We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and clean motel in Buhl, ID” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oregon Trail Motel

Save Saved
You added Oregon Trail Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oregon Trail Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   510 Broadway Avenue South, Buhl, ID 83316   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Buhl
Ridgefield, Washington
1 review
“Comfortable and clean motel in Buhl, ID”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I was in Buhl for less than a day but this was a comfortable and clean place to stay. Price was fair and a big plus is for me to feel safe since I was traveling alone. We had other family staying there too. My aunt and uncle were in the older part that may not have been as updated as the section I was in. There was some concern over the price they were charged too but I didn't hear if that was resolved. Front desk was helpful and friendly. Cute dog to pet. I left too early the next morning so didn't use the breakfast bar since it wasn't open.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    12
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
21
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

If you're in the Twin Falls, Idaho area and you want the best; stay here, Beautifully appointed rooms, friendly desk and only 15 minutes west of Twin Falls ~ worth the drive. All the amenties (except Flat HD TV ) Immaculate, exceptional bed, furniture, cable, free high speed WIFI, microwave, mini fridge, fresh and inviting. Exceptional value. No pool, but hey it's November.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is a rare find for a "mom n pop" motel.

Clean, friendly, reasonable price, nice breakfast bar. It's like saying with a good friend.

The owner, Rick McClain, is a real "trip"....in the best way !!! Fun to be around.

Rooms are spotless with fridge, microwave and wifi.

You won't regret staying here.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We loved our stay here! The managment was very experienced. He has managed hotels all over the world. Also his dog is super adorable. He had several different kinds of bread for breakfast from a local bakery, and fancy tea. The rooms were cute, quiet, and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

What a great motel! All the amenities of a chain motel at a fraction of the cost. Room is updated, clean and very comfortable. Rick is a great host/owner. Within walking distance of downtown Buhl and lots of good eating places. You are able to drive up and park right in front of your room so unpacking and repacking is a breeze. The rooms have fridges, microwaves and plenty of places to sit. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I was on a 17 state motorcycle trip out west and I picked this motel because it was not a chain property. Before I left on my trip I had make reservations for 2 nights here and I reseached it on this site. This motel lived up to the good reviews it got. My room was very nice and cozy and clean. They also had what they called a small Trail breakfast in the morning in the motel office. The breakfast consisted of coffee, tea, toast, bagels, oatmeal and some danish. It was also a gathering place to talk with other people who stayed there. The motel was motorcycle friendly and let me park my motorcycle under cover by the office everynight I was there. Then my motorcycle broke down and I had to spent another night there. They were full for that night, but they let stay in one unit behind the motel that was still being remodeled. The room was still very nice on the inside, it just needed a paint job on the outside. Another nice about this motel is that restaurants were within walking distance, but most were all Mexican, sorry to say, but they had Angry Orchard cider on tap and that is my drink. The only negative thing for this motel was parking lot not paved.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

+ Very good price quality relation! Super friendly welcome at reception, with extensive explanation on what to see in Twin falls and where to eat. Room is decent, clean with all as expected. Breakfast is very basic, but gets you on the road.
- Very much noise of the airco, also from the airco of neighbours and from the refrigerator. On the other hand, glad we had both!
Tip: Twin falls; go see the view on canyon with snake river and the shoshone falls. Eating at Elevation 486 should be very good!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oregon Trail Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oregon Trail Motel

Address: 510 Broadway Avenue South, Buhl, ID 83316
Location: United States > Idaho > Buhl
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Buhl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Oregon Trail Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Oregon Trail Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oregon Trail Motel Buhl, Idaho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oregon Trail Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.