We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Scratch Restaurant & Lounge

Scratch Restaurant & Lounge
501 Sherman Ave, Coeur d'Alene, ID 99201
(208)930-4762
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Scratch Restaurant & Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 208 Restaurants in Coeur d'Alene
Price range: $0 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The service was super slow. Wait staff told us they were super busy. First forgot to give us napkin with silverware; specials were not announced; wait time for food, after order, was way too long. I ordered the seared tuna and it came either over-seared, it looked almost like fried - tasted like fried too! Noise level was very high - it was very hard to have decent conversation. Busyness is not an excuse for lack of good service and good food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    41
    19
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Battleford, Canada
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Inside or out: both great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stopped in on July 4 and had a marvellous lunch outside served by a charming and friendly server who made sure she met our every need.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good but Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Enjoyed a dinner outside on a beautiful summer evening. The cheese plate was well done, but I wish it had more varieties of cheese and less fruit. Wine selection was more unique than many other restaurants in the region. However, the server didn't follow common serving etiquette: show the bottle prior to opening, allow someone to taste the wine prior to pouring, fresh glasses with the second bottle, etc. I had the tri tip steak which was quite good, but doesn't stand out from others I have had (same for the potatoes).

This is a good restaurant, but ordinary and probably forgettable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spokane
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Elegantly served -”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I watch my money. Lunch at Scratch ran $10 not including tip. Not going out much, this was affordable. I did only order from the starter menu aka appetizers, however, I cannot imagine following the warm pita and hummus with a meal. If the menu offers hummus - I'm in. This appetizer required a partner to share with, but mine was observing the Paleo diet plan, so I was on my own. I took home leftovers. My Paleo friend had a house salad with chicken and asked for substitutions to fulfill her requirements. These were met graciously. Service was great. Nice location. I would visit again when the weather cools and try their soups.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Idaho
1 review
“Awesome find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My husband and I discovered Scratch a few months ago while we were enjoying a stroll downtown CDA. The atmosphere was nice, seating was cozy, service was great and loved the meal. Both of our meals pleased our pallets. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scratch Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Coeur d'Alene, ID
 

Been to Scratch Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scratch Restaurant & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.