We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive for the experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blackwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Blackwell Hotel to your Saves list
Blackwell Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   820 E. Sherman Ave., Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Coeur d'Alene B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Too expensive for the experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Very nice facility. Expensive for the experience. Breakfast was pastries, hard boiled eggs, cereal, toast, yogurt and fruit. Lizz is a very nice efficient person. The hotel is an old house that has been decorated in a very modern theme. Bed was comfortable. Fireplace in our room did not work, even after Lizz worked on it. Not a bad experience by any means, but again feel it was overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
72
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Selected the Blackwell after reading Trip Advisor reviews and ended up spending an extra day in the beautiful city of Coeur D'Alene. We had stumbled on a huge classic wooden boat show and as a result of meeting someone at the hotel who knew a lot of people showing their boats, got to attend a workshop as his guest. This typically would not happen in a traditional chain type place.
The Inn Keeper, Lizz Hoy, was a true hostess among her other duties, including making sure that I had sufficient wattage in my bedside table lamp. She was constantly the alert for how they could make the experience of staying there even better. We stayed in bedroom #1 which was spacious and beautifully done. For light sleepers (street noise and creaky stairs) I would recommend asking for a room a bit more "hidden". This will be a return destination for us for both the Blackwell experience as well as the town itself

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

From the moment you meet LIz, the manager, you feel like you have arrived at an old friend's house. She is warm, generous and makes sure all your needs are met. The B&B itself, is beautiful, elegant and well maintained. Luxury surounds you during your stay. We definitely recommend it and definitely will return.
Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were in CDA for a combination pleasure/business trip, our planned lodging did not start until the next day, and we were lucky enough to stumble across the Blackwell Hotel. Room #6 (top floor, private bath) was nicely appointed, and has a dual setting Sleep Number bed, as well as a 36" +/- TV. The bathroom was very nice, with the only shortfalls (?) being a clawfoot tub with no shower curtain. I pretended to be sitting in a old-fashioned washtub while using the hand piece, and had much bettter luck than my wife (who made a small mess, which we cleaned up directly). The other issue was the 1904 single pane windows did not do too much to keep the sound of the vehicles on the busy road from entering the room, the traffic let up later in the evening, but was a little annoying..... Staff were tremendous, we saw the snacks and beverages available but did not end up having any of them.
Highly Reccomend!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIDWAY,UT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

What a wonderful B&B! Our room (#3) was spacious, beautifully decorated with nice linens and fabullous towels in large bathroom - could have had a party in the shower! The hotel is an elegant 1904 home redecorated in a contemporary style that worked well. Breakfast was light - yogurt, fruit, cereal, muffins and bagels and was plentiful. Wine, beer and snacks were available at all times. The staff was extremely friendly and courteous, but the crowning glory was Liz! She was there to assist with any questions we had, gave good suggestions of what to do in C d'A, and was just plain GREAT! There is no question as to where we would stay if we come back to your corner of the world.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The manager, Liz, is the queen of hospitality. We wanted for nothing and have never before stayed at such an accommodating place. Beer and wine was freely available along with snacks to go throughout the day. The staff members were very efficient and courteous and the folks we met in travel, always pleasant. Wonderful experience all around. Perfect location with easy access to downtown and the beach.

We took a motorcycle ride to CDA and had booked room 2 for our stay. The entire place was spotless, nicely appointed and the room was spacious and airy. The private bath/shower is across the hall and assigned to the room. The king sized bed was extremely comfortable and even had a sleep number mattress! We couldn’t pack much and were in sore need of laundry services so Liz offered to put our load in before they did house laundry. Then offered to put it the dryer for us so we could go play! Who does that?

My wife and I returned towards the end of our vacation, this time in room 3 which was amazing and had a walk-in shower that could host a small party! We didn’t see the other rooms.

We’re looking forward to coming back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We rode into Coeur D' Alene on our Harleys not knowing what to expect. We've stayed at amazing B&Bs and we've stayed at stuffy B&Bs. Well, the Blackwell is AMAZING. What a gorgeous Boutique Hotel!! We had a king room with a fireplace and it was so gorgeous and comfortable! Beds, A+. Linens, A+. Bathroom, A+!

Liz, the caretaker, is an awesome gal who we enjoyed evening and morning chats with! Great photo opportunities, gorgeous interiors, exciting history!

Great location also, we walked 3 blocks to downtown and had great food and went dancing!

We highly recommend this wonderful place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwell Hotel

Address: 820 E. Sherman Ave., Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Coeur d'Alene
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Coeur d'Alene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackwell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique hotel with in-room flat screen TV's, Keurig coffee makers, iHome docking stations, and more. Hotel amenities include free WIFI, media room, billiards table and shuffleboard. Walking distance to many restaurants, shops, night life, parks, and the lake. Check-in time between 3pm-6pm. Check-out time is at 11am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Blackwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackwell Hotel Idaho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackwell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.