We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Resort City Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Resort City Inn to your Saves list
Resort City Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   621 East Sherman Avenue, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Coeur d'Alene
Los Angeles
1 review
“The perfect hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

I was traveling through Coeur d'Alene on business and booked the Resort City Inn for 4 nights. The downtown location was absolutely perfect--walkable to all the restaurants, bars and shops. The room is the best I've seen so far (and I've been on the road for 7 weeks), with a flat screen TV (even a few HD channels!), two very comfortable beds, and an immaculate bathroom. I loved this hotel so much, I added an extra night to my stay! The staff was very friendly, and when they learned of my lunch plans they had loads of suggestions on what to eat at the place. When in Coeur d'Alene, look no further than the Resort City Inn: A great deal on a great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    24
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
6
38
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
home
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

We stayed here while we were here for a wedding at the Coeur d'Alene Resort. It was only 6 blocks away and very handy to be able to walk. The room was very nice and spacious and we would definitely stay here again. A block or so away is Tubbs Hill where you can have a very nice hike. 2 blocks away is Java which has great Lattes and food. We had Java Huevos and it was wonderful. The continental breakfast at the hotel was certainly adequate and, actually, above average. I liked their Raisin English Muffins. The staff was helpful and very nice.

  • Liked — being in downtown Couer d'Alene
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne End England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

As a family we stayed at the motel over the July holiday weekend and found the amenities, location and staff first rate.
Probably the best value for money accomodation during our entire visit to the USA . We will certainly return when we visit again in the future.
David Whittaker and family, Bourne End England.

  • Liked — value for money, location and helpful staff
  • Disliked — nothing at all, it was perfect for my family
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

This is a great little place in the heart of the city. Convenient to everywhere by foot, since the town is so walkable as well. we paid $89/night, whcich I think is a great deal right in town. The big chain hotels were the same, but you then have to drive a couple miles into town. we enjoyed walking to dinner, and jumping on the centennial trail, just a few blocks away. Rooftoop deck, with grills for your use, free internet computer to use, great friendly staff.

  • Liked — location, cleanliness
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2008

We came to do Ironman Coeur D'Alene and were treated with exceptional customer service.

Small with about 18 units, built as an older resort type motel, but a lot of effort has been made to update all aspects. HD Flatscreen TV's and duvet beddings are examples.

This is not a full service big hotel. It is a small comfortable place that made you feel at home, where the Staff are excellent and did all the little things you could ask for. Would stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Liked — Location, Customer Service, Quiet rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

Resort City Inn was delightful. Relaxed atmosphere, immaculately clean rooms, with cheerful staff happy to go the extra mile for guests. Location was ideal for exploration of downtown and was only one block from Coeur d'Alene's great new library.

  • Liked — warm coziness
  • Disliked — Everything was great!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

I was recently here for a week long business trip. A colleague found it on TripAdvisor and determined it fit his criteria, and (as important) it was close to what our employer would reimburse for - hard to find in Coeur d'Alene! So the three of us stayed here.

The pluses:

It's reasonably priced

It's downtown and walking distance from most everything you could want in Coeur d'Alene - the lake & restaurants.

Fridge and microwave in the room

Comfy bed

Clean and well maintained

Full range of cable stations on the TV - not like most hotels I've been to recently where you get maybe five or at most ten - they had real cable service.

I'll list the "continental breakfast" for those of you that like it - we're talkin' baked goodies from the grocery store, orange juice, coffee, instant oatmeal, etc. My colleagues liked it. I went down the street two blocks to Java - now THAT is a breakfast : bread and scones etc they bake there, really excellent coffee and tea, friendly folks, nice atmosphere, very reasonable prices and excellent breakfast offerings like avocado toast and confetti eggs. Yum.

The minuses:

It was a bit odd in some ways. I can't remember the last time I stayed at a hotel - especially one in a resort town - that didn't provide an iron and ironing board. They provided an iron - just didn't know where the board had got to, and never did find it (apparently there's just one). Also, there's no wake-up calls - they don't open til 7am. There are clock alarms in the room - nice ones, with cd players, even - but complicated little buggers. I thought I had mine set, even tested it, and next morning, there it was, still "set" for the time, just never went off. Hmmmm. Neither of my colleagues could get it to work, either, so it wasn't just me or my particular one.

Also, my colleague's husband tried to call her in the morning - a routine they have for when she travels - no dice before 7am, sorry. Can't call direct to the room, and there's no voice mail. Staff will (when they're open) tape a message to your door for you. Oh, and they close at 7PM. Now, this may not be true in high tourist season, I didn't ask. Finally, when one of my colleagues thought she had lost her receipt - they gave us one at check-in - she asked them for a copy. They weren't going to give it to her! Grudgingly they finally agreed to give her a copy of her credit card receipt, but she needed one showing the room charge and taxes etc and they said "no". Now, isn't that odd? Why on earth??? Luckily she found the original they'd given her.

All in all, I would recommend this hotel, if the above things aren't a problem for you. They weren't for me, and I slept well and enjoyed being right downtown. There IS major construction going on right across the street - they're building a highrise - so, if you aren't an early riser (cuz the construction guys started up at like 6am), check to see if that's still going on when you are planning to go.

  • Liked — Location, and a bed I could actually sleep in
  • Disliked — very limited amenities - less than the standard
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Resort City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort City Inn

Address: 621 East Sherman Avenue, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814
Location: United States > Idaho > Coeur d'Alene
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Coeur d'Alene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Resort City Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Coeur d'Alene. Walk to the lake, beaches, dining and everything Coeur d'Alene has to offer. All rooms have refrigerators, microwaves, internet, local calls, coffee and cable TV. Come and enjoy breakfast and the grill on the rooftop garden patio. Stay at the only Inn located downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Resort City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort City Inn Idaho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort City Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.