauce and vegetable soups made with a meat base. Most Italian restaurants in 2014 have a vegetarian marinara sauce option but not here.. Which is fine but then have at least a veggie option other than salad. For instance, a roasted butternut squash soup really doesn't require a beef base! Try casa vostra down the street!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good service/atmosphere, so-so food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Im not picky, so when I leave a restaurant hungry, there's a problem. Overall great service, the guy who served us was friendly and attentive, no complaints there. Cool spot, like the intimate setting. As for the food...Parmesan on calamari? A bit oily for my liking as well. My friends seemed pretty happy with their food though. Would I come back? It's worth a second shot but I'll probably stay away from the calamari.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Went here March 15th for dinner. In summary, I would say that they have a more interesting menu than Casa Vostra down the road and the value is much better here than the overrated & overpriced Zest.
We arrived sans reservation about 6 pm and they were able to get us a table near the front. The building is an old Tim Horton's which they's transformed into a nice little restaurant. The vibe inside is a little bit like REST Stone road grille in NOTL.

Positives : Interesting menu with alot of options. Not just bread-and-butter Italian staples. Many choices. I ordered the Gnocchi Gorgonzola ( the sprinkled blue cheese was a little overpowering ) and my wife had chicken marsala which she enjoyed. They had a halibut flatbread as a special item which was simply outstanding and the best thing I tasted there.

Negatives: The wine list needs to be upgraded. The house Valpolicella was not very good - better than box wine but not as good as a $12 bottle at the LCBO. Their "vintage" wines featured (among others ) low-end options like Yellowtail and Trapiche. I did have a glass of their Tempranillo which was quite good and likely their best wine available. It was also curious that despite having a large bar area ( to sit at and eat ), they only carry basic bottled beers. They need a few drafts in my opinion.

The food is 4 1/2 stars, the wine/beer selection 3 stars.

However as above the menu is very interesting and we will be back at least a few more times.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Marco's Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to San Marco's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Marco's Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.