We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do a lot better..” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Old Spagetti Factory - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Old Spagetti Factory
610 W Idaho St, Boise, ID 83702
(208) 336-2900
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Boise, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Could do a lot better..”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Very disappointing.
On the way to our booth we passed the area where the washing up is done, this area looked like a bomb had gone off, the floor and table tops were really dirty and messy.
I put this to the back of my mind thinking it can only get better. How I wish I had gone with my first thought and carried on walking to the exit.
The waitress was not very imformative and did not explain that you get a salad and bread with your entree.
We ordered the garlic cheese bread and marinara sauce, the bread was soft underneath and the parsley that was sprinkled over it seemed dry like it had been chopped a couple of days before.
My wife had lasagna and I had the baked chicken, both were very bland and nothing to write home
about.
There was a lot of noise going on through a doorway which sounded like the party to be at. I asked the waitress what it led to, she said the kitchen and they had some noisy staff working the line.
It was 8.30pm on a Sunday night and the dining room was pretty much empty.
I would suggest this is not the place to eat, but if you want to work in a party atmosphere and not care about what you produce then this is the place to be..

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    5
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“As always....good value and good spaghetti”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Just like all the other Old Spaghetti Factories. Consistently good food, great price. Parking can be a bit of a pain though.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho, USA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Average food with nice decor, although the service is good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The decor at this restaurant is very cute, with a "train car" type setting in the middle. Beyond that, the food is just mediocre, but they have good service. The chicken was dry. I was choking it down when the server came over and asked how dinner was. We responded with "ok". She left. A couple minutes later another person came over, concerned, and asked what made it just "ok". I told her that my chicken was dry. She offered to cook another one. The one she brought out next was much better. I still would hesitate going back. They recovered well, but I feel very uncomfortable telling a server that the food isn't good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good Food, good atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

It was fun to eat here. The food is good, not exceptional. The prices are fair, not too high. The staff is competant, not really attentive but very acceptable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Go elsewhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I was really disappointed in the food. Service was good, but go elsewhere for Italian food.
Macaroni Grill is 10x better.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Spagetti Factory also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Spagetti Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.