We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zoo Boise

Zoo Boise
355 North Julia Davis Drive, Boise, ID 83702
+1 208 384 4125
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 65 Attractions in Boise
Attraction details
Nampa, Idaho
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I took my kindergarten class on a field trip here. We had a great time! When we went, it was not that busy and so it was easy to move around and see the animals. Staff was friendly. As it is a small zoo, there is not too much variety in the animals. The kids favorites were the giraffes, tiger, and lions. For a small zoo it is great. Because of the size, only a few hours are needed to see everything.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    76
    25
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Don't let the small size fool you... this zoo is BIG fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

They have made EXCELLENT use of every corner of this zoo. Fun, fun, fun! This zoo is extremely kid-friendly & the adults will also enjoy it. The layout has a lot of twisty, windy paths with fun things for kids to do at every corner. Also, they have several face-to-face animal adventure such as hand-feeding the giraffes, an open wallaby exhibit, goat petting zoo, and butterfly pen. There is a lot of shade trees so this is good place to visit on a hot day. If you are looking for a half-day adventure in Boise (with kids) then I recommend adding Zoo Boise on your list.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fun Zoo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

My family have had a ZooBoise membership for years. Even though my kids are now teenagers, we still love visiting the zoo. We've enjoyed seeing the snow leopard kittens and the new anteater is my favorite. I really like the opportunity to feed some of the animals.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“I really loved this zoo!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is by no means a large zoo in comparison to many others I have seen, but it did make for a fun day out. It has alot of different animals that I hadn't seen in other zoos. I felt I could get up closer to the animals at this zoo in comparison to larger zoos over the world. Definitely worth a visit if in the Boise area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun time for the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is a nice little zoo! My kids always enjoy spending a day here. It has always been well kept and it is easy to get around. The gift shop has some fun stuff for kids of all ages. Some of the exhibits seem a bit small, but they do what they can with the space they have. There are lots of stuff for the kids to touch, and play with. M kid always like the big set of fox ears, and the glass domes in the praire dog exhibit. Over its a fun experience I would recommend. Also the zoo is right by a nice park and in the summer the rose garden is really close and it is beautiful to walk through and see all the different types of roses.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zoo Boise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zoo Boise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.