We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply nothing else is comparable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dog Bark Park Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cottonwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dog Bark Park Inn
Save
You added Dog Bark Park Inn to your Saves list
2421 Business Loop 95, Cottonwood, ID 83522   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Cottonwood B&B and Inns
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Simply nothing else is comparable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

Frances and Dennis are amazing. They greeted us like we were old friends. My 6 year-old called the Dog Bark Park, "The best hotel in the whole world!" Cottonwood is a quaint town built on rolling hills and surrounded by beautiful farms with mountains in the distance. St. Gertrude's Monestary is well worth the short drive out of town. We didn't bring our dog on this trip but next time we definitely will! I can't imagine a better place to stay for anyone with kids.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancesinIdaho, Owner at Dog Bark Park Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dennis & I enjoyed your visit this year. We're glad your son enjoyed all the "big things" at Dog Bark Park as well as the books & games inside the dog. We'll hope to see you again. There's much more of the surrounding area to explore & we're happy to make suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
39
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed at Dog Bark Park last year, driving four hours to get there, simply as a fun getaway for our then three-year-old. It was a fun experience even though there isn't much else in the area. The owners use their chainsaw art skills to make other fun pieces all over the property, which our kids loved. This year our second daughter is old enough to enjoy it, but we were worried because she has a severe milk allergy. Frances took this very seriously, stocked the kitchen with kid-friendly food, and even labeled EVERY SINGLE FOOD ITEM with whether or not it contained milk products. I couldn't believe it! Frances and Dennis are so good with our kids, and I have to admit I don't mind that we have to count down our yearly trip starting the day after we get home. It's a great getaway, and with nearby Grangeville and a couple of parks, it was perfect for a weekend 2-night stay. I can't wait for next May!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancesinIdaho, Owner at Dog Bark Park Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Christy P - it was a delight for your family to visit again. We'll look to see your entire family next year! And as the kids grow we'll be glad to suggest other area activities for your family to enjoy. Of course simply spending time in the dog playing games, reading, doing puzzles & romping outside is just fine, too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewett City, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

This is such a great place to stay and for the unique experience the price you pay is a bargain. Hosts have to be among the nicest people I've ever met, the food was excellent, and the accommodation was sparking clean. I say if your on a trip that takes you anywhere near Idaho, give Sweet Willy a visit!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancesinIdaho, Owner at Dog Bark Park Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Sean, it was our great pleasure to have met you this spring. Glad you enjoyed the serenity of our area & the different perspective provided by staying inside a dog-shaped building. May our paths cross again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Recently, I stayed at Dog Bark Park with my daughter and four of her 9-year-old friends for a birthday party. They had the time of their lives, and I was so impressed with how nice it was. Inside, there was room for all the kids up in the "head" of the dog, with cushions for the floor, and a loft inside the "nose". There were tons of games and books to play with and look at. Down in the main body of the "dog" was a lovely room with a very comfortable bed and a nice bath. Breakfast was there waiting for us in the form of home-baked goods, hard-boiled eggs, cereal, juices, yogurt...a delicious spread. And what was especially nice, was how they thoughtfully labelled some foods as dairy-free for my daughter who has a dairy allergy. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone who is traveling along I-95 through Cottonwood, Idaho. It's a can't-miss stop, especially if you have kids. Lots of room to play outside, too!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I first heard of this B&B on MSN.com. My hubby and I have a beagle and after we saw it, we knew we had to bring Bailey to stay in the beagle. It really is a great 'building'. The attention to detail was fabulous. Cottonwood was very quiet and it was a great way to de-stress before heading back home and back to the grind. We stayed on Easter and they even had colored easter eggs in the fridge for us! It was very cozy and comfortable. An overall amazing experience!

Room Tip: Book in advance! The B&B fills up fast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancesinIdaho, Owner at Dog Bark Park Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed the thrilling hot air balloon bungee jump in Lewison and your stay with us afterwards. Thanks for being in touch. We hope we might see you again sometime. Meanwhile keep on barkin' & keep on beating the odds!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Just returned from our trip to Dog Bark Park Inn and I'm so glad we had the opportunity to spend our anniversary/spring break trip there. What a treat to get to be the 1st visitors of the season at the beginning of their 10th year!

The superb attention to detail showed in everything from the immaculate bedrooms to the array of delicious food to the way Sweet Willy was meticulously crafted. It's so much more that just a quirky little roadside attraction and I can't recommend it highly enough.

No trip to Dog Bark Park Inn would be complete without taking some time to converse to the owners, Dennis and Frances. They are truly some of the most affable people I have ever met. Within minutes of arriving in their lobby, Frances was on the phone finding out the dinner special at the restaurant down the street and making menu recommendations. Additionally, she remembered it was our anniversary and left a sweet little surprise for us. They both seem to be experts on the area and were able to provide in-depth information on area attractions and have an impressive knowledge of area history.

Also, make sure to pick up a copy of their book on how Dog Bark Park Inn came to be. It's a delightful story that just adds to the charm of the place.

After having spent the last two nights there, I'm a little bummed out that we're not sleeping in Sweet Willy again this evening. We'll certainly be back.

Room Tip: You get the whole dog, there are no bad rooms. :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancesinIdaho, Owner at Dog Bark Park Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
We're so glad you & Matt enjoyed your time at the dog. We appreciate hearing from you. In fact we included your review in a proposal for a potential tv show to use Dog Bark Park as part of the series! Thank you & hope you'll visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Fun for adults and kids! A great place to play games and relax. Small and cozy. You can walk to town for dinner easily. Cottonwood is a quiet town. The Monastery of St. Gertrude is a peaceful place and the museum is worth your entrance fee. A wonderful collection from the past.

The dog offered a huge selection of snacks and goodies, wished we could have stayed longer.... sigh.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancesinIdaho, Owner at Dog Bark Park Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2011
Many guests mention a longer stay would have been nice since, as you discovered, there are interesting things to experience in the area. We're glad your family enjoyed snuggling up inside the big dog to enjoy the books, games, puzzles & eats located within. We hope you'll visit again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dog Bark Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dog Bark Park Inn

Address: 2421 Business Loop 95, Cottonwood, ID 83522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Cottonwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cottonwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured on Trip Advisor's 2014 Best of Quirky Hotels List.Being in this dog-house is a GOOD thing! Idaho's famous World's Biggest Beagle is as comfortable as it is unique. Queen in main quarters, 2 twins in loft area. One hour drive from Lewiston, Idaho airport (LWS) & near famed Hells Canyon of the Snake River. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dog Bark Park Hotel Cottonwood
Dog Bark Park Inn Cottonwood, Idaho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dog Bark Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.