We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch....meh” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Piper Pub & Grill

Piper Pub & Grill
150 N 8th St, Boise, ID 83702-5895
208-343-2444
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #210 of 669 Restaurants in Boise
Price range: $10 - $10
Cuisines: American
Good for: Outdoor seating
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Scarehaircare
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lunch....meh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I wanted something simple - soup and sandwich or salad and sandwich. I ordered the hand carved roast turkey with bacon, avocado, tomato, lettuce on grilled sourdough with a house salad. The flavors were good, but didn't seem to be much different than what I could do at home. Good plating would have gone a long way, but the presentation looked like it was slapped together. The bread barely touched a grill. But the turkey was hand carved, so it had something going for it. Sandwich came on a plate by itself. It did not look much like the picture on the website.

Service was good. The place wasn't full for lunch. I want to try it again, possibly for dinner, and then I will write another review. My husband had heard good things about the place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Meridian, Idaho
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Love the patio...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife loves places where they have patios. Piper Pub is on the second floor and has a wrap around balcony from where one can people watch.
Inside the bar has a great drink and beer selection, especially if you enjoy Scotch.
The food is very good and they have a great happy hour and entertainment.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Post Falls, Idaho
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“A Good lunch with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

The beer was cold and the variety of food we had, fish taco's a chicken sandwich, a spinnach salad with chicken, and a wrap were all good. the pub is located up stairs and the outside dining gives you a view of all the downtown.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“One of my top spots in Boise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Love the Piper. Food is great for pub food, good views for people watching, typically great service and best scotch selection in town. Good value and consistently good food and service keep me coming back even when I'm not in the mood for pub food.

One of the best patios in town in the summer. Check it out.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good happy hour...sometimes.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

When they put their food on happy hour, it is great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piper Pub & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Piper Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piper Pub & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.