We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“refreshingly different” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meltz Extreme Grilled Cheese

Meltz Extreme Grilled Cheese
1735 W. Kathleen Ave, Coeur d'Alene, ID
208-664-1717
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 208 Restaurants in Coeur d'Alene
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: American, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: We take comfort food seriously, Extremely seriously, but with some twists. Combining our passion for Extraordinary flavor profiles with our love for the Extreme, MELTZ is the culmination of years of culinary experience. Fusing layers of flavor, our sandwiches go beyond your expectations and what you may imagine. These sandwiches are deliberate in every way to bring you an Extreme combination of textures, flavors, spices and heat. Oh, we still make simple, familiar grilled cheese sandwiches. But if you're looking to Kick Up Your Comfort, we've got something on the menu for you!
Tacoma, WA
1 review
“refreshingly different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was not your cookie cutter type burger joint. I had the Windy City with chips and a drink and was really impressed with the low pricing. The combination of flavors was everything I had hoped it would be after reading the description in the menu. The homemade potato chips were easily the best I have ever had anywhere. I think they could easily open this resturant in many many more locations and hope some day there will be one in the Tacoma-Seattle area as I do not regularly travel to Coeur D'Alene. If i am ever within 50 miles of Meltz again i will certainly find a way to stop for another meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    25
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great grilled cheese sandwich and soup place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

If looking for a good warm sandwich this is the place!! Yummy!

Offer lots of sandwich options plus do half size in all flavors.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden, Idaho
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Must Try!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Meltz is a great addition to the Coeur d'Alene/Hayden area. You can't make these sandwiches at home. The bread is perfect for all the "extreme" toppings like meatloaf, pulled pork, and artisan cheese. My husband had the Oinker and wouldn't share he liked it so much. We can't wait to go back and try all the other sandwich combinations. The food is great, but don't rush greatness, this isn't fast food. If ordering to go, I recommend calling in your order.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
1 review
“Yumm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

There food is so great! My Boyfriend went and tried it for the 1st time not to long ago and it was just SOOO good. They really do make the best grilled cheese sandwiches! Many cheeses and home made chips!!! (:
Thank you so much! Oh and great costumer service(:

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I recently moved to this area and are eating out a bit. We stopped here for lunch. There is a really nice selection of interesting unique combinations of grilled cheese sandwiches. We shared a basic ham an cheese on sourdough. One sandwich is large enough to share between two adults. The sandwich was quite large and generously filled with ham and cheese. The home made potato chips are tasty too. We definitely plan on going back and would recommend this restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meltz Extreme Grilled Cheese also viewed

 
Coeur d'Alene, ID
 

Been to Meltz Extreme Grilled Cheese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meltz Extreme Grilled Cheese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.