We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Tracks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarack Resort

Tamarack Resort
311 Village Drive, PO Box 840, Donnelly, ID 83615
208-325-1000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 attractions in Donnelly
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas
Activities: Skiing, Mountain biking, Snowboarding
Attraction Details
Cascade, Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fresh Tracks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I've got to hand it to the home owners association who have kept Tamarack open these past few seasons. It has a great family feel and awesome powder. Go Thursday's for fresh tracks!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mountain Home, Idaho
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quiet and peaceful, and kind of creepy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We rented a cottage for a few days through VRBO.com. Our cottage was great and it was in an area with several other cottages and townhomes. Apparently this is the quiet time of year because we were the ONLY people there on our street. At night you feel really alone. However, it is really pretty up there. It was about 60 degrees but the snow was still pretty deep on the ground. There was a great view of the mountains from our front door and it was pretty to drive around Lake Cascade to get to the resort. We drove to the main part of the resort and saw no cars at all. There wasn't even a bar or restaurant open! There are a lot of unfinished buildings around the resort. If you want to see any sort of civilization, you need to make the 20 minute drive to McCall. Maybe it's busier during the ski season but it was dead when we were there.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Your own Private Idaho”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

On a day trip up from Boise, skiing with my 13 year old son. Great mountain with lots of varied terrain, pretty much stayed on the Tamarack and Summit Express chairs, 4+ inches of new snow and no crowds. Kept finding little stashes of untracked powder. Easy drive from Boise, under 2 hours, good parking close to lifts. Nice little Apres Ski spot at the base. All in all had a great time. Got discount lift tickets on Liftopia.com.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Bang For Your Buck but stay away if you like crowds!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Skied Tamarack on Feb 12th, pulled up in the parking lot at 8:50 (10" before lifts start) to find FIVE other cars!!!! Had a $39 ticket from Liftopia (reg rate only $49) and headed to 1st chair. Tamarack was built in 2005, the 1st new ski area built in North America in like 20 years. Plans were big & started well, but the economic crasn brought things to a halt. The area still operates on a limited basis, Thursdays thru Sundays and with basically 2 high speed quad chairs. But these 2 chairs give you 2800 vertical feet of very fun terrain. The snow was the best I saw in Idaho that week and having a ski area almost totally to yourself is a lot of fun! The runs have lots of character with dips and rolls and turns, and they are a blast to make long sweeping high speed GS turns on. They also have some decent advanced runs & probably good tree skiing when there is more snow. This place has great potential when the economy comes back, but give them a lift now too. They will appreciate it, and you will have a ball!!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good but not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

It was an interesting day on the hill. No real new snow. Icy spots, wind blowing so hard on top the lift that is was closed down for a couple of hours. But the good there was still powder shots in the trees and as usual no lift lines at all.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarack Resort also viewed

Been to Tamarack Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarack Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tamarack Resort to your Saves list