We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scratch this one from your list.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Scratch Restaurant & Lounge

Scratch Restaurant & Lounge
501 Sherman Ave, Coeur d'Alene, ID 99201
(208)930-4762
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Scratch Restaurant & Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 209 Restaurants in Coeur d'Alene
Price range: $0 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Sargent, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Scratch this one from your list.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

My wife and I started with some nice wine and their regularly featured Crab Chowder. It was a decent potato soup, but certainly not crab chowder. Next was Caesar salad (with walnuts?). It had plenty of Parmesan, however very scant dressing, as in - nonexistent. Next, we moved on feeling duped by the recommending motel owner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    41
    19
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really Tasty Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We had the halibut special, the apple and spinach salad and the crab bisque. All were seasoned to perfection and we were not left with what I call 'restaurant mouth' (an aftertaste and thirst from over-seasoned food)

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wish we could have tried it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We called ahead of time to find out if we needed a reservation, and were told we did not, I asked what time they closed etc.. let her know we were on our way. We headed to the restaurant, it was probably 15 minutes after making the call when we walked in, the waitress said they were closing, I explained that I had just called, and was told they would be open for at least another hour, and that we didn't need to make reservations. The waitress did not care. She said, "Oh, I am sorry you were told wrong, we are closing now"
I have never been back!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Always Great Fresh Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Scratch always delivers great, fresh food no matter the season. As residents of CdA, we have found that many downtown restaurants are not worth visiting in the winter. Scratch seems to appreciate the fact that people who live here like good food as much as the summer tourists. My husband and I can always count on Scratch for great, fresh food and gracious service. Salmon, duck, burgers and more will make your tastebuds burst with joy! Thank you, Scratch!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“chef Josh is the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

They catered our wedding in October and went out of their way to do extra! Josh is the best, guess that is y he has won a few awards.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scratch Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Coeur d'Alene, ID
 

Been to Scratch Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scratch Restaurant & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.