We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stop on our road trip.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Caporal

El Caporal
610 North Overland Ave, Burley, ID 83318
208-678-2117
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Burley
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stop on our road trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We were driving home from Sun Valley and stopped to get gasoline and lunch in Burley. On a whim we stopped at El Caporal. It didn't look like much on the outside, but there were several (local license plated) cars outside so we gave it a go. Very glad we did and we will return if we are in the area. Staff was friendly and attentive, place was spotless, food was delicious. Really good mexican food. I had the tacos with beef. Excellent. Not yucky chain-tasting Mexican. But inexpensive. The places was busy, but we were well taken care of.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    20
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
idaho
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Try it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We love this place, great family owned restaurant in Burley. Clean, and yummy too!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good selection & great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We came in late and the wait staff did not rush us or make us feel that we needed to hurry out. They let us stay as late as we wanted and provided great service

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Though there is nothing wrong with the outside appearance, it does not beckon you inside. The inside is very well done without the kitchy South of the Border decor. The service is prompt and friendly and the food is much better than the normal Mexican fare.

This might be the best restaurant in Burley. Worth a stop.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, WA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Quality Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We have eaten at this restaurant a number of times en route from Washington State to Wyoming because we've always been very satisfied with the food and service. My wife and I are fans of Mexican food and we rate the El Caporal well above the Tex-Mex fare you find too often at Mexican restaurants. The last time we ate there I had enchiladas with mole sauce. It was very good. The only disappointing thing I can think of is that they don't have any kind of soup on the menu.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Caporal also viewed

 

Been to El Caporal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Caporal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.