We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Roosevelt Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Roosevelt Inn to your Saves list
The Roosevelt Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   105 Wallace Avenue, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct - Best Rates
Ranked #3 of 10 Coeur d'Alene B&B and Inns
Coralville, Iowa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our stay in the Bell Tower Suite was wonderful. The room was very cozy and clean as well as beautifully put together. We loved sitting in the bell tower and watching activity on the lake, which is amazingly close to where the Inn is located...everything is walking distance downtown. The breakfast was wonderful and the homemade granola was superb...we had to take some home with us. We enjoyed the beautiful grounds and the hot tub relaxed our tired muscles after a long day of sightseeing. The innkeepers were very friendly and helpful, making recommendation for lunch and dinner. They also sent info via the internet prior to our trip, saving us time in deciding what we wanted to do in the area. It was a lovely stay. Would encourage others to check it out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rooseveltinn, Owner at The Roosevelt Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We really appreciate the time you took to post this very excellent review! It's always a delight to hear that our guests have enjoyed their experience here with us. We're always happy to help with activities and recommendations and can help set up many things in advance.

We're so happy that you were able to take advantage of the many activities and perks we have to offer at the Roosevelt Inn. Hopefully that delicious granola will draw you back here to visit us again. Next time you come, be sure to check out our new packages on our website as well as all the extra enhancements you can add to make your next visit even more memorable!

Thanks again, and wishing you all the best,
Tina & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    35
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
35
161
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Great location - we loved walking back and forth to the lake and restaurants and you can head out on your bike on the Centennial Trail so easily! Loved the breakfast bar option and eggs cooked-to-order as one of us doesn't care for the usual heavy B&B breakfasts. We'll miss Rohan (-:

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rooseveltinn, Owner at The Roosevelt Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review! We're so happy that your visit with us was so enjoyable.

We do have the best location in town, and our proximity to all downtown and lake activities is within walking distance. If you enjoyed the Centennial trail, next time you'll have try the Route of the Hiawatha. That's another really great biking trail.

We're also glad that you enjoyed our lovable golden retriever, Rohan. He sure is popular around here :)

Until next time,
Tina & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Myself, my 12 year old son, husband and Bernese Mountain Dog spent two nights at the Roosevelt Inn while on a road trip from San Francisco to Montana. We loved everything about our experience. Everyone we extremely friendly and helpful. We have never stayed in a hotel or B&B that was so welcoming to pets. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a tray of goodies for the "humans" and a goody packet for our dog. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rooseveltinn, Owner at The Roosevelt Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your excellent review of our B&B! We really enjoyed meeting your family and your awesome dog, Moby. Rohan sure enjoyed his visit as well :) He's a beautiful dog!

We're glad that you felt so welcome, and that our staff was helpful to you. We hope to have the pleasure of your company again very soon!

Warmest regards,
Tina & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Clean and comfy bedroom, very interesting building and decor and walking distance to restaurants/shops. Breakfast was fantastic also. Hosts were very friendly and accommodating with our early check in request.

Will return when we're in CDA again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rooseveltinn, Owner at The Roosevelt Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We're delighted to hear that your stay was so enjoyable. We are always happy to accomodate our guests with early check-in whenever possible and appreciate the advanced notice.

We look forward to your next visit!

Warmest Regards,
Tina & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brinnon, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The room was clean, quiet and beautifully appointed. The owner and staff were friendly, organized and every need was covered and then some (we had welcoming room surprises, turn down bed service with chocolates. All the directions, local information, history and every question we could throw at them. The breakfast was delicious, it included the best homemade granola & huckleberry scones, mixed fresh fruit, yogurt, waffles, cereal, tea, coffee, milk, 4 kinds of juices and other items on the buffet. It included made to order bacon and eggs one day and eggs Florentine the next, both served with cottage style potatoes. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.....prepare to be spoiled - they were awesome!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rooseveltinn, Owner at The Roosevelt Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
No Tina, YOUR Awesome!! Maybe all Tina's are awesome, haha!

We're so glad you were able to stay with us for your brother's wedding, and wish him and his bride many joyful years ahead. We hope you can come visit them again soon and enjoy another visit with us, at the Roosevelt.

P.S. Loved the thoughtful card! Thank you!

Tina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Wonderful people, wonderful setting, a glass of wine in the evening, followed by a pleasant breakfast in the morning.
Enjoy.
For my 14 year old son, it was his first experience at a bed and breakfast.
He is now hooked on the concept. The next evening we were in a hotel, but the following evening he enjoyed the only bed and breakfast in Biismarck, ND.
The Roosevelt Inn is now responsible for changing this young man's approach to travel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rooseveltinn, Owner at The Roosevelt Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Winning the next generation of bed and breakfast enthusiasts one at a time is our goal! We're so glad Jacob enjoyed his stay with us and has been converted to the greatness of B&B's. After "watching grass grow in Kansas", we hope that you will make your way through beautiful Coeur d' Alene again soon and that we'll have the great pleasure of hosting you again.

Happy travels,
Tina & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We travel for Ironman races every year, and usually rent condos or houses, so I was worried what we'd give up by not having our own place. What I didn't expect was how much we gained by staying with this family! The most gracious and accommodating hosts! The owners were out of town, and the daughters, Airwin and Lorean (excuse my spelling!) made us feel like family from the first moment. This was a great home base for the ironman. Walkable to everything for the race and super convenient to town. The rooms ranged in size from quite small to bigger suites, and the furnishings were antiquey and unique but its was all very comfortable and clean. The grounds were beautiful, and the outside hot tub was a treat. The food was great, from the full breakfast with eggs to order (the breakfast granola is homemade and addictive) to daily teatime with home-baked treats. Super filling pasta dinner the night before the race for a reasonable price. On race day they had breakfast out at four am, and the sisters tracked every racer all day and night. They stayed up and welcomed each one home with fresh baked pizza and a congratulations sign with their race times. It was like staying at your auntie's house. The main gathering areas are cozy, but accommodated our big group. Highly recommend this place and this family.

Room Tip: Rooms are all very different, and some share a bathroom, so make sure you know what you want for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rooseveltinn, Owner at The Roosevelt Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
We love Ironman! And we love Texans!! With the two combined, you just can't have a better time!

We had so much fun hosting your group and getting to know you all. We're glad that you felt like part of the family and enjoyed everything we have to offer at our Inn. If you don't make it back to Coeur d' Alene for another IronMan, we hope to see you for a relaxing visit to enjoy everything our beautiful area has to offer.

Arwen and Lorien are wonderful daughters, we are very blessed! I'm glad they took such great care of you all. They enjoyed spending that week with you!

Good luck on your next IronMan!
Tina & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Roosevelt Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Inn

Address: 105 Wallace Avenue, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Coeur d'Alene
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Coeur d'Alene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Roosevelt Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Inn with 15 rooms and suites all with queen or king beds and private baths. We have been described as a boutique hotel with the home comforts of a bed and breakfast. Our Gordon Ramsay designed menu will delight the pallette. Voted best breakfast several years running by Inn Traveler Magazine as well as best handicapped facility and romantic stay in the Northwest. We provide a lovely ball room on property as well as complimentary fitness facility at OZ fitness center just around the corner. Located just a few short blocks from the lake and all the waterfront activities and downtown dining makes The Roosevelt Inn an ideal location for visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Roosevelt Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Roosevelt Hotel Coeur d`Alene
The Roosevelt Inn Idaho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roosevelt Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.