We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice for Boise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites by Marriott Boise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites by Marriott Boise to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Boise
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1455 S. Capitol Blvd., Boise, ID 83706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% This Summer!
Ranked #34 of 55 Hotels in Boise
England
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“A good choice for Boise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Very nice large clean rooms. Lots of facilities in the room although we only stayed two days and ate out. it would be good for a longer stay. Friendly and helpful reception staff. About a 15 minute safe walk to downtown Boise. The only minor problem is that the breakfast area has a congested alcove where food is stored (otherwise I would have given a 5). The range however was good. This was our third visit to Boise (2006, 2009) and this hotel is far superior and better located than the Red Lion where we had stayed before. We will stay here again next year if we get the same rate.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    37
    10
    4
    9
See reviews for
27
23
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here with our three small children. It was very clean, had a nice kitchen area, and ample space in the room. It also had a beautiful large closet. The bathroom was not huge, but was okay. My only complaint about the room was that the light for the shower/toilet was connected to the light for the vanity next to the beds, so if you have to get up in the night to use the bathroom, or want to get up early and shower while the rest of the family sleeps, the light will be on next to the beds while you are in the bathroom. The kids enjoyed the pool and hot tub. Breakfast was adequate, although the seating was limited and at times there is not enough room for all the guests. The parking lot was also large and there was plenty of parking for large vehicles. Overall, we were very pleased with the hotel and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at the Town Place Suites in Boise & were overall happy with out stay. The hotel is across the street from BSU where our daughter is attending school. Walking distance to the stadium & several restaurants. About a 10 minute drive to the mall. A couple things about the our hotel stay this time- the carpets were dirty. This could be because there was a lot of smoke in the area & likely travels on peoples clothing/shoes as well as in the air, but a good carpet cleaning is in need. Also, there is a need for more garbage space in the room. The garbage (only in the kitchen area & bathroom) is very small. If you are cooking, etc it will fill up quickly. Otherwise we enjoy the 2 room suite and the full kitchen. It makes out stay very comfortable & convenient. We will stay here again in October when we visit.

Room Tip: 4th floor 2 bedroom suite recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Good location near downtown, BSU, greenbelt trail. King room was comfortable for a four night stay. Bathroom had drawers in the vanity for storage so we did not have to keep toiletries on the counter. Good sized closet and some drawer space for clothes. Room was clean. Had minimal tableware, microwave, a small cooktop and refrigerator. Nice exercise room and a pleasant breakfast area. Not a great breakfast but a notch up from most "complimentary" breakfasts in motels. Overall, a very good value for the rate we paid ($80/ night AAA).

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I booked three nights at the TownePlace Suites i using rewards points for a recent visit family in Boise. We had been driving all day with my two small children and we were anxious to check in to our room and get settled. We arrived after 4 p.m. (the TownePlace Suites check in time) and were told by the less than enthusiastic front desk person that the room would not be ready for another 10 minutes. I settled my family in the lobby and used one of the hotel's luggage carts to unload our car.

When I rolled the loaded luggage cart back into the lobby, the room was still not ready. The desk clerk offered no apology or explanation and told me he'd let me know when the room was ready. Another 15 or 20 minutes later, the room was ready (still no apology or explanation).

The room was on the third floor facing Boise's Train Depot. It was a one-bedroom suite with a king sized bed in the sleeping room and a sofa sleeper in the sitting room. There was a nice little kitchen with a full-sized refrigerator, a range, a large built in microwave and a dishwasher (which was running when we entered the room). There was also a full set of dishes and cookware.

The room was new and nicely decorated. There was no in-room safe. The TownePlace Suites offers free wireless that worked well. The bathroom was small with a combination bath/shower. My wife immediately noted that there were only three towels for four people. And we noted that the towels were thin and in some cases threadbare. We called the front desk to request additional towels. They never came, but my wife flagged down one of the housekeeping staff in the hall later that evening and they brought additional towels as well as bedding for the sofa sleeper.

The hotel has an indoor pool with a spa. Unfortunately the spa was out of order during our entire stay. When my wife complained to the front desk staff, she was told that they were waiting for a part and that we could use the outdoor spa at a Marriott Residence Inn adjacent to the TownePlace Suites. When she said she didn't want to drag our two young children across a busy parking lot to get to the other hotel, the staff person just shrugged. We also complained about the pool temperature being too cold and we were informed it was at the recommended temperature along with another shrug.

The Towneplace Suites offers a complimentary breakfast from 6-9 a.m. that we were never able to take advantage of. The hours were just too limited for a family with small children.

The heating/cooling system in the room was one of those bake or freeze systems that wasn't easy to control. So we spent nights kicking off covers and then pulling them up again when the air conditioning kicked in.

The TownePlace Suites seems to cater more to business travelers on extended trips rather than families on vacation. There is a nice little business center off the lobby with two computers for printing boarding passes. There was also a small workout room adjacent to the pool. It had a couple of tread mills, an elliptical machine and a stationary bike. There were also some free weights. The room and equipment were well maintained.

The hotel is in a very central location in Boise. It is adjacent to Anne Morrison Park and a block away from Boise State University. The Capitol Building is just a few blocks away. It is also easy to access the freeway.

I'm not sure whether it was because we were on a rewards stay but the front desk staff were never very friendly. When we checked out, the clerk simply said, "Looks like its all covered by points," and turned away. No "thank you for staying," or "hope you visit us again." So, although we thought the facility was nice, the lack of customer service probably won't bring us back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the southside of the hotel face the historic Boise Train Depot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

If I were coming to Boise for a lengthy visit, this is the place I would stay. The reason I say that is they have some amenities one does not find in standard hotel rooms. The room had an easy chair, a couch, a desk with comfy desk chair, two large and one small night stand/TV stand units with drawers, and 4 lamps. The bathroom had drawers in the vanity. The kitchen included a dishwasher, good sized refrigerator/freezer, two burner stove, huge microwave, and sink. There was even a laundry basket. There were lots of pillows -- and they give you an option of feather or foam. The property is conveniently located near a park, the Greenbelt, BSU, and not far from downtown. It would be ideal for people who like to run. Breakfast is standard hotel breakfast food. Decor is also pretty standard. All-in-all, it would be an easy place to stay for a week or more.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vale, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We choose this hotel due to the proximity of our son's Wedding venue,the "Boise Train Depot". We were so pleased with the hotel staff, their service, and their willingness help at every request. We had the rehersal dinner (50 guests) in the Conference Room and it turned out great. It really was the perfect hotel for us. A big thank you to "Hana", front office manager,

Room Tip: Love, love, love, the 2 bedroom suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to TownePlace Suites by Marriott Boise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites by Marriott Boise

Address: 1455 S. Capitol Blvd., Boise, ID 83706
Location: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 55 Hotels in Boise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites by Marriott Boise 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites by Marriott is an all suite hotel nestled next to Ann Morriosn Park, near the Boise River and adjacent to Boise State University. Located only a mile from downtown and within walking distance of numerous restaurants and attractions. All of our well appointed suites include fully equipped kitchens. Hotel amenities include, breakfast buffet, high speed wired or wireless internet, business center, airport shuttle, indoor pool & whirlpool, fitness room and our onsite "In a Pinch" market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your TownePlace Suites by Marriott Boise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Boise Downtown Hotel Boise
Marriott Boise
Boise Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites by Marriott Boise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.