We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bruneau Dunes State Park

Bruneau Dunes State Park
Highway 78 (off State Highway 51), Bruneau, ID
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Bruneau
Activities: Walking
Attraction details
Everett, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was my first desert camping experience and it was wonderful! I am accustomed to camping in Washington State where there is lots of privacy at campsites due to all the trees and brush so I felt a bit exposed at first. This campground is wide open. But it was so beautiful I settled right in.
The ranger was friendly and patiently answered our questions. Bathrooms and showers were clean and comfortable.
The lake and dunes were interesting! It was cloudy so we did not visit the observatory.
There is a small store at the vistor center that carries camping basics.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    18
    5
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
89 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Astronomer and photographers paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Overall the park may not be much to look at but definitely worth the time. Climbing the dunes is a great workout and great way to look out at the surrounding area. If you are into stargazing this place is for you. At night it gets completely dark and the observatory is great. I'm into photography and if you want photos of the night sky this place is perfect!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“climb to top for great break on a road trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Beautiful! We detoured off the highway on a whim, and were really happy we stopped. We (child/teens/adult) climbed to the top, rolled down, climbed again. We watched sunset from the top as the coyotes howled in the distance. Looked like a nice place to camp for a night (not a lot of trees). As we left at dark, many cars were arriving for observatory show. Small set of dunes, but accessible, quiet, lovely, fun.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“ok to stop by on the way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Bruneau Dunes state park has a few sand dunes located in a depression in the Snake River Valley. The landscape is one of stark desert look, and the tall dunes with their two small lakes offer a subtle charm. Don't expect brightly colored sands, everything is shades of grey and has that dusty sun-baked quality. Two campgrounds are on site, plus there is an observatory for star gazers to take advantage of the clear desert skies. I would say don't make this a featured stop to specifically drive to, but if you are passing by on I-84 or are in the area it is worthwhile dropping by. Entrance fee is $5.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great detour!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Decided to stop on the way home from Twin Falls. The dunes are literally mountains of sand that should be seen at least once in a lifetime! There is an observatory that does night sky viewing. Wish I would have planned ahead to camp and stay for the comet viewing. Plan to watch the sunset from the top!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bruneau Dunes State Park also viewed

 

Been to Bruneau Dunes State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bruneau Dunes State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.