We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for us” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarack Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Donnelly
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tamarack Resort
Save
You added Tamarack Resort to your Saves list
311 Village Drive, Donnelly, ID 83615   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Donnelly
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Perfect for us”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed in the Osprey Lodge on a Tuesday evening in January. We were the only guests in the entire hotel. We cross country skied on perfectly groomed trails and felt like we owned the entire village and forest. The restaurants were all closed but we took our own food and were quite cozy in our hotel room. The heated parking in the garage under the Lodge is nice in the winter. Everything is in pristine condition and looks like it doesn't get much use. We enjoyed ourselves and I am sure will return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    9
    1
    6
    3
See reviews for
11
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Donnelly
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This stay was fantastic. We stayed in Rock Creek Cottage #3 which was set up a little different then the other cottages as it had an extra bed in the second bedroom and a super comfy sofa bed that has an air mattress with an electric pump provided. Our family of seven could all sit at the dining table that had seating for 7 unlike the other cabins with seating for four. The ski access trail come right to the back door making a great ski - in ski out location. The back deck was covered so it was snow free and we hung out there also. Home was supper clean and the beds had toppers on them that made them really comfortable. The accommodations were rented from Idaho Resort Rentals which has an office in nearby Donnelly. They were great to work with. I do recommend Idaho Resort Rentals as they do have the best pricing also.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
idaho
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My children and I spent 4 days here in August in a two bedroom condo. We were very impressed with our room and the beautiful area. I am very impressed with the facilities for what we paid. What a great deal! I am not sure why this place is not busier. The room fits 6 people very comfortably and like I said it is beautiful! It has everything you need in the kitchen to make any meal you need. The views from the balcony are breath taking. If you choose to stay at the Tamarack in Donnelly you will not be dissapointed.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

I am amazed every time I stay at the Tamarack resort. I have stayed in a cottage, in a condo and this time the osprey lodge and love this resort and this area. We have never paid over 150 per night for properties worth probably double what we have paid. I have Mt biked, canoed, skied ate and drank and everything has exceeded expectation. Played golf yesterday and what a great time! Here is the amazing part. No crowds, its never busy. What a beautiful romantic time and it seems nobody knows about it. Awesome!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We have been to this resort several times. For the variety of seasonal recreational opportunities and quality of lodging you can't beat it. If you are looking or a Ritz Carlton or St Regis, this is not your spot. But if you are looking for a mountain location with high quality lodging and a diversity of recreational options this this the place.

The community and staff are extremely friendly and courtious. Your can ski a near world class ski mountain with 2900 feet of vertical, 300 inches of powder a year and no crowds. Imagine skiing 3 days after a storm and still getting fresh tracks. No lift lines even on a holiday weekends. It is not the most technical mountain, but lots of varied terrain for the family. Also miles of nordic trails on the resort.

The golf course is one of the most scenic and most difficult I have ever played. Rated top new public course in US several years ago. Beautiful terrain with lake and forest views all day long. Needs a little tender loving care but very playable. This is understandable with the resort being in bankruptcy. If you are not a golfer, the summer offers a 21 mile long lake with boating, fishing, sailing,and paddling. Also miles of single track bike trails and hiking trails. We braved the zip line which was truely amazing with one zip into a 100 foot tall Tamarack pine.

For half the price of a high end hotel room, without all the add on resort fees and food and beverage costs, you can get 2 or 3 bedrooms and a kitchen in a town home or cottage with the same quality furnishings and a lot more room. Views are amazing of the mountain or lake.
There is limited food service options which vary depending on winter or summer. Plan on stocking your frig and firing up the BBQ while you watch the sun set over lake cascade.

If you are looking to "get away" to the mountains, but enjoy 1st class high quality lodging you cannot beat Tamarack. You can relax in luxury accomodations, but be away from the hustle and bussle of most resorts. It is a unique 4 season resort (winter, spring,summer or fall) at an exceptional value. Can't wait for our next trip to Tamarack.

Room Tip: Get a town house or cottage and have your own "cabin in the mountains".
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We rented a large chalet (Canoe 15) for part of our large family group attending our sister's wedding. The chalet is beautiful, but had some issues. First, when arriving, the code we were given to open the door didn't work. They gave us an alternate code that allowed us access - fortunately we had cell service to call in the trouble. Bring a flashlight because the path from the detached garage to the front door is not well lit.
The kitchen at the chalet was well appointed, but most of the kitchenware was filthy and required significant scrubbing before use. Same with the grill outside.
Supplies: Small bars of soap and shampoo (1-day's worth), and a small amount of toilet paper, dishwasher detergent, dish soap, laundry detergent (yay washer/dryer!), a few garbage bags, a few coffee filters. There are some seasonings in the cabinet.
The telephone staff was unprofessional. We called to ask some questions about the chalet we reserved; the person on the phone continually interrupted. When asked about some of the kitchen amenities, she abruptly told me to look at the website. It's impossible to see inside the drawers or in the cabinets in their pictures, and the descriptions are vague at best.
They also told us to do all our shopping in Boise before making the 2.5 hour drive. As it turns out, the Ridley's in McCall (20 mins away) had everything we needed. It is a full grocery store which also has clothing, camping equipment, kitchenware, etc. Prices on some of the produce were better than in Boise. There's a Rite Aid next door. The WinCo convenience market in Donnelly (as you turn toward the property) is expensive and only accept Debit/Cash. Very nice people at that 24-hour market.
Management was prompt in returning our cleaning deposit. They also returned a DVD that we left in the player in the upstairs master bedroom.
Sleeping arrangements: There is a master bdrm upstairs with a gas fireplace - it's a nice touch, but it makes noise for hours after turning it off. There are two bedrooms on the main level, and supposedly a sleeper sofa in the living room. However, a VERY large coffee table must be moved to open it. On the walk-out basement level, there is a bedroom & bath and also a sleeper sofa in the game room. The sleeper sofa was filthy - food and dirt under the cushions. Never did find the extra pillows and sheets.
The jaccuzzi was warm when we showed up, but we never used it. A small amount of wood was provided for the indoor/outdoor fireplace, management will provide more for a fee. Bring your own matches.
The property is beautiful in the summer, with beautiful views - we were able to see the lake from the wrap around porch. It is unfortunate that it is in such a dire financial state. It was pretty uncrowded when we were there in the summer. I can only hope that it is busy with skiers in the winter.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We held our wedding here with family and friends all staying at the lodge, chalets and homes. We had the best time and it was perfect for having a large amount of people staying close. Love the golf, bike trails, lake and zip line. Couldn't have asked for a better wedding. The staff was also great- I left my shampoo and conditioner there and they mailed it back to me!
It should be know that this resort is having financial troubles so they are running with minimal staff- however if you're laid back and love adventure this place is the best. The homes are exceptional with hot tubs and outdoor fireplaces!!! Absolutely the best. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamarack Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Resort

Address: 311 Village Drive, Donnelly, ID 83615
Location: United States > Idaho > Donnelly
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Donnelly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 62
Also Known As:
Tamarack Hotel Donnelly
Tamarack Resort Idaho/Donnelly

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarack Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.