We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jen made it tops!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Crab Shack

Joe's Crab Shack
2288 North Garden Street, Boise, ID 83706
208-336-9370
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 669 Restaurants in Boise
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Jen made it tops!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have been to joes a few times before. Always liked the food and the service was always ok until we had Jen as our waitress. She was so friendly and knew all the best things joes had to offer as far as menu choices. I always get the shrimp but she convinces us to try the crab, being from Oregon I was hesitant, but it was wonderful! My wife and I were happy to find a crab escape when we can't get back home and Jen easily made us want to come back again. Cheers!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    25
    7
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ogden, Utah
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Usual Joe's Crab Shack menu, served by friendly and knowledgeable staff, in a setting right on the river walk

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Nice Franchise Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Admitedly we ended up going there for dinner since it was an easy walk from our hotel. We rarely have high expectations from a chain restaurant and evaluate them a bit differently. The staff was friendly and outgoing but maybe a bit too intense in constantly checking on us. We would have prefered their outside seating overlooking the river, they warned us of problems with bees harassing outside diners.

Our drinks were above average and the same can be said for our choice of entrees.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“This is the second time at this restraurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Well we decided to give Joe's Crab Shack a second try. The previous visit was below average for food quality and service. This particular visit was about the same. Most of their seafood and specifically the seafood baskets are previously cooked then re-cooked. This makes seafood like shrimp dried out and over cooked. The service was average to below average. The waitresses have little to no customer service skills and treat you as an object, with no social interaction.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, WA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Had window seat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Temperature in the high 90's so ate inside a bit before 6 PM. We were seated by the window looking out at the Boise River. Had coconut shrimp with more fries than I could eat. Wife had another shrimp item.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Joe's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Crab Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.