We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of syringa cafe

syringa cafe
1401 n 4th st, Coeur d'Alene, ID
2086642718
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 208 Restaurants in Coeur d'Alene
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Oregon City, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This is one of the best meals I've had. The tempura is outstanding. I love the decor and that it's small and cozy. Service was excellent!
Make reservations as the line was out the door when we left. The next day there was a line waiting for them to open

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    22
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

It was a busy Saturday night at Syringa but my wife and I were able to get a table without a reservation. The waiter was pleasant and the service good.  We both ordered miso soup, and for entrees shrimp yaki-udon soup and the tempura dinner.  On the positive side, the tempura was superb with large shrimp and sweet crispy vegetables,  as tasty as any I have ever eaten.  The miso, however tasted strange and neither of us finished it.  The udon soup was served so hot that we had to wait over 20 minutes before we could spoon it into our mouths.  The noodles had a consistency different than the "slippery" ones we are usually served elsewhere.

Perhaps it was an off day for us. Perhaps we ordered the wrong dishes.  Perhaps our expectations were too high.  Whatever the case, we had a mediocre meal at Syringa.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Refreshing and fresh, Wonderful Food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Fresh food, very flavorful and different. Good portions. I was full.

Small place, fun atmosphere. Our first time going there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Considering that the area is far from the sea, the food is not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We love sashimi, which needs to be absolutely fresh else it is immediately evident. We have visited many times because it is the best sushi restaurant in the area, but it does not compare to the sushi establishments in the larger coastal cities, hence the average rating.

I had monk fish liver for the first time at Syringa's, and did not like it at all (tasted fishy, and strong). When I had the same in San Diego, it was fresh and delicious; not nearly the same experience.

Because sashimi allows you to experience the essence of the raw fish without any accompaniment, the quality must be stellar. Unfortunately, at Syringa's, the quality is hit or miss, which is understandable because Coeur d'Alene is a small inland city, but that is not an excuse for top notch sashimi.

The service was excellent, but the sushi bar had only 5 seats, which makes it difficult at times to find a spot other than a regular dinner table.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Neighborhood Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Funky little joint, with great sushi and traditional asian dishes. This place has personality, it's alive. Great staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed syringa cafe also viewed

Coeur d'Alene, ID
Coeur d'Alene, ID
 
Coeur d'Alene, ID
 

Been to syringa cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage syringa cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.