We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably poor service! Do not stay...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Coeur d'Alene Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Coeur d'Alene Resort to your Saves list
The Coeur d'Alene Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   115 South 2nd Street, PO Box 7200, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Coeur d'Alene
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unbelievably poor service! Do not stay...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

Unbelievably poor service! Do not stay here

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    147
    77
    50
    49
See reviews for
148
261
15
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

Huge resort on Lake Coeur d'Alene. We stayed there for the Ford Ironman Triathlon. Our room was a suite overlooking the water and had plenty of room. We made up the sofa as a daybed for my youngest and he loved sleeping there. All aspects of the hotel service were quick and efficient. The restaurants are what I would expect from a big resort - OK but nothing I would visit if I was a local. Both an indoor and outdoor pool are a huge plus if you have kids. The fitness room is better than most. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

I traveled with family and friends to Coeur d' Alene for an event and selected this hotel based on location.

The resort is not world class by any means. It is nice but a lot of hotels are nice and this place is not special or nicer in any way. Its website is a huge oversell and over-promise.

The service is poor at the hotel and in the restaurants.

The room was the biggest let down. It was small. Loud. You could hear everything, especially the people in the indoor pool all hours of the day and night. And the room was hot and humid -- no way to control temperature in the room. Not sure what purpose the thermostat served other than decoration.

I asked the front desk staff several time for a room change but they were unable to accommodate. I asked to speak with the manager several times and EVERY TIME he was not available. Even at checkout. By the end of our stay, I started to think the manager didn't exist.

We had one member of our group stay at the Ameritell Inn less than one mile away for a fraction of the price and, in my opinion, a MUCH better deal.

I'm embarrassed to have paid as much as I did for such substandard accommodations and I feel taken advantage of.

I've even emailed the resort and haven't gotten a response. I guess their customer service reps must be somewhere with the manager.

There is a positive. The location is great for walking/dining/shopping. So, if that's all that's important to you then you will like this motel… I mean resort. If you respect your hard-earned money go elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

The hotel is directly on the Lake and next to Tubbs Hill which is the biggest plus point.
It is directly on the main 2 streets where a lot of the hotels/bars are located.
We stayed on July 4th weekend and the fireworks are on the lake about 500 yards from the hotel and were fantastic.
The facility is beautiful and well maintained. We had a corner room on the 5th floor overlooking both the Marina and Tubbs Hill with an awesome view. The room itself was gorgeous with a split level design. The King bed was up top and 2 steps down to the sitting area with a sofa which was the size of a twin bed and comfortable sleeping for one child.
We did request an Air Matress which was fine. (for an extra$15 per night)
Balcony faced the lake and was great.

The Hotel checkin staff sucks. They are rude, disorganized, and somewhat sleazy.
I agree wholeheartedly with a lot of reviews where they try to sneak in charges or give you wrong / misleading information. Our room (though we were paying for 2 adults 2 children) came with only 2 adult entrees for breakfast. Apparently they are supposed to give you some type of coupons. They never did. Trying to straighten it out took forever. Even then they were very cheap on doing it ( for example charging $4 for a juice as an extra while coffee was included.)

The restaurant inside (DockSide) provided good food and service. I thought prices were reasonable for such a restaurant.
We did not use the pool and spa, though the facility has one.
The property is well maintained. Parking is $17 per day and they do not tell you about it upfront.

One thing they did not tell us, but we discovered by reading some materials is that the hotel does have a boat ride (free) to their private beach located at the Golf course. Its a nice 10 minute boat ride that is worth doing. Both the boat taxi captains were extremely friendly.

Tubbs hill directly across the hotel is a nice 2 mile hiking experience but is poorly marked on the trails for firstimers.

In a nutshell
The front staff needs an overhaul. They are ruining the experience of staying there. They need hospitality training. They look like they may be friends/relatives of the developers and not true professionals. They are ruining the overall experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

First of all, in room coffee isn't complimentary. Secondly, if you don't want alcohol in the pre-filled refrigerator, they'll charge you a $10.00 fee just to take it away. AND if you want to check out early, even if you didn't pre-pay for your reservation, they charge you a $75.00 early check out fee. All of this at a hotel that charges premium for their rooms. Service was mediocre. Wouldn't stay here again at this price with this service and nonsense.

Oh, and be careful at the spa. I got charged $245.00 for a 50 min. massage. Fortunately, somene at the spa caught their mistake and called to let me know they credited my visa...it was only $145.00.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

Traveled with a large(30) golf group, so spent most of the days away from the hotel. rooms were clean and service excellent. Price very good.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lewiston idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

We went for a special occasion. Every room was over priced we thought, but it was a special occassion and we never do "that sort of thing" so we justified it that way.
But the noise level for that priced room was rediculous.
I won't recomment it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Coeur d'Alene Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coeur d'Alene Resort

Address: 115 South 2nd Street, PO Box 7200, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814
Location: United States > Idaho > Coeur d'Alene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#5 Business Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
#6 Romantic Hotel in Coeur d'Alene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coeur d'Alene Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultimately there is something magical about a visit to The Coeur d'Alene... With idyllic landscape, year-round activities, and its spectacular setting at the shore of one of America's most beautiful lakes, it is no wonder that Coeur d'Alene has been christened the "Playground of the Northwest". We have mastered the art of relaxation. With luxurious accommodations, rejuvenating spa treatments, sumptuous cuisine, and breathtaking holiday displays, this four-star resort continues to be the destination of choice for discerning travelers worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Coeur d'Alene Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coeur d`Alene Hotel Coeur d`Alene
The Coeur d Alene Resort Coeur d Alene
The Coeur D'Alene Resort Idaho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coeur d'Alene Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.