We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent BBQ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Porky G's BBQ

Porky G's BBQ
1527 Northwest Boulevard, Coeur d'Alene, ID
(208) 665-0044
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #140 of 209 Restaurants in Coeur d'Alene
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Decent BBQ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Maybe this just isn't great BBQ country, not like Memphis or St' Louis or Texas. I'm not that crazy about most of the BBQ places in CdA but this one did get the pick to cater my daughter's wedding a couple years back. Good location in an old gas station, funky atmosphere and average service as you might expect. I did like the pulled pork sandwich and contrary to one other reviewer here, some of us do like sauce on our BBQ and Porky's spicy was tasty.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Post Falls, Idaho
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Don't Waste Your Money!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We love good BBQ... the wonderful smell brought us in but this is NOT good BBQ. Dry meat, awful corn muffins and the BBQ sauces are not tasty at all. And to top it off... the staff were not friendly OR helpful. We wanted to love the food but after trying twice we are done.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
America
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bland food and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Good BBQ doesn't need any sauce. I had to drench my pulled pork sandwich to give it some flavor. There was no smoke flavor to the pork--I wonder if the meat was baked. If your looking for a good food experience, look somewhere else. If you want a quick meal to stop hunger pains, you can stop here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Crappy food with bad service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Steer clear. The food is dry and over salted. The service is lacking verging on rude. We won't be back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Darn, it's good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Good food, clean, fun atmosphere! The service was great, the food was amazing. I'll return for sure.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porky G's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Porky G's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porky G's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.