We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome family rafting trip in Hell's Canyon Snake River” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ROW Adventure Center

ROW Adventure Center
202 E Sherman Avenue, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814
208.770.2517
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 25 Activities in Coeur d'Alene
Type: Tours, Adventure
Attraction details
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Awesome family rafting trip in Hell's Canyon Snake River”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a great trip with Row Adventures on the Snake River through Hell's Canyon. The best part of the trip? Our AWESOME guides! Jess, Robin, Seamus, Neil, and Piero made this trip relaxing, invigorating, educational, inspiring, and fun for everyone! And, their sun up to sundown work made this the easiest camping trip we've ever been on.

They cooked gourmet breakfasts in camp (eggs benedict, made-to-order omelettes, pancakes, and more), delicious lunches on the beach (fajitas, sandwich bar, etc.), and sumptuous dinners at camp (prime rib, lasagna, cookies, chocolate cake, etc.). They sent a boat downriver each morning to set up camp for us (including all our tents, a kitchen area, and tables and chairs for appetizers and drinks) before we arrived. They rowed those who didn't want to paddle in their spacious, new boats and taught newbies how to paddle and row the big boats. They also had inflatable kayaks to try out. They shared stories of past adventures and history of the area and the natural beauty. They entertained us all in the evenings. And, they brought together a group of adults and teenagers, many of whom had never met, into a cohesive, fun group.

The dry climate in Hell's Canyon made camping outside possible, for those who want to sleep under the stars, and the cool river made it easy to stay comfortable all day. Winding through beautiful rock formations, packed with wildlife, and filled with rapids, this area was really interesting. We made daily stops for a hike, a visit to a riverside waterfall, a historical ranch, or just a secluded sandy beach.

This was a great trip for families and teens, and would be an awesome trip with just adult friends. There's definitely something for everyone on the trip, either joining in the fun in the evenings and hiking around the area and learning about the nature and history, or just relaxing with a beer after a day on the sunny river.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROWadventure, Manager at ROW Adventure Center, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
What a fun review--and GREAT photos! Your testimony makes us want to go enjoy sun, sand, gourmet food, and exciting rapids right this minute. Thank you for sharing your experience...we hope you'll join us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Middle Fork of Salmon River...6 day rafting trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 3 (one son 9 yrs old) had an AMAZING time on the middle fork of the salmon. Our guides were fun, knowledgable and professional. We met many wonderful new friends and we are certain we'll stay connected. This is an awesome trip for anyone with a sense of adventure and anyone who loves being on a beautiful remote river. The fishing was great, white water was awesome but not scary. Our family loved this trip and ROW and hope to travel with them again!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best money spent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We went on a family trip on the Clark Fork! It's was fun and our guide Mo was amazing! I will be doing it again next summer

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROWadventure, Manager at ROW Adventure Center, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thanks for joining us on the Clark Fork! We're ecstatic that you had a good time...see you next summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“you're going to get wet.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I took the 2 hour paddle board class with some friends. We had a lot of fun. Thank you. it's quite the workout on choppy water trying to stay on the board.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROWadventure, Manager at ROW Adventure Center, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thanks for joining us, Ron! SUP boarding is definitely a workout...even for those who have done it for years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“THIS IS A MUST! What an experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Have you ever had one of those days when words just don't do it justice? When everything goes so well that it's hard to believe, let alone explain? Well we had one of those days on this rafting adventure - it was AMAZING!
We did a day trip on the Clark Fork River - paddle - 7 of us in a raft (4 adults - 3 kids). We were greeted by a VERY friendly guide (his name was Mo) and were made to feel right at home. The guides were pleasant - well spoken - very patient - extremely friendly - knowledgable - and MADE OUR TRIP!
The river was warm - the rapids were great - the kids loved it (they especially loved our guide - Elliot - who was full of fun facts and information about the area). Lunch was delicious and well put together - we were able to do some cliff jumping (thanks to Jake - the guide with extreme patience & who can talk anyone off a cliff) and spent a great deal of time in the water.

Anyway - I am rambling and I still will not do this excursion justice. You MUST try it - and if you are lucky - you will have Jake, Elliot and Mo guide you down the river!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROWadventure, Manager at ROW Adventure Center, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
What a fabulous review! We're so glad that you had a blast with our Clark Fork crew. Awesome guides are a big part of the ROW difference! Thanks for your kind words, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ROW Adventure Center also viewed

 

Been to ROW Adventure Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ROW Adventure Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.