We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greenbriar Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Greenbriar Inn to your Saves list
Greenbriar Inn
315 E. Wallace Ave., Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Coeur d'Alene B&B and Inns
Liberty Lake, Washington
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“It was a nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

The antique furniture was really neat. I loved that they had a common room to eat your breakfast and have a cup of coffee. As far as B & B's go they don't pamper you the next morning with great food and service. You go into the common room grab your breakfast out of the fridge, make your own coffee. The food was good and it was quiet.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    10
    1
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
21
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed in the Greenbriar Inn on a brief trip to Coeur d'Alene. The room was small which you might expect in a bed and breakfast. The bath was extremely small, but really the best part of the room. The mattress must have been left over from the 1950s and very uncomfortable. The biggest disappointment was the Inn has what others have said is a wonderful restaurant, so I expected a great breakfast. No so. When we checked in they showed us the frig and said 'here is your breakfast for tomorrow'. Nice bowl of fresh berries, but a small cold muffin and a slice of pound cake from Sam's. No coffee or milk. There was small boxes of cereal for the taking. Very strange for an Inn and strange for a 'gourmet' restaurant.

Room Tip: Choose your room carefully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

The cook was super fast making the best omelette And crab Benedict we have ever tasted! Our waitress was so kind and definitely kept up on our drink refills. We over-stuffed ourselves and it was worth it! Great experience and I will most definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

My significant other and I enjoyed lovely evening at the Greenbriar Inn Restaurant where we had Tapas, which are similar to an appetizer with a whole list of different foods to try. The homemade meatballs in a bath of huckleberry barbecue sauce was delicious and went well with the glass of wine that joined us for dinner.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathdrum, ID
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We were staying at the Greenbriar Inn and ate in the restaurant the first night. They offer many fun Tapas and also a regular dinner menu. Because we enjoyed the food and live music, we walked downstairs to dinner the next evening. This time we ate outside on the deck. We checked out on Sunday, but not until we enjoyed their Sunday Brunch. We will return, perhaps bringing some friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

The good...
This was our first visit to the Greenbriar Inn. We arrived three hours ahead of check-in time yet the staff graciously accommodated us. We stayed in room #4 which is located on the top floor in the very front of the house. The room was very quaint, yet charming, which is to be expected in a home of it's era.
We booked our stay under the fall promotion which included a bottle of wine for the room. We were offered a choice of cabernet, merlot or chardonnay. We chose the chardonnay and were pleasantly surprised to receive a bottle of Canyon Road, rather than the usual private-label salad dressing you often get in the complimentary category.
The offer also included a credit towards dinner in the Tapas restaurant and the food was outstanding. Just be forewarned that the serving sizes are much larger than you typically associate with the tapas style. There was also live entertainment provided in the outdoor gazebo that added considerably to the ambiance. And, of course, the fantastic selection of martinis didn't hurt. There was a large party of twenty or so that arrived toward the middle of our meal but the quality of the service didn't falter -- kudos to the staff.
The not-so-good...
We both felt the bed linens were a bit spartan and in need of some more pillows. Or at least a couple of pillows that couldn't easily be slid under a door.
Continental breakfast is included with the room and in the morning is placed in a refrigerator located in the lounge on your floor. Each breakfast is labeled with a room number. When we retrieved ours, we found a plate with nothing more than two mini-bagels, one full slice of coffee cake, a few smaller broken pieces of coffee cake and a half of one slice of orange as a garnish. There was also a carafe of milk and a carafe of orange juice in the refrigerator. There was plenty of milk but only about 1/3 of a glass of OJ left. After careful consideration, we've narrowed it down to 2 possibilities as to why the breakfast was so bad. The first possibility is that the proprietor, a highly-acclaimed caterer, really just doesn't get the whole breakfast thing. The second, and the one we're running with, is that one or more of the other guests poached our food. While we certainly can't hold the staff accountable for food-pilfering guests, we will definitely mark them down a few points for being nowhere to be found in the morning. Not a soul. What might have been a small inconvenience if we could find someone to remedy the situation was a real bummer. To be fair, we probably could have made more of an effort to find someone; maybe by calling the Inn's main number, etc. But, the whole idea of visiting a B&B in the first place is to avoid making efforts. So, we loaded up the car and headed a few blocks down the street for an excellent breakfast and a great view of the lake at the Dockside Cafe located in the Coeur D'Alene Resort.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitality9660, Owner at Greenbriar Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thankyou for taking the time to review our property. Naturally, we are pleased with what you found to be good about us. But we take very seriously any negative comments made to us personally or online. Upoon investigation, I would like to assure you that we have remedied what we are able to remedy with regards to bedding. With regards to the food offered, I would have to agree that this is not typical of our service. However, in addition to placing pastries for the AM in guest rooms from now on, we will be offering whole fruit as well as cut fruit for our guests, and frozen entrees for those that want proteins in the AM. Overall, we get many positive reviews, and we are genuinely sorry for any lack on our part. As to a lack of personnell here, I cannot say. Generally we have an abundance of staff. Perhaps someone went to the store for supplies and missed you. But, thankyou again. We always strive for the best possible experience for our guests. Sincerely, Kris McIlvenna and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We loved coming to this B&B/Tapas restaurant! I was here on business and stayed over the weekend and my wife was able to be with me. Coeur d'Alene is a wonderful place in the summer anyhow and this place is a real sleeper. We stayed upstairs in room 5. It was very comfortable and quiet with a kitchen available upstairs as well. But the real find of this place is the tapas restaurant downstairs. In particular we had dinner in the bar (small bar - five seats, I think) but do yourself a favor and spend some time with Michael I., the bartender and creative spirit. We had a blast exploring their amazing creative martinis along with excellent dinners; fresh salmon and steak. Michael was a wealth of information and a very enjoyable host. He is a true mixologist and is creating his own bitters and syrups. There was nothing in this bar that was canned or frozen. It was homemade and what a difference it made. There was a real creative use of herbs as well as different combinations you would not expect. Try the Basil Briar, with vodka, basil, fennel, and lemon. Or the Lewis and Clark with gin, lemon, cucumber, and rosemary. It took drinks to a whole new level and we really had fun. I look forward to coming back. It was a very charming space and we look forward to coming back. One small tip would be for the room to have some added hooks to hang towels to dry. Minor, minor complaint. Marc B.

Room Tip: There are three floors and we were on the top floor and heard no noise around us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greenbriar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenbriar Inn

Address: 315 E. Wallace Ave., Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814
Location: United States > Idaho > Coeur d'Alene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Coeur d'Alene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic 1908 Greenbriar Inn is located four blocks from downtown, the beach and the Lake. We have five guest rooms with private baths and queen beds. The Inn features a restaurant: 315 Martinis and Tapas, which is open five days a week, from 3:15 to close. We offer a continental breakfast to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Greenbriar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenbriar Hotel Coeur d`Alene
Greenbriar Inn Idaho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenbriar Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.