We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worsst Hotel stay in 15 years” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Boise Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Boise Airport to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Boise Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8002 Overland Rd, Boise, ID 83709 (Formerly Budget Host Inn Boise)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #38 of 55 Hotels in Boise
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    59
    42
    30
    20
See reviews for
65
36
31
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rupert
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

You have the most comfortable beds of any place I have stayed in the last 10 years. Your staff was very accommodating and pleasant. I plan on staying there every time I come to Boise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBlazerRR, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Boise Airport, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Howard Johnson - Boise, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. Thank you for your business and for taking time to tell others about our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGNA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

ONE of the reasons I picked this motel is because of the WIFI, there was absolutly NO WIFI, every time i would connect it told me "limited connection" which means the router needed to be restarted, i called to Paul HE DID NOTHING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
5 days on a business trip at a motel that CLAIMED to have WIFI and didnt!!!!!!!!!!!!! I spent most of my time at starbucks because they DO have WIFI, I would have been nicer to do business from my motel room that claimed with Expedia that they had WIFI. The ice machine was broken, the whole complex looked run down, our bathroom at the door had a mable sash that was broken and had sharp edges that could cut your foot if you wasnt looking out for it. Needless to say the writeup on Expedia is misleading.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Boise Airport, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
I am sorry that you experienced problems at the Howard Johnson Boise. I certainly understand your need for WiFi and the WiFi at the hotel was experiencing probleems when you were there.
I have discussed these problems with our owners and we will strive to correct the situations that you mentioned. We do appreciate your business and appreciate your response to your stay, since it gives us the opportunity to make corrections for the next customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAS VEGAS
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The room was very clean, staff very courteous and I rested well. I felt very safe walking my dog and there was plenty of area to walk her. It was a little difficult to find as it sits behind a Walmart. They should put a sign high in the air or in front of the Walmart. However, it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Boise Airport, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Howard Johnson Boise for your recent visit. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you were pleased with our accommodations. Please plan to visit with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We had a three day reservation, and immediately asked that the room be vacuumed. Despite repeated requests over our stay, the room service crew did not even empty the trash,or supply clean towels, nor did any vacuuming get done.
The third night, our key card would not work. The front desk clerk had to use the master key to get us in after a half hour, warning us not to lock ourselves out.
Excuse me?!
Literally fronts right on I84, but the soundproofing is well done. Beds are nice.

Room Tip: Try to get a room opposite the highway if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Boise Airport, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your comments on your visit to the Howard Johnson in Boise. I am so sorry you had problems with our housekeeping staff. We will discuss this matter with the staff and do all possible to improve this service. We are working on improving all department at this property and your comments are always welcome so that we know how we are doing. Thank you again for your comments and your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Boise Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Boise Airport

Address: 8002 Overland Rd, Boise, ID 83709 (Formerly Budget Host Inn Boise)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 55 Hotels in Boise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Boise Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Boise Airport with Outdoor PoolConveniently located just off I-84, the Howard Johnson Boise is the perfect location for travelers on the move. Situated close to shopping, entertainment, restaurants and the Boise Airport, our Idaho hotel is also just a short drive from the heart of downtown Boise. Rise and shine with free continental breakfast while you plan your day using the hotel’s free Wi-Fi. After a long day exploring the area, relax in our seasonal outdoor pool and hot tub. Business travelers to Boise will appreciate the convenience of our business center, where you can check email or print a boarding pass for your departure. Our pet-friendly hotel also features a barbecue area, allowing you and your family to decompress after a day of adventure in Boise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Howard Johnson Boise Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Boise Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.