We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay for downtown Boise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 Fairview Ave., Boise, ID 83702 (Formerly Doubletree Boise Downtowner)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 55 Hotels in Boise
Ogden, Utah, United States
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good stay for downtown Boise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I were traveling through Boise to Eugene Or from SLC and needed a place to stay in the middle that was pet friendly. We decided on staying at the Red Lion downtown because it seemed like a decent location and they were a pet friendly hotel. Friendly may be a bit excessive to say, they are a pet tolerant hotel. When we arrived the "kid" behind the counter (must have been 18) wasn't the easiest to deal with. We had questions about our room and areas that we could take the dog to go to the bathroom and he couldn't answer any of them. When he asked for a government ID to secure the room, my husband handed him his military ID card and the kid told my husband he needed a real ID instead. Once we finally got rid of the kid the rest of the stay was nice. We got to out room which was on the first floor (nice for taking out puppy) and the room wasn't outdated and had comfortable beds. My husband didn't like the overabundance of pillows; he would have rather had fewer medium firm pillows than several soft pillows. There was a flat screen TV in the room that worked perfectly. We went to the restaurant in the hotel for dinner. It was NHL playoffs and my team was playing so I didn't want to make a big thing out of dinner. The bar/restaurant had a huge TV that I was able to watch my game on and the bartender took very good care of us. He made great drinks, although my expectations weren't very high coming from Utah. The food was so-so nothing to write home about but it gave us sustenance in our bellies to account for the booze we were drinking. I was disappointed that they didn't have a designated dog area that was fenced in, but they do have a grass island that was supposed to be the dog area. The potty bags that were offered by the island hadn't been filled, but we brought our own not expecting there to be any. The carpet in the hallway from our room to the pool area looked like it had some major water damage, but other than that it was a decent hotel for the age that it is. All in All it was a decent hotel for what we needed which was a stopover on a long drive.

Room Tip: First floor is great if you have a dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
It was a great pleasure reading the thorough review you wrote about our property recently. The points you addressed are very understandable and we appreciate you bringing them to our attention.

We do hope that you will come and visit us again.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    72
    36
    16
    13
See reviews for
51
49
29
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

A solid 3 to 3.5 star hotel in a great location only minutes from the heart of downtown Boise. The hotel rooms have recently been renovated with new furniture and a flat panel TV. The free Wi-Fi is fast enough to stream video. The fitness center has commercial grade equipment, and the bar is comfortable. The staff went beyond expected service to solve a problem I had when I had to check out one day early on a pre-paid stay. The Red Lion Boise is my hotel anytime I’m in Boise.

Room Tip: Request a room on a high floor in the main tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments about your recent stay with us at the Red Lion Hotel Boise. We are always thrilled when we are able to exceed the expectations of our guests. Exceeding your expectations is what we aim to do each and every time and knowing that we were able to achieve that for you pleases us.

We hope to see you again in the very near future and if there is anything we can do to help prepare for your next visit, do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Ken Kester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Its my second time that I've stayed here and my experience was pleasant. The front girl even remembered me which I thought was pretty neat. The rooms are clean, they offer a free shuttle service to downtown (and I think the airport maybe too), they have a hair dryer, iron/ironing board, cable tv, wifi and work desk. I recommend this as a great place to stay at a good price close to downtown. FYI - use priceline for the best deal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review on our property and your time with us. We value the input of all of our guests and are very pleased that you had a positive experience.

Ken Kester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We were walk-ins and only stayed one night but we had a clean room (pillows were soft and fluffy) and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Very close to downtown and the price was right! We didn't check out the breakfast because we slept in to late. Check out was at noon which was super nice not having to rush out the next morning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review on our property and your time with us. We value the input of all of our guests and are very pleased to know that we were able to exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The hotel was comfortable and the staff, for the most part, helpful and friendly. Lobby carpets were worn and soiled, the hotel in general is about ten years overdue for an update. Terrible coffee served in both the restaurants and for meetings.
Wifi access was good throughout the facility. Not a bad value for the price but not impressive either.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience here at the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner. We realize that you can stay anywhere and we thank you for choosing the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner. We hope to see you again in the very near future.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baker City, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have used this hotel before as it is pet friendly, but was not impressed with the cleanliness overall. The room was okay except for coffee drips on the bathroom floor. It had not been cleaned properly. Just because you travel with a furry companion doesn't mean you give up cleanliness!

Room Tip: No breakfast provided. Menu seemed expensive for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
I would like to extend my appreciation for the time you spent sharing your observations with me. I am truly sorry that you had a less than perfect stay. Please be assured that the items mentioned were investigated and corrective action was taken as necessary.

Ken Kester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Ok here is the situation 99% of the staff were nice and helpful so I won't make them all go down for the one girl who was working the next morning. The rooms only have one open outlet which is really a pain for those of us that travel with more then one electronic. Our tub did not drain hardly at all, there was a burnt out light in the vanity (weird housekeeping didn't notice these things) the TV was a nice flat screen but reception was poor and the fitted sheets DIDN'T FIT! Subpar hotel and doesn't at all live up to Red Lions standards I wouldn't think.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 224 and it is directly above the entry to the hotel set back a little looked out my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on our property and your time with us. We value the input of all of our guests. I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. I’m sorry that the room you stayed in had issue with the TV, bathtub drain, light bulb and sheets. Our Housekeeping manager and Maintenance are working on correcting the issues you mentioned at this moment.

I am truly sorry that you had a less than perfect stay.

Ken Kester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner

Address: 1800 Fairview Ave., Boise, ID 83702 (Formerly Doubletree Boise Downtowner)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Boise
#22 Business Hotel in Boise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal location in the center of everything and conveniently located off I-184 in the core of downtown Boise, Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner is just 15 minutes from the airport via our free airport transportation. Take a short drive to the State Capitol, the Boise Convention Center and many other popular attractions. We're just minutes away from the beautiful Boise River and Boise State University.182 fully renovated, comfortable guest rooms and two spacious suites welcome you to our seven-story, full-service property. Guest rooms feature 37" flat-screen televisions, microwaves, mini-refrigerators, phones and coffeemakers. Complimentary wi-fi is also available throughout the hotel, including all guest and meeting spaces. Take advantage our fitness center, whirlpool and swimming pool and take some time to explore Boise's Greenbelt jogging path, just steps away. Seven golf courses, shopping, skiing, rafting and the great Idaho outdoors are all close by.With 8,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space, the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner is a full service convention hotel able to accommodate up to 250 guests for your next conference or special occasion.This hotel offers a range of dining options, including a'la carte restaurant dining from an abbreviated menu to a cozy lounge in which to order appetizers and a beverage to enjoy with your Café2Go purchases. All select service hotels feature the Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet, Café2Go and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Boise
Boise Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.