We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Bed, Great Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Japan House Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Japan House Suites to your Saves list
Japan House Suites
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2113 E. Sherman Avenue, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Coeur d'Alene
Irvine, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful Bed, Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

The building is a little old but the mattresses are firm and heavenly. The breakfast is B & B quality. You order your breakfast when you check in. They offer steak & eggs; a brown rice omelette and a bunch of other stuff. You give them a time and it's ready when you walk in.

The door locks & keys are from the 70's, but everything works fine.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    16
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
16
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

me being from Montana and growing up I a ranch I had some damn good omelettes but they were nothing compared to the Japanese omelette I ate today.Also the beds are soo soft and the rooms are clean. And u don't have to worry about being home sick here I practically felt like I was at home here. Defiantly the best place to stay in this beautiful town. I guarantee you'll love it as much as me!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEDLEY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Breakfast was not great, bed was comfortable, definitely friendly staff. A little too far from the downtown area and all other amenities like shopping and restaurants requiring a drive to for these things.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. I cannot dispute that the owner/hosts are among the friendliest you will ever meet at a motel. They are extremely eager to please and generally available all the time. That said, there are pros and cons to Japan House -
PROS
Friendly owners
An on-site inn cat
Immaculately clean and maintained
Comfy beds and bedding
Above average quality furniture in the room

CONS
Despite the name, these are one-room typical motel rooms, not suites
Price is higher than other comparable motels in town (we stayed in two other local places)
Towels are absorbent but some are very worn and stringy
If atmosphere/decor is important, there is none here. The rooms have no pictures or colorful touches ... everything is beige, white or brown inside and out
No hair dryer in the room, you must ask for one. The obvious effort to conserve costs is evident in this way and others -- we had 2 bath towels, 2 hand towels and 2 facecloths despite being in a room with 2 queen beds.
Breakfast is cooked by Mimi and portions are very controlled. If you need a substantial breakfast, this will not do it. You choose the breakfast entree when you check in. My husband had 'steak and eggs' the first day but found the small slices of beef that had been ordered "rare" were so well done and so tough that he was unable to eat them. "Toast" means 1 piece of toast with a 1/2" square of butter and a spoonful of jam on your plate.
Location: At least a mile or more from the center of town. There were two restaurants within walking distance but nothing else.
No soda machine/must ask for ice which they will willingly get for you

Overall, I would not stay here again. The location is not convenient unless you are willing to drive to everything and we liked the other two (cheaper but better) places much more.

Room Tip: Kim tries to put couples upstairs and families downstairs. All rooms face the street so none is bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of spending a couple nights at Japan House Suites this week. It was beyond our expectations. We read several awesome reviews on this property, and we were not disappointed! Kim and Mimi made our stay most enjoyable.
The room was perfect. Very comfortable and exceptionally clean. There is no doubt that pride in ownership shows throughout.
We even borrowed some towels while we spent a day on the lake. They were more than happy to help us out. As we were on motorcycles, we didn't pack any! They even offered some towels and such to clean up the bikes.
Now onto Mimi's breakfast. WOW. That lady can cook up an awesome meal. We had different things each day, but my personal favorite would have to be the steak and eggs.
When staying in the CDA area, don't hesitate in spending a night or two with Kim and Mimi.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Friendly innkeepers, great individually prepared breakfasts, clean and comfortable. Not right in center of downtown, but only 7-10 minute car ride. definitely would return and recommend highly. Good value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

As a previous owner/inn keeper of a Bed & Breakfast in Coeur d'Alene, I'm very aware of what guests want. I've also stayed in several other hotels/motels in the area, and none of them even come close to what the Japan House Suites provides; especially for the price of their non-smoking rooms. Mimi is a wonderful cook (steak and eggs--YUM)!!!! Both Mimi and Kim are very friendly, helpful, and accessible. In the future, I won't stay anywhere else..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Japan House Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Japan House Suites

Address: 2113 E. Sherman Avenue, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814
Location: United States > Idaho > Coeur d'Alene
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Coeur d'Alene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Japan House Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Japan House Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Japan House Hotel Coeur d`Alene
Japan House Suites Idaho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Japan House Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.