We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its was a ok hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Guesthouse International Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Guesthouse International Inn to your Saves list
Guesthouse International Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   330 W Appleway, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$65 Summer Special
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Coeur d'Alene
Hector, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Its was a ok hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The motel & room needs a update. Old TV & the remote had no back cover on it. Ghetto for my opinion. No pool or hot tub. The room was clean.
The bedding was nice.
The staff was very friendly & helpful.
The free breakfast was not good. Could have been better.
The price for the room was fair, I guess.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinthiaR, General Manager at Guesthouse International Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
We are a simple hotel with great prices and good value. Our breakfast features: hot waffles, muffins, yogurt, fresh fruit and hard boiled eggs. We do have 27" TVs but all remotes should work and have backs on them... easy fix. Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    25
    18
    15
    12
See reviews for
26
26
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I found the room dark, dank and smelly. Security was non existent as the back door to the stairs was constantly propped open so anyone could come in. Also, not impressed with the breakfast and the location where it was served (the lobby).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinthiaR, General Manager at Guesthouse International Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your response. We are a great economical alternative, however no need for our rooms to be dark, we will check into this. Our breakfast program serves hot waffles, muffins, cereal, yogurt and fresh fruit. Our breakfast room is petite hosting about 9 people however many people do take their food back to their rooms. People do no loiter much in the breakfast room so there is always an open seat. Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We needed a quiet, clean spot from which to resolve family business over 14 days. The rates were the least-expensive we found, but we got a lot of bang for our bucks. Our two rooms were very quiet and well-serviced. The Wi-Fi signal was strong, and the free breakfast was what you expect at this price range. Manager Terri Pease was extremely accomodating and helpful. I observed her interviewing potential employees, and it's no wonder the help is so friendly with attention to detail -- she sets high standards, and it shows. This will be our go-to spot for as long as it takes to finish our business. -- JE, Denver

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinthiaR, General Manager at Guesthouse International Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
It is great to hear that you are enjoying your stay with us. Terri does strive to please each guest according to their specific needs. We wish you the best in your family business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We were staying in town for a week and the rates for the hotel were great. The recliner in the room was a great welcome. When you are somewhere for a week you need a place to sit other than a bed. The room came with a frige and microwave. The desk was nice and long with plenty of table space to stack your stuff and still have a place to work. The staff were very friendly every time we interacted with them. They offered GREAT restaurant tips and were always smiling. I left some clothes and they are mailing them to me. Without missing a beat they used my credit card and sent them. The hotel is old, but it is clean. I dont think it smelled like smoke, just older. There is no elevator so be prepared for the stairs. I dont mind stairs, but may be for others. For the price it works-it felt like staying with family--not your house your way, but still comfy.

Room Tip: The rooms with the recliner is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinthiaR, General Manager at Guesthouse International Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thanks for the positive review. The people we have working for us are amazing! We thought the recliners would be a nice touch and I'm glad you do too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Arrived at this motel and the walk to the room was awful. The stairway smelled of cigarette smoke and the carpets were almost worn through and looked dirty. The room was actually very nice and clean, breakfast was good, and since I just needed a place to stay overnight it was fine for the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CinthiaR, Manager at Guesthouse International Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
We do apologize for the odor you had experienced walking to your room. We are a 100% non- smoking hotel and it is hard sometimes to get certain odors to remain outside when exit doors open and close. We do try to prevent this from happening by taking steps with our air freshening fog machine to keep a welcoming smell throughout our hotel. We had just made some changes to our hotel including new paint on our walls to a more inviting color as well as new modern bedding we are very excited about. We hope that you do change you mind and come and stay with us again during your next travel date. It was a pleasure to have you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langenbach, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We had a lovely stay at this property for 2 weeks. When we left, other family members took our room for a few more days. The few requests we made were promptly dealt with. The self-serve breakfast was good, and everything was at peak freshness. Staff were friendly and attentive; room was clean and spacious. The recliner in our room was very welcome at the end of our hard days! The bed was extremely comfortable!! Even tho our room was in the basement, and there had been water issues a few months earlier from a broken pipe, the room was dry and absolutely no traces of mildew. We were on the petrol station side, but there were no noise or smell issues. Convenient to all the places we needed to be, handy shopping. Fast food and moderate priced restaurants in easy walking distance.

Room Tip: There are no handicapped access rooms, but the basement level is only 6 steps down if that's a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman MT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Let me start out by saying, I AM NOT A HOTEL SNOB. I travel for our own interests about once a month. My husband and I are in animal rescue. We generally ALWAYS stay at animal friendly hotels, if, for no other reason, than to support those hotels that allow animals. We went to Couer d alaine for a one night stay over to collect some euth list little dogs off of a transport van coming from Southern California. We made reservations at this hotel. When we arrived the lobby floor had been completely stripped off. I understand that renovations must be made at some point. no biggie. both of my eyes began to run, and cry real dripping tears. there are 3 two seater tables in the lobby to eat the breakfast off of. we were checked in and went to our room. On the way to our room, a part of the trim had been removed half way up the wall but all the rest of the chair rail trim was there. THE CARPET WAS COMPLETELY AND TOTALLY FILTHY with wear, new dirt, old dirt, and GARBAGE.....ALLOT OF GARBAGE..... I started to freak alittle inside my head, but kept going. We had to specifically sign a pet release, saying we would be charged for any damage done to the room during our stay, as well as pay exptra for the pet fee. so we signed it. the carpet was STAINED, the furniture was BROKEN, head board was broken, lamp paint was coming off, the desk had a rainbow of old urine dried and dripping down it. the tile flooring in the bathroom was broken in two places. the entertainment center had a big melted cigarette burn right in the front of it in a non smoking room. the sink vanity was literally TAPED together with blue duct tape, that had curled edges and that had clearly been there for some time. my eyes were still running, dripping tears. The worst part of it, the door which you pretty much HAD to touch had NEVER EVER BEEN CLEANED IN MAYBE 15 YEARS. IT HAD DARK BLACK grunge THICKLY STUCK TO IT. We quickly decided we needed the front desk person to see our room so that we wouldn't be responsible for any of this damage. Our sweet, very very nice, professional front desk young lady named Nicole acted as well as any hostess at any priced hotel I'd ever stayed at. She did her job well. She is a big asset to your company. She moved us to a different, cleaner room. The second floor of your hotel is noticeably cleaner than the basement. Why would you think pet owners are all filthy disgusting slobs and never bother to even vacuum the carpet OR PICK UP THE GARBAGE on the floor in the lower level??? the upper level was still old. but it had been updated awhile back. the door was CLEAN! the floor wasn't broken, the sink wasn't broken. we found it funny that there was a security device in the upper level window, far above where anyone could reach, but the lower level, anyone could get through the window and no security device. The breakfast was quite lower level of continental, but mcdonalds could have been an option. Look, if you are FLAT OUT DESTITUTE, then this place is better than being homeless. but other than that, go somewhere else..... honestly. The morning front desk person was pleasant as well. there was basically no one staying there that night, they could have saved us the gross out session of even putting us in that nasty room! Also, the first TWO sets of keys did not work in our room, then the night gal had to come let us in. then on the THIRD set of keys, even the third set wouldn't let us in through the outside door. ugh.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Guesthouse International Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse International Inn

Address: 330 W Appleway, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Coeur d'Alene
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Coeur d'Alene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Guesthouse International Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice quaint hotel located on I-90 and Highway 95. Only 5 minutes from Lake Coeur d'Alene, Free Hot Waffle Breakfast. Free Wireless Internet. Guest Laundry. All rooms feature refrigerators, microwaves and in-room coffee. Some rooms feature a recliner chair. Surrounded by restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Guesthouse International Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse International Hotel Coeur d`Alene
Guesthouse International Inn Idaho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guesthouse International Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.