We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Riverside Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Riverside Hotel to your Saves list
The Riverside Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2900 W. Chinden Blvd., Boise, ID 83714 (Formerly Doubletree Hotel Boise - Riverside)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in Boise
Boise, Idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Had a great stay. Our room was renovated and very clean, spacious and comfortable. The staff was just great. very freindly and helpful, going out of their way to take care of all our needs. The warm cookies upon arrival were a nice touch. We had planned on going out for dinner but decided to check out the Sapphire room as we were drawn in by the music, which proved to be a great choice. Good food and super friendly. Hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    67
    22
    13
    4
See reviews for
78
60
15
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Twin Falls, Idaho
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel. It is an older hotel that had been renovated. The decor of the rooms are a little dated. The bed was comfortable, the lobby is very nice, and breakfast was good for being included in our price. ( although on a previous stay, they had homemade donuts that were to die for. On this stay they weren't as good and the maple tasted like grainy sugar) We were very happy with the value of this hotel. Will come back if it continues to be a good value.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is the second year in a row we have brought our high school boys lacrosse team to Boise and stayed at the Riverside. Lisa Becker and her staff are very easy to work with and it's been an exceptional experience with both the accommodations and catering for the team. I would highly recommend staying here either as an individual or for large group accommodations.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed here as a group for a school sports club and when I made the reservation, even said we were under the Montana group. When we checked in, our name was spelled wrong which caused a big delay and we were under the Oregon group so we were not near any of our group. Plus when we walked into the hotel we were met by a overwhelmingly strong perfume smell which was horrible and really effected my allergies. When we got to our section of the hotel, we were met by the same awful perfume in the hall ways, which became less over our stay in the halls only.

Our room was very large and thankfully free of that awful perfume smell. I was so happy with the size of the bathroom and the really large bathtub! The room was very clean and while the furniture itself was obviously outdated it could be overlooked by the fresh linens and flat screen HDTV. We were disappointed to find out that the 10 Channels offered were all in SD and the picture was so small it did not fill the screen. Also one of the headboards was no longer screwed into the wall so went I looked for a free wall outlet, I almost cut my hand on the screw head sticking out off the headboard.

Breakfast the next morning was awful! Yes we ordered the buffet but we weren't really expecting the poor quality. The eggs Benedict that was offered sat out so long the egg was way over cooked, the bacon had a jerky texture to it, home fries and waffle were just soggy. We were shocked we paid $17.99 each for this when we saw a sign that said $10.99. When we left, lower on the sign it said Sat & Sun $17.99. The waitress started to give us our receipt to pay and then started asking about a voucher we knew nothing about from our check-in and even asked if we were guests there. When we said we didn't know about a voucher she took the receipt we didn't even get to look, and took 10 minutes to correct it with another girl and that girl brought it back. Our fast food chain breakfast was much better on Sunday.

Overall I would say I would stay at the Riverside Hotel again, especially if they got rid of that overwhelming perfume smell.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathyPidgeon, General Manager at The Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. We always like to have feedback from out guests. These comments are taken seriously and they help us to improve the hotel. We are working with a company to help us to improve our channel selection and our television reception. We will have that issue fixed soon. I apologize about the issues with the breakfast buffet. The chef and I have discussed the need to check the food on the buffet line more often so we make certain the food is always fresh.
It seems the main issue was the perfume smell. I talked to our housekeeping manager who explained to me, she had tried a new scent from one of our vendors. She did say she only tried this once and sent it back because it was too strong. Rest assured, we will not use that product again.
Thank you again for your feedback. If I can be of further assistance, please contact me at Kathy.pidgeon@riversideboise.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This hotel is right on the river, which we loved. It was newly remodeled and we were very impressed. The staff was terrific. I supposed my only criticism would be the live music stopped at 9pm on a Saturday night and that hot tub was not hot enough. Neither of those will stop us from coming back, which we will.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathyPidgeon, General Manager at The Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hello Lisa,
Thank you for your kind remarks about The Riverside. I am glad you like working with Lisa on our Sales team. I know she appreciated working with you as well. We do host many sports teams here so we are happy to hear you and your team enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

my band traveled from Portland, Oregon to Boise to perform at the hotel's Sapphire Room. We knew we were in the right place as soon as we met the friendly staff at the front desk, and given a warm chocolate chip cookie! All staff - whether it be in the restaurant, bar, or maid service treated us like stars. The rooms were luxurious, spacious, clean, and inviting. Food was always excellent, and all our guests felt the same. We are excited to return.

Room Tip: Building No. 4 is a good spot. Seems to be very quiet. There is a walking path just outside your w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathyPidgeon, General Manager at The Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Hello Linda,
Thank you for your kind words about The Riverside. We are so pleased to hear that you were treated like a star. We want all of our guests at The Riverside to feel important. We are also happy that you enjoyed the spacious rooms. We are fortunate to have rooms that are larger than most hotel rooms so our guests have room to spread out and relax.

We are also excited about your return visit. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

it still remains a boise landmark.having grown up in boise o am very familiar with the riverside. It holds many memories and special times. It still does every every time I visit.
you feel welcome and at home.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathyPidgeon, General Manager at The Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your nice comments about the hotel. I am so glad you feel welcome and at home at The Riverside. That is exactly the way we hope all of our guest will feel. So many people have fond memories of time spent at this hotel. We hope you will be able to return soon and enjoy all of the improvements we are making to the hotel. We want you to remember the special times of the past and we also want you to experience all that The Riverside has to offer so you can create new memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverside Hotel

Address: 2900 W. Chinden Blvd., Boise, ID 83714 (Formerly Doubletree Hotel Boise - Riverside)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Boise
#7 Romantic Hotel in Boise
#9 Business Hotel in Boise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel's riverfront location offers direct access to the Boise Greenbelt's 26-mile paved trail alongside Boise River. Our spacious guest rooms are decorated in a Contemporary style, including an ergonomic chair at an oversized desk featuring task lighting and an easy-access power source. Work with ease and efficiency from your room, utilizing two telephones with complimentary high speed internet. Guest rooms include one King or two Queen beds, most with courtyard or river views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Boise
Boise Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Riverside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.