We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little, old school motel in a quirky neighborhood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of State Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Coeur d'Alene
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
State Motel
Save
You added State Motel to your Saves list
1314 E Sherman Ave, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Coeur d'Alene
Moscow, Idaho
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great little, old school motel in a quirky neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

I've lived in North Idaho long enough to witness her demise, and Coeur d'Alene was the first to fall: traffic, malls, chain stores and corporate motels....

But drive a couple blocks East of the crowds and you can still glimpse her former, small-town uniqueness. The neighborhood also boasts Coeur d'A's coolest, tastiest pub-restaurant: the Moon Time, and the State is just a block or two down the street.

The State's owner-manager reminded me of why nearly thirty years ago I fled the city and first fell in love with and settled Northern Idaho, and though I'm no doubt a part of the trend that has nearly loved her to death, it's good to know there are still some real people up here, offering real service and attention.

So, it's small, it's old, and it's funky, and if you want sterile and heartless, C d'A can certainly serve up a heapin' helpin' of chain alternatives, but if you want a taste of the Idaho you actually left home to see, check out the State.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ronan, Montana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Came to Coeur d'Alene for school & stayed at this motel off & on over 6 weeks. Ideal for this student! Clean, well-kept rooms w/ fridge & microwave in each one, comfortable beds, nice towels! Ethernet & wireless. I never used the TVs. Motel rules favor single occupants, and peace and quiet. Very reasonable rates. Manager is onsite every day and keeps a close eye on the premises.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent City, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Needed a place to crash and shower at the end of a 13 hour drive. This was it. The place was clean and perfect for my wallet. The manager was great!
High speed internet, microwave, frig, and cable.....

Going back in August!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

We had to make an unexpected trip to Coeur d'Alene and were on a tight budget. It's an old style motel but our room was clean. The owner was very friendly and gave us a good rate as well as extra towels.
I would recommend this motel to travelers who just want a clean place to rest and will be out doing things all day. This is not a lounging around-type of motel. The location is close to downtown (within walking distance)and Rogers Ice Cream shop is right next door.
Highly recommend if you are on a tight budget and are most concerned with a place to lay your head.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to State Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Motel

Address: 1314 E Sherman Ave, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814
Location: United States > Idaho > Coeur d'Alene
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Coeur d'Alene
Number of rooms: 63
Also Known As:
State Hotel Coeur d`Alene
State Motel Idaho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage State Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.