We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but severely under staffed!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 Fairview Ave., Boise, ID 83702 (Formerly Doubletree Boise Downtowner)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 55 Hotels in Boise
Heber City, Utah
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel, but severely under staffed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

My cousin and I meet in Boise twice a year and usually stay at this hotel, mainly for it's convenient location. We have always had clean rooms and friendly employees. We brought our daughters with us this year over St. Patrick's Day weekend. Our check-in went smoothly and the front desk employees were very friendly and helpful. However, we went to Characters on St. Patrick's Day evening and were SHOCKED! There was ONE bartender/server working the entire bar/restaurant and it was packed! The poor girl was working her tail off trying to get people their drinks, food and room service orders ALL BY HERSELF! She called twice while we were there to see if she could get some help and nobody came to help her. Not even a manager came to help! We were appalled that they would be so severely under staffed on a very busy holiday for a bar/restaurant. We saw many people leave and the server was being yelled at and had to deal with frustrated customers all by herself. The next morning we went into the cafe for breakfast and there was ONE waitress working all the tables and the front cash register. The food was average and she was scrambling to keep up. While we may stay at this hotel again, we will not be going to either of the restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience here at the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner. We realize that you can stay anywhere and we thank you for choosing the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner. As you reviewed stated we certainly made a mistake in schedule our staff the weekend of your stay. Characters Sports Bar was significantly busier than we expected. Thank you for sharing both the positive and negative experience you had while being our guest. I'm pleased to hear our front desk staff the a nice job.

I hope that you will be staying here again in the near future. Please contact me pror to your next stay, I would like to mail you a gift certificate.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    81
    37
    17
    13
See reviews for
53
54
29
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

The hotel is average, a little dated in need of updates but the service makes up for it. Thanks to Mike for the great service, will definetly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience here at the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner. We realize that you can stay anywhere and we thank you for choosing the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner. We hope to see you again in the very near future and if there is anything we can do to help prepare for your next visit, do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacNW
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Because the manager of the hotel replied to my poor review of his hotel, I
called and spoke to him about the conditions of the hotel during my last stay.
He offered me a free night to come back and try again.

I have to say that the second visit was MUCH, MUCH better. The room was clean
and we spent time in the hotel restaurant and bar this time because we were without
children this time. All in all, the hotel is a great deal and ideally situated for our activities.

The manager of the hotel was on vacation during our first stay, and was totally appalled at what had gone on during his absence. Second impression was great!

Room Tip: Request a tower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

I've stayed at the Red Lion Boise several times over the years and it's a great hotel. Clean, updated rooms, friendly staff, one of the best hotel sports bars around! It might not be in the heart of downtown but it is within walking distance and in an area that I feel is safe to walk in.

Room Tip: Tower rooms are nice because they have a balcony but the other side of the hotel is just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancover, WA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

We got this hotel through hotwire for $49 so we weren't sure what to expect. As it turns out, we enjoyed our stay here thoroughly. We were especially nervous after reading some of the reviews on here but were pleasantly surprised by how nice the room was.

The breakfast buffet for $4.95 is a bit of a rip off. It was scrambled eggs, crusty bacon, and dried up sausages. Most hotels would have given it away for free. Skip it and go downtown to a Denny's or something...

The staff at the front desk were friendly when they were there... It seemed like whenever we needed something they were in some office on the computer (facebooking would be my guess) and it took a lot to get their attention but once you got them they were very helpful.

All in all it was a great value and we will most likely be going back there again as it really is conveniently located to a lot of great downtown places. It might take you 20 minutes to walk downtown if you're 90 and crippled otherwise everything was within a 10 minute walk or a 2 minute drive...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
idaho
Top Contributor
310 reviews 310 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

we have stayed here many times and always love he staff...we got our usual room, by asking, and the staff saved it for us!!! and wow, they have done a facelift....new beds, new pillows, new bedding , new flatscreens...and the bathroom is totally redone, great new shower head...yipeee, and well, get this,the sheets are ironed..where do you get that ??can't wait to go back, slept like a baby...thanks again to the great red lion.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments about your recent stay with us at the Red Lion Hotel Boise. We are always thrilled when we are able to exceed the expectations of our guests. Exceeding your expectations is what we aim to do each and every time and knowing that we were able to achieve that for you pleases us.

We hope to see you again in the very near future and if there is anything we can do to help prepare for your next visit, do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

I just stayed in Boise at the Red Lion Hotel Downtowner. I frequently stay there because of the friendly staff, GM, sales department and food not to mention the cleanliness of the hotel everytime I stay there. You can't beat the location either, close to the Capitol, downtown, freeway and all the city has to offer. Best value for all you get there. 5 out of 5 stars in my book.

Room Tip: Ask for the Friends & Family rate if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL828, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
We were thrilled to know that you had a great time with us during your recent stay. Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments. We are always thrilled when we are able to exceed the expectations of our guests. Exceeding your expectations is what we aim to do each and every time and knowing that we were able to achieve that for you pleases us.

We hope to see you again in the very near future and if there is anything we can do to help prepare for your next visit, do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Sincerely,
Ken Kester
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner

Address: 1800 Fairview Ave., Boise, ID 83702 (Formerly Doubletree Boise Downtowner)
Location: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Boise
#19 Business Hotel in Boise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal location in the center of everything and conveniently located off I-184 in the core of downtown Boise, Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner is just 15 minutes from the airport via our free airport transportation. Take a short drive to the State Capitol, the Boise Convention Center and many other popular attractions. We're just minutes away from the beautiful Boise River and Boise State University.182 fully renovated, comfortable guest rooms and two spacious suites welcome you to our seven-story, full-service property. Guest rooms feature 37" flat-screen televisions, microwaves, mini-refrigerators, phones and coffeemakers. Complimentary wi-fi is also available throughout the hotel, including all guest and meeting spaces. Take advantage our fitness center, whirlpool and swimming pool and take some time to explore Boise's Greenbelt jogging path, just steps away. Seven golf courses, shopping, skiing, rafting and the great Idaho outdoors are all close by.With 8,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space, the Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner is a full service convention hotel able to accommodate up to 250 guests for your next conference or special occasion.This hotel offers a range of dining options, including a'la carte restaurant dining from an abbreviated menu to a cozy lounge in which to order appetizers and a beverage to enjoy with your Café2Go purchases. All select service hotels feature the Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet, Café2Go and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Boise
Boise Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.