We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Motel Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Coeur d'Alene
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flamingo Motel
Save
You added Flamingo Motel to your Saves list
718 East Sherman Avenue, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814-4147   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$10 Discount for Seniors
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Coeur d'Alene
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Motel Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

You expect theme rooms in an old motor court motel to be tacky. NOT HERE. Wonderful decor and comfortable beds. BJ the cat is a fun addition, although beware, he stays out late and wants to visit your room. PLUSH towels. We had the Flamingo Beach which has a nice separate "roomette" with extra sink and micro/fridge. Close to downtown and piers and water. Owner very friendly and helfpul as others have said. Oh, and they have Magic Fingers for the beds! We now have thoughts we will travel to CdA more often from Eugene.

Room Tip: We would definately pick the Beach room again. Corner away from road and near office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    43
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
43
113
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Enjoyed our stay immensely. Very clean, very comfortable. Lots of special touches, like plush towels, nice linens, decor and high quality fixtures. Owners very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again when in area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I was planning to stay at a big chain hotel when this little property's $100 per night rate caught my eye. And we were so glad we chose the Flamingo!
The rooms are decorated with care. Little touches like chocolates each day and plush towels made us feel special. The owner is delightful and is always willing to help.
Finally, you can't beat the location. A short walk takes you to the lake as well as downtown's shops and restaurants.
What a find!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

About 30 miles west of Spokane we decided to look for a place to stay in CdA. We looked at all of the chain hotels and stumbled upon The Flamingo. After a quick call, the friendly owners sold us on their last available room, Gone Fishin. Each room has its own unique, well appointed room. Besides having all of the comforts of home, this motel is located right in the middle of town. We walked to have dinner at Crickets and enjoyed an amazing band at the Moose Lounge (all on a Monday night!!!). This mom and pop motel has been completely renovated by the owner (a contractor) and they have done a fantastic job with decorating and have not overlooked any detail. The next time we're in CdA we will definitely stay at the Flamingo.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

We picked the Flamingo Motel strictly by chance as we cruised down Sherman Blvd. What a lucky chance it was. This small motel features cozy one of a kind rooms and old-time hospitality. We'll certainly stay here again when we return to Coeur d'Alene!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

This was our second visit to The Flamingo Motel-- the first time, taking our daughter out to college in Portland , OR-- this time to attend her college graduation. We had requested the same suite, one with a cabin theme. The heat wasn't working quite right, so Art, the very personable owner, gave us an even better suite- Route 66. We had my 83 year old mother with us and she was thrilled , to say the least, with the place! You will not find a better deal- ANYWHERE!!!!! The place is spotless, the towels are super thick, the decor is beautiful and it is HUGE! Art, the owner, could not be more accommodating, he even provided us with a very good bottle of wine and beautiful glasses. Over and above service! This place is not to be missed if your travels take you near Coeur d' Alene.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stopped at the Flamingo on an absolute whim and ending up staying two nights in the Cowboy Room. I knew I was going to be happy when I met Art, the owner, and BJ, the cat - and they both extended great hospitality throughout the stay. My wife and I and two teen age girls were comfortable - the rooms were inviting and clean, and the whole experience harkened back to yesteryear where special care and pride is taken in good service. The location as well cannot be beat - within walking distance of downtown and Tubbs Hill and all the good stuff. Highly recommended.

Caveat: This is not the Ritz. If you're looking for a fancy place to stay, this is not it. This is a place of simpler times - a 'motel' in the truest sense of the word. Clean. Comfortable. Down-home goodness.

Plus - for a mere quarter - you get 15 minutes of Magic Fingers. You may not know what this is, especially if you were born after 1970, but I promise you this: bliss. Crazy good. Great place to stay.

Thanks Art and BJ!

Room Tip: Cowboy room, pilgrim.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flamingo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Motel

Address: 718 East Sherman Avenue, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814-4147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Coeur d'Alene
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#6 Family Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#7 Business Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a B&B without the breakfast, all rooms have been remodeled with uniquely different themes. Eight one bed, three two beds & two are 2-bedroom suites (one with a full kitchen). Rooms are all street level with parking in front of each room. Situated within the seven blocks of "old downtown" Coeur d'Alene beside the Lake, all beaches, restaurants & art galleries are within walking and the street fairs, parades, marathons and classic car shows start right out front. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel Coeur d Alene
Flamingo Motel Coeur d Alene
Flamingo Motel Idaho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.