We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rennovations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Boise Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Boise Airport to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Boise Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8002 Overland Rd, Boise, ID 83709 (Formerly Budget Host Inn Boise)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #38 of 55 Hotels in Boise
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    59
    42
    29
    20
See reviews for
64
36
31
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
POCATELLO
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Staff was good rooms nice took forever to find in the night no signs that lit up and hidden overall worked for our purpose.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Boise Airport, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
I am so sorry you had trouble finding our hotel. I will discuss lighting with the owners so they can take this into consideration as we continue to renovate and upgrate. Thank you for your comments and for choosing the Howard Johnson in Boise, we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

At a very good location, clean room, and good food - I especially like that you are serving soup at night.
However the room was in need of repair. When you enter the switch by the door does nothing. I have stayed at this HoJo's three times now and every room has had electrical challenges. I understand that you just purchased it this year but besides the switch the lamp beside the bed on the right side as you stand at the foot of it did not work. The microwave also did not work as it was not plugged in and the could not reach the nearest outlet. As I am handicapped I am appreciative that you gave me a room on the ground floor that was close and convenient. .
You have improved the breakfast experience since I was there last.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Boise Airport, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your review, as you mention we are new owners and striving to make upgrades to the entire property in order to have a better accommodation and service. Your review certainly will help us see what the guest sees and experiences in the room. I'm sorry that you had these problems, our maintenance and housekeeping will take this seriously as they make improvements. We appreciate your business and hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAPPY VALLEY
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our stay at your hotel was AWFUL! the whole place was filthy, that thing they called a swimming pool was even filthier and colder than an ice bath. There were cigarette burn holes in our bedding and to top it all off, our door handle somehow locked us in our room and we had to actually climb out the window!! We will most likely NEVER book anything with you again. At least the staff was decent. Too bad they have to work in such an awful place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Boise Airport, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are beginning a renovation and things should be much better soon. I apologize for the condition of this room and I do appreciate you letting us know the conditions. We will strive to make things better soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DONNELLY
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The room smelled like stale cigarette smoke when we first walked in. There were white spots on the carpet, hair in the bed, the leg on the table was about to fall off. There was a VHS player in the room that was broken and unusable. The pool was cold and being right beside the freeway was very loud. When you touch the paint on the walls it felt sticky. This hotel was not up to Howard Johnson standards and I was shocked by what I expected to be a nicer hotel. My daughter is Wyndham employee so that is the reason we chose this hotel. Next time we will go somewhere else even if it costs a little bit more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Boise Airport, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
I am so sorry that your did not have a good experience at our hotel. We are renovating and improving the hotel and your comments are so important, it tells us what we need to do to meet guest expectations. It is my belief that your were given a room that has not been renovated and should not have been rented. We do appreciate your business and your review. I will discuss this matter with the staff and we will strive to give the service that everyone deserves.
Again, I am sorry that your were not pleased.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The rooms seem recently renovated, although the air conditioner and door nobs are a bit outdated. It was kinda tough finding the place at night as the location is hiding behind some department stores and thick trees. Breakfast was great! The beds were very comfortable. Big screen tv with lots of channels. The rooms were easy to find. Lots of parking conveniently by almost all the rooms. I would definitely come back!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Boise Airport, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your kind remarks about our hotel. Renovations are ongoing so the items you mentioned should be repaired/replaced soon. So glad you enjoyed the breakfast, please plan to visit us again soon. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Boise Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Boise Airport

Address: 8002 Overland Rd, Boise, ID 83709 (Formerly Budget Host Inn Boise)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 55 Hotels in Boise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Boise Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Boise Airport with Outdoor PoolConveniently located just off I-84, the Howard Johnson Boise is the perfect location for travelers on the move. Situated close to shopping, entertainment, restaurants and the Boise Airport, our Idaho hotel is also just a short drive from the heart of downtown Boise. Rise and shine with free continental breakfast while you plan your day using the hotel’s free Wi-Fi. After a long day exploring the area, relax in our seasonal outdoor pool and hot tub. Business travelers to Boise will appreciate the convenience of our business center, where you can check email or print a boarding pass for your departure. Our pet-friendly hotel also features a barbecue area, allowing you and your family to decompress after a day of adventure in Boise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Wyndham, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Howard Johnson Boise Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Boise Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.