We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Modern Hotel and Bar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Modern Hotel and Bar to your Saves list
Modern Hotel and Bar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1314 Grove Street, Boise, ID 83702   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
Roscoe, IL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I had business in Boise and stumbled upon the Modern Hotel in my search for a hotel prior to getting to Boise. I was traveling alone and was a bit worried about the safety of the area and security of the hotel--but the minute I arrived all my fears were gone. The Modern has a hipster look to it and is in a very quiet area of downtown. It is less than a 5 mile drive to the airport (which was super easy to navigate) and also close to Boise State and the Capital. Some of the rooms are open to the outside and some open to a hallway. I happened to be in the hallway area but would have felt safe either way. The room had a minimalist look to it and was very clean. The shower was amazing with a raindrop shower head coming from the ceiling and Aveda products to boot! As mentioned on previous reviews the sink design does kind of drain weird but was not a big deal. They offer a complimentary breakfast which was just right--very good granola, yogurt, bagels and delicious fresh squeezed orange juice. I am not a big juice fan and I loved it! I did not have a drink or eat at the bar but it looked great and their outside area complete with rock with fire coming out of them looked like a perfect place to have a drink and relax. It was a great trip to the Modern Hotel and Boise!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    124
    38
    13
    11
See reviews for
58
141
38
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vincennes, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Modern was super clean, efficient, conveniently located, easy parking (with no fee), and the staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. It's been years since we stayed at a motel where our door went to the outside, so after some mild mental adjustment, it was not a big deal for us.
Remember, it is a refurbished Travel Lodge - so the rooms aren't huge, but they are clean, well furnished, good quality king bed, But the bathroom was big and the shower extra roomy with a rainfall showerhead - nice perk! Complimentary breakfast was simple but plenty for us, the bar was very cool with a great ambience. Loved the fire pits and tables in the courtyard! We are Hilton Honors and Starwood members, so we usually stay there by default choice, but they were significantly higher and in the final analysis, I was really glad we stayed at a locally owned small business instead of a chain hotel. We will absolutely stay at the Modern again and highly recommend it. (It's a small property so we just went down to the lobby and got our coffee and brought back to the room - it wasn't a big deal to not have a coffee pot in the room.)
I think the Modern is a gem in downtown Boise -- thanks Trip Advisor for steering us there!

Room Tip: Probably quieter on second level - you will carry luggage up the stairs, so be aware of that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Modern Hotel & Bar is walking distance from the bars, restaurants, Julia Davis Park, etc. Very cool retro decor & extremely clean. Free parking, comfortable bed, & interesting shower. Very minimalist decor. They also give a discount for AAA. All in all makes for a great deal. When I return to Boise will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Clean hotel. Wonderful outdoor patio with three built in firepits. Amazing location. Walking distance from all downtown accommodations. Interesting revival of old motel building. Great use of space. VERY noisy in the evening, from the inside and out. Shower is a top "rain" like fixture. Looks very "modern," but lacked pressure. Overall great stay! Definite recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

If you want a conventional business hotel...this might not be the place for you. It is a rennovated Travelodge, that actually works. The decor & furnishing are retro & minimalist, not expected for Boise! The bar is great, a bit noisy...but that is because it is popular. Breakfast was fine for me - bagels, yogurt & granola & fresh squeezed juice.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Modern's rooms are delightful- great soaker tub and a big, balcony to watch the world go by. At night, the patio is lively and the fire pits are great to sit around and chat as you drink concoctions made by the best bartenders in boise.

Room Tip: the soaker tub is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Where to begin? I've stayed at the Modern about 10 times and each time the experience is better than the previous. The rooms are comfy, warm, hip, funky, and AFFORDABLE. This hotel could easily be found on the Sunset Strip or West Hollywood. (yes, it's that good). Rooms are always immaculate. The washrooms alone are worth staying. :) Both the shower and washroom area are ENORMOUS. Additionally, room has plenty of storage space, an area for laptop, a plush comfortable bed, and furnishings are befitting of the hotel's moniker. And did I mention it was affordable??? Not that the room accommodations aren't enough, the hotel has one of the best bars in town. The food is a bit limited, but the drinks are OVER THE TOP good. The bartenders/mixologists are friendly, unlike many other bars touting such a diverse menu of libations. And yet another feature is that you're within a few blocks (walking distance) of EVERYTHING. This place is the epitome of converting a chunk of coal into a diamond!!

Room Tip: I personally love the rooms facing the courtyard. At night, there's a fire feature (not a fire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boise hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
3.9 mi away
Oxford Suites Boise
Oxford Suites Boise
#1 of 54 in Boise
4.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 43
Hotel 43
#18 of 54 in Boise
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#25 of 54 in Boise
4.0 of 5 stars 291 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#8 of 54 in Boise
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Modern Hotel and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Modern Hotel and Bar

Address: 1314 Grove Street, Boise, ID 83702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Boise
#7 Business Hotel in Boise
#12 Romantic Hotel in Boise
#15 Family Hotel in Boise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Modern Hotel and Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this intimate boutique hotel, where architecture and design live in harmony. ADA-compliant. Small parking lot for walk-up comfort and convenience. Street parking when lot is full. Adjacent to the Linen Building Event Center, The Modern Hotel is the ideal spot for meetings and creative professionals taking care of business. Onsite, our business center has all the hook-ups you need to tie up loose ends while you're away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Modern Hotel and Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modern Hotel Boise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Modern Hotel and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.