We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 West Seltice Way, I-90 Exit 11, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Coeur d'Alene
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Highly highly recommend this hotel! We were passing through for one night and luckily came across this place. Clean comfortable rooms. Lovely staff. Breakfast included. Just a nice place to stay especially if you are passing through town.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Yelena P,
Thank you for your high recommendation and for noting our clean rooms and great hot breakfast! I will be sure to pass your kudos along to our entire staff. We look forward to your next stay with us and hope you will be able to spend a couple of nights in Coeur d'Alene next time.
-JessicaFOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    73
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
105
121
21
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights having returned because of the great experience we have had in the past. A shout out to the front desk and dining room staff who were very friendly and accommodating - even the man watering plants outside was friendly which is something we really appreciated. The dining room staff worked so hard and still had smiles for everyone. We needed sheets and a heavier blanket for the pullout sofa which the staff promptly found for us. We love the free breakfast, the manager's special dinner Tuesday to Thursday, the cookies and milk each night, and the complimentary lemonade slushies. The hotel is clean and well kept. We don't particularly like the beds as we find that anytime someone moves, the whole bed moves and is felt by the other person if you're in a queen bed. The hotel was full each night were there. Overall, we had a great experience here and we will be back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Livewell 123,
Thank you for continuing to choose our hotel in Coeur d'Alene. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our Managers Reception with the free dinner & drinks during the week as well as our free hot Express Start breakfast each morning. I will be sure our whole staff knows how they were able to make a great impact on your stay. Please reach out to me directly with your room number so we may check the mattresses that did not impress you. Thanks again for your kind words about our staff and we look forward to your next great stay with us!
-Jessica Glasson
Front Office Manger
jglasson@impressguest.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

On a long road trip between Salt Lake City and Seattle, we were most worried about what our one night in this hotel would be like just based on the brand, but we were completely wrong. This was one of those places where the effort put in by staff made such a positive difference. It's not luxurious, but we had a large, comfortable room with everything we needed. More importantly, the welcome on checking in was so friendly, and what seemed to be a problem with our booking (via UK and US travel agents) was simply taken out of hands and resolved while we took our welcome drinks up to our room. A very convenient location that was surpassed by the experience - definitely recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
EKTraveller52,
Feedback from such an experienced traveler means a lot to us and we are so glad you ended up at our hotel. It is our mission to 'Impress Guests' and it is clear that our service did just that. Our staff always enjoys the opportunity to take the stress out of traveling. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Coeur d'Alene!
-JessicaFOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This hotel was a pleasant surprise, from the clean, spacious rooms, to the friendly staff. Our check agent, Kala, was very helpful and friendly. Our room had a nice kitchen area with a mini fridge, sink, and microwave. Overall, i think this was one of the nicest Holiday Inn we've ever stayed in and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Jorge P,
Thank you for your enthusiastic words about our hotel. We take pride in being called one of the best Holiday Inn Express and in our helpful & friendly service; I am glad Kala in particular shined for you. We look forward to seeing you here again soon!
-JessicaFOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was a very nice hotel. Very neat and clean. Easy check in. We stayed one night. Beds a little firm for me. The breakfast is not so great, but usual continental. Free in room wifi. Free parking. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
AroundNAround,
Thank you for choosing our hotel. Your feedback as an experienced traveler is greatly appreciated. It is a pleasure to hear you found our hotel neat and clean. Our options for our hot Express Start Breakfast are expanding; we have recently added Chobani Greek yogurt, turkey sausage, & gluten free bread items. I hope you were able to try some of these, and of course if you have any other suggestions of what you would like to see, please don't hesitate to ask. Thank you for noting our other free amenities as well. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
-JessicaFOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Horn, Iowa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I've stayed in a LOT of HI Express locations and this wins for best staff! Even though it was Ironman weekend and absolutely crazy, every staff member took time to greet us genuinely. That was much appreciated considering the extra high cost for an event weekend. I suspect that the staff gains zilch from the price gauging so I applaud them even more. Rooms and other areas were kept clean and the grounds were lovely. We didn't take any of our meals there but it was set up nicely and smelled great!
Great location for heading in any direction. The beds and pillows were comfy, the room was quiet. It may be ready for updating but as long as it's clean, comfy and smells fresh, I'm happy!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Lou H,
Thank you for staying with us this year for the Ironman weekend and for sharing your experience. Our staff takes a lot of pride in the service and amenities we offer and I am glad we were able to attain a top spot for the best staff. It is our mission to 'Impress Guests' and it is a pleasure to hear that we have fulfilled that for you! We also love to hear how clean you found our hotel, but if you have any specific ideas of updates you would like to see, please don't hesitate to contact me directly. Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you here again for Ironman 2015, if not sooner!
-JessicaFOM

Jessica Glasson
Front Office Manager
jglasson@impressguest.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This was booked as an overnight stop and when we checked in we were told we had been upgraded to a larger room (not that we needed a larger room there being only two of us). The room had the usual two huge beds and a generous en-suite plus a sitting area in-between. This meant the sitting area was dark and not very inviting. There was a fridge, microwave and the usual facilities - all ok and clean.
We left the hotel and drove into Coeur D'Alene for a wander around and to eat dinner, returning early evening.
We decided to sit outside on the terrace in the evening sun with a coffee (no bar or restaurant at this hotel). We had only been sat down for 10mins or so when the terrace was overun by hundreds of noisy teenagers eating pizzas provided by their guardians. We left to try and find somewhere quiet to relax but it was impossible. Everywhere was overun by noisy teenagers. They were running along the corridors, in the dining room, lobby, pool - everywhere. We were told that there was a music festival on in town and the hotel had booked 70% of its rooms to the teenagers and guardians.
I asked to be moved to a quieter part of the hotel but was told that there wasn't a quieter part of the hotel and the teenagers were spread around the hotel - why? Why couldn't they be booked in a block together or other guests to occupy, say only the top floor. We retired to our room at about 9pm thinking it might be quiet - not so.
Outside our room was an ice machine, a soda machine and a snack machine resulting dozens or noisy teenagers congregating outside all the time.
To be fair to the hotel they did say that there was a curfew at 10pm when all teenagers must be in their rooms and quiet and we were relieved that this was adhered to after a reminder by a guardian.
We decided that an early start for breakfast would probably beat the huge queues to the coffee and snack food areas we had seen the night before, again - not so. At 6:30am there were hundreds of teenagers in the dining room, no tables free even if you could have got some food. It was an hour before we could get a table, which we had to clear ourselves to be able to use it.
The breakfast was basic but filled a corner.
I have to stress that the teenagers had to stay somewhere and they were only doing what teenagers do - this was a management failure to recognise that there was a problem to its other guests. We were not the only guests to have a problem.
On checking out we complained to the reception that if they had told our travel agent that 70% of the hotel was booked by teenagers we would probably have booked elsewhere. To us this was a failure of the management and we will seriously consider wether to book cheaper hotels in future that we consider might be frequented by people looking for a basic overnight accommodation.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms when 70% of the hotel is filled with noisy teenagers spread around the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Sedgtrav1,
Thank you for your candid feedback. I do apologize that you were not able to enjoy our hotel to the fullest extent.
We did have a group book almost all of our hotel rooms and I apologize that we were not able to assign you a room away from the group; but it was a true statement that this group had booked rooms on each floor and each hallway due to their size and room type selections. Every possible accommodation was made to pick the best rooms possible for guests not associated with the group, including generously offering many complimentary upgrades. I understand your concern in attaining this information in advance, but in our efforts of protecting privacy, sharing information about other guests with potential reservations is not something we do. What we do enforce with our groups is a code of conduct, including a quiet time or 'curfew' that, as you mentioned, we were able to follow through with.
Please contact me directly to further discuss your concerns and what we can do to invite you back to Coeur d'Alene.
-Jessica Glasson
Front Office Manager
jglasson@impressguest.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene

Address: 2300 West Seltice Way, I-90 Exit 11, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Coeur d'Alene
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#2 Family Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#2 Business Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fall in love with Coeur d'Alene this season at the Holiday Inn Express Coeur d'Alene. This new award-winning Coeur d'Alene hotel will meet and exceed your every expectation! Located close to beautiful Lake Coeur d Alene and just minutes from Silverwood Theme Park, Kootenai Medical Center, North Idaho College, University of Idaho, and Lewis and Clark State College, this hotel is a perfect location for both business and pleasure! This Coeur d'Alene hotel is complete with 101 non-smoking guestrooms, including 36 over-sized suites with parlor area and wet bar. Suites include 2 flat panel screen HDTV's. All rooms contain a microwave and refrigerator. 6 deluxe suites have a double-sided fireplace, two person jetted tub, and two flat panel HD TVs. The indoor pool and spa area is ready for your enjoyment, decorated with whimsical sea creatures. Bored at the end of a long day? Relax next to our custom built outdoor fire pit. We also provide a guest laundry facility, boardroom, and fully equipped business center. Our Coeur d'Alene hotel offers easy freeway access and close proximity to shopping, restaurants, and tons of entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites - Coeur d`Alene
Holiday Inn Coeur D'alene
Coeur D'alene Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene Idaho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Coeur D'Alene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.