We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice - met all our expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oregon Trail Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Oregon Trail Motel to your Saves list
Oregon Trail Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   510 Broadway Avenue South, Buhl, ID 83316   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buhl
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great choice - met all our expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

So glad we decided to go with The Oregon Trail Motel when breaking up our drive between Ketchum & Hell's Canyon. Our room was really clean & spacious. We had 2 extremely comfortable queen size beds with nice linens, new carpeting, super cool fridge & a.c.. Even the sample bathroom amenities were something special. Rick was the nicest guy - very friendly & helpful. His side-kick, Wilson, is a bulldog with quite a lot of character! While my husband & I travel often, this is actually the first review we've ever taken the time to post. Doing our homework prior to the trip, we kept noticing how pleased other guests had been with this place. Now we can appreciate why. Considering its location, it was ideal for checking out Shoshone Falls & Evel Knievel's jump site for his attempt across the Snake River, & then relaxing at Miracle Hot Springs later that evening. Our breakfast, which was included with the room's affordable cost, was just what we needed to get the day started. The made from scratch blueberry muffins were delicious. Being a tea drinker, myself, the special teas - so many wonderful flavors to choose from created by "The Republic of Tea", in addition to coffee for my husband, was much appreciated. An assortment of many other breakfast items was also available. While the motel is located on Buhl's main street - which can be somewhat busy during daytime hours - the traffic was very light, practically unnoticeable by the time we were ready to turn in (around 9:30-10 PM) for the night. Very glad we followed the favorable recommendations already posted & stayed at Rick's place. If we ever make it back to this part of Idaho, we're looking forward to spending more time at The Oregon Trail.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a swimming pool - check out Miracle Hot Springs - just minutes away with 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
23
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orem, Utah
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were drawn to this motel because of the photos on the website and how much the welcomed travelers with pets. The rooms are exactly as pictured on their website, and very,very clean. We stayed three nights with our dog Luna. Several fast food and local restaurants nearby. Excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The Oregon Trail Inn had great reviews on line, so I decided to stay there, during my Sons Basketball Tournament, and they were right on! Clean & Comfertable room! It was the best Motel I have stayed for the price! It was so good, I stayed again a week later, while we had another bball tourney in Twin Falls, driving an extra few miles to Buhl, was worth it! We will return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had to make a slight detour off our route to get here but we were glad we did. Quiet and comfortable! Very reasonable price for a one night stay. We were able to get a good Internet connection over their wifi. The staff was VERY helpful, gave a good dinner recommendation at Girabaldi's, and travel sightseeing info. They even helped us avoid a speed trap. Best part of the breakfast were the local muffins.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baker City, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

this place has thought of all of them. Great beds in clean, affordable rooms, coffee and special breakfast items in the office---a terrific package. Hope you find them and ask about nearby La Plaza Restaurant if you're a fan of quality Mexican food with a terrific story.

Room Tip: We were traveling with pets. Room 26 was especially assigned as it had a bit more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Our daughter and son-in-law had stayed at the Oregon Trail Inn before, so they booked rooms for us (and themselves) on a recent road trip to the Buhl area. We were very pleased with the cleanliness and comfort of the rooms, as well as the extremely reasonable price. A great value! We also appreciated the breakfast items in the morning (although I don't eat wheat, my hubby loved the coffeecake) as well as the restaurant recommendations.

If we find ourselves in Buhl again (and we hope that we do!) the Oregon Trail will be our motel of choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Many Thanks to Rick and his staff for wonderful stay both in November 2012 and again in April 2013. Our stop in Buhl and especially at the Oregon Trail Inn was so refreshing , both physically and mentally. Thanks to Rick we met Lupe @ La Plaza for great Mexican food and hospitality and when we had a flat to be repaired the guys at Les Swab came to the rescue. They were also recommended by Rick. His inn is everything one needs after hours on the road.
See you next year!!!!
V & L
Kamloops B.C.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oregon Trail Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oregon Trail Motel

Address: 510 Broadway Avenue South, Buhl, ID 83316
Location: United States > Idaho > Buhl
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buhl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Oregon Trail Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oregon Trail Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oregon Trail Motel Buhl, Idaho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oregon Trail Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.