We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Better in Boise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Star Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Golden Star Restaurant
1142 N Orchard St, Boise, ID 83706-2234
208-336-0191
Improve this listing
Ranked #303 of 612 Restaurants in Boise
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Nothing Better in Boise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

No wonder this locally-owned restaurant has made the Best Chinese Food in Boise for six years running. Food is served quickly, hot and perfectly seasoned. I have been eating here for most of my life and it is consistent. I crave the fried rice as it's simple, flavorful and not greasy. I also order the Kung Pao chicken, extra spicy and we tried the Chicken Chow Foon this time with rice noodles - very good as well. When in need of a Chinese Fix, you've gotta make a trip to the Golden Star as I drag friends in and they continue to frequent it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boise
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Long Time Boise Establishment - Okay but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Funny to read the reviews on this restaurant which has been in Boise as long as I can remember. Based on our most recent visit, I'd evaluate it as neither as bad as portrayed by those who hate it nor as good as those who love it.

The food tends to be the "average" Chinese food prepared by restaurants that have been around for a long time so its probably most appealing to people who are used to that taste. Not very imaginative, but certainly acceptable. Portion sizes allow take-out for next day's lunch.

The ambiance, likewise, is reminiscent of the older style Chinese restaurants with dark interior and oriental décor. Service for our visit was average to above average.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We can't do Chinese anywhere else!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

No matter what, whenever we visit Boise, we have to eat at the Golden Star at least once. The barbequed pork and seeds are the best anywhere.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Point, Oregon, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best General Tao's Chicken Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Its been awhile since I've been to Boise but I used to have to get the general chicken at golden star at least once a month. Its what I order at every chinese restaurant i go to and they had the best I've ever had. I thought the fried rice was good too, the green onions really come out in it more than normal. Prices are average to slightly expensive, portions are below average, but that General Chicken tastes like Confucius would make.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fresh and Flavorful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

This is a little local restaurant, tucked in a shopping mall that always serves delicious food. Their fried rice is very flavorful, the crab rangoon has quite a bit of crab meat and all their chicken dishes are not swimming in grease. We eat here often and really enjoy every visit.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Star Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Golden Star Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Star Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.