We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Boise Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Boise Airport to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Boise Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8002 Overland Rd, Boise, ID 83709 (Formerly Budget Host Inn Boise)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #36 of 55 Hotels in Boise
Garden Valley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

This Howard Johnson's was formerly a different motel that we stayed in because of the convenient location. So we gave it a try. Yes, it is behind a Walmart and Lowe's but not that difficult to find really. It was clean and inexpensive, just what we needed for a couple of nights in Boise. The staff was very friendly. What's not to like? If you're looking for a fancy place, go across the street and pay $100 plus at the Hampton Inn. Nice, but not what we needed. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Boise Airport, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments and review. We appreciate the feedback and I am glad you enjoyed your visit. Your business is important to us and is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    50
    40
    28
    16
See reviews for
58
32
26
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We stopped here on our way home from Colorado, wanted to get our points for Wyndham. Was very clean, in fact the carpet was still wet from shampooing. I wish hotels could use less fragrant cleaners. Seemed a little sketchy being behind Walmart and Lowes.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Boise Airport, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
I really appreciate your taking the time to let us know of your recent experience .We want our guests to have the best stay possible where everything exceeds their expectations. We will discuss the odor eliminator with housekeeping, thank you for letting us know. We value you as a guest, and please stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The rooms were comfortable and clean and weren't bad for the price. However, it was a bit difficult to find. It was located in the very back of a shopping center. They did have a small sign near the road (we missed it the first time, though), but the property is not visible from the road. The TV did not work properly. Apparently they just got direct TV and apparently our TV was not set up correctly. Every time you changed the channel you would get an error message. The message would go away after 5 seconds or so, but it was kind of annoying.
The continental breakfast left something to be desired. It was open from about 6:30 - 9:00. We got there around 8:00 and there was not much left. A couple of bagels, small muffins and cold cereal. They also had a waffle maker which appeared to have some batter left, although I did not try it.
Overall, I guess it was OK, but I'm not sure I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Boise Airport, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I do apologize for the issue that you encountered with the TV, though I am glad you found the room to be clean and comfortable. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for choosing our hotel and hope you will let us serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

First time staying at a Howard Johnson and after this stay, it may be my last. The tile in the bathroom was cracked and broken. It felt as if the tub would collapse beneath me when showering, the room felt more unkempt than at any other motel we've stayed at and then there were the other guests which kept us up until 4:30 a.m. with their raucus noise and wall banging and not a thing was done to stop it. VERY disappointed. Will never book a room there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Boise Airport, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
I am so sorry that you experienced problems during your recent visit with us. Your experience is not typical of our hotel and services, however, we do appreciate your feedback so we can address the items mentioned and make improvements. We do appreciate your business and hope you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Great hotel at a great value. Stayed here the night before dropping our daughter at the airport early morning in Boise. Rooms are clean and remodeled. Bed is very comfortable. I was surprised that it was this nice. It is located in back of Lowes and WaMart. Kind of deceiving when you follow the road along the back of lowes. You feel like you're in their back parking lot. Keep going you will see it.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Boise Airport, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
I really appreciate your taking the time to let us know of your recent experience .We want our guests to have the best stay possible where everything exceeds their expectations. We value you as a guest, and please stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Boise Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Boise Airport

Address: 8002 Overland Rd, Boise, ID 83709 (Formerly Budget Host Inn Boise)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 55 Hotels in Boise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Boise Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Boise Airport with Outdoor PoolConveniently located just off I-84, the Howard Johnson Boise is the perfect location for travelers on the move. Situated close to shopping, entertainment, restaurants and the Boise Airport, our Idaho hotel is also just a short drive from the heart of downtown Boise. Rise and shine with free continental breakfast while you plan your day using the hotel’s free Wi-Fi. After a long day exploring the area, relax in our seasonal outdoor pool and hot tub. Business travelers to Boise will appreciate the convenience of our business center, where you can check email or print a boarding pass for your departure. Our pet-friendly hotel also features a barbecue area, allowing you and your family to decompress after a day of adventure in Boise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Boise Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Boise Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.