We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape from the Ordinary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Modern Hotel and Bar

Save Saved
You added Modern Hotel and Bar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Modern Hotel and Bar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1314 Grove Street, Boise, ID 83702   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 56 hotels in Boise
Bainbridge Island WA
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Escape from the Ordinary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

From the outside, this looks like a nicely renovated Travelodge. (I seriously think it was) but renovated by some people with really good taste who have traveled a lot. Once you get past the weirdness of your door opening to the great outdoors, the following features are nice:
-Great location downtown, but not in a noisy area.
-The most mind-blowing orange juice and Grapefruit juice every squeezed from fruit.
-Busy and lively bar with bartenders who are passionate about making a good cocktail. For heaven's sake they have two sizes of ice cubes!! If they tweak out about that, you can only imagine the lengths they go to make a good drink.
-Outdoor courtyard with gas and rock fireplaces in the place where the pool used to be
-Very comfortable beds & high end bath amenities from Aveda
-Ceiling mounted shower head in a huge shower.
-Perfect WiFi in the room and elsewhere
-Coffee is excellent

The following things are not so great:

-The shower made a very loud foghorn noise for about 5 minutes after you turn it on.
-Boise is not warm in the winter and thus every time you open the door, the entire room chills
-Desk/work area is way too narrow for serious business travelers who work in their rooms and the work lighting is poor.
-The continental breakfast is minimalist, which turns out to be kind of lame (other than the mind-blowing orange juice and coffee) It is toast, granola, milk and bagels. Period.

Overall, it was a fun place to stay and definitely worth checking out.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    71
    25
    7
    6
See reviews for
37
82
31
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011 via mobile

We are impressed by the high-end decor, Aveda toiletries and the helpfulness of the staff. They accomodated our dogs and 14' trailer, as we are moving across country. We had the best meal of our trip at the Modern Bar. We thought we'd go for cocktails and apps but were hooked by the sophisticated atmosphere and delicious fare. Definitely a highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

The Modern was an excellent stay and the bed was very comfortable. I can see how in summer it could get loud there, as there is not a lot of noise cancellation through walls and such. It was a bit noisy when we returned from our concert, but settled not long after. The morning was a bit noisy too, as we could hear the whole hall waking up.

We were within walking distance of everything cool in Boise. We enjoyed the concert we went to at The Knitting Factory and only had a 1/2 mile walk back to our warm, comfy bed. The shower was fun, as it was a rainfall type shower. The room was utilitarian and minimalistic, but met our tastes. Breakfast was nice. I wish they had toasted the croissants. Overall, it was a nice experience and I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: They have a few pet friendly rooms. I liked the balcony room so we were away from the bar and didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Most of all, it's the people that make the "Modern" great. From the front desk to the incredible
bar staff (just ask a cocktail question). Great morning buffet won't weigh you down and the coffee is definitely worth getting up for. The rooms have been efficiently "Modernized" with an eye for design. Don't come here looking for the hotel rooms we all know and are tired of. At checkout (4 AM) we were thrilled that the front desk clerk happily served the coffee we hopefully requested the night before. A great stay in a great town. Try the Irish coffee.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

this is a fun hotel for a nice change of pace from the chain hotels. rooms are nice and the bathrooms great! Great front desk people and a small friendly bar, seems to be a hangout for the locals. but dont miss the OJ at the free Cont. B-fast it is the best! I am looking forward to staying here in the summer when they have live music on the patio, Im sure that will be great too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011 via mobile

Cool room decor. Great front desk service. Friendly employees who really know the area. Free airport shuttle. The only thing I didn't like was the smell in the indoor corridor hallway, which thankfully doesn't carry into the rooms. It's an undefinable smell, but is seriously bad enough I held my breath going in and out each day.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011 via mobile

Good price for great location with contemporary decor.
Make sure to ask for a room AWAY from the extremely LOUD ice machine (unless they recently replaced it)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Modern Hotel and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Modern Hotel and Bar

Address: 1314 Grove Street, Boise, ID 83702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Boise
#20 Business Hotel in Boise
#21 Family Hotel in Boise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Modern Hotel and Bar 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this intimate boutique hotel, where architecture and design live in harmony. ADA-compliant. Free parking for walk-up comfort and convenience. Adjacent to the Linen Building Event Center, The Modern Hotel is the ideal spot for meetings and creative professionals taking care of business. Onsite, our business center has all the hook-ups you need to tie up loose ends while you're away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Modern Hotel and Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modern Hotel Boise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Modern Hotel and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.