We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot waitresses good food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rockies Diner

Rockies Diner
3900 W Overland Rd, Boise, ID 83705-2967
208-336-2878
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #238 of 665 Restaurants in Boise
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Yakima, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hot waitresses good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Great service loved this place. Good proportions could be a little more but for the money it's awesome! We were in town for a couple days and loved it . Will be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    12
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herriman,ut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Food, Fun atmosphere. Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I went to Rockies for their breakfast burritos. Quite good. I like the atmosphere as well. The servers wear roller skates which is a fun twist. They were very efficient and friendly the two times I went.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Not Bad At All”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I went here based on seeing the restaurant on the show “Man vs. Food”. Not that I was going to try and do the challenge that he did, but I like to try spots that are showcased on television. So I gave it a try for dinner one night.
Environment is spot on for a 50’s diner. It is what you would expect complete with a DJ playing all the hits from the 50’s. The waitresses were on roller skates and rolled the food to the tables with impressive gracefulness. They were all very friendly and happy to help. As for the food, I would say it was pretty good. I didn’t have anything that was bad. But not sure if it was anything memorable. I would recommend there chili as I had the chili cheese fries and they were amazing. Food was fresh and hot and served as ordered. It just wasn’t as special as I was hoping for.
So if you want a spot that seems to be a big tourist spot, has a great spot on 50’s atmosphere, and some pretty good food then this is your place. I would say it’s a once you have been there, you probably aren’t in a hurry to go back. I would at least go and give it a try. Could be pleasantly surprised. Keep rocking!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Atmosphere was okay until the owner was screaming at employees. Meat tastes precooked. Fries were cold.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vale, Oregon
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Girls on Roller Skates.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Well, this place was recommended by the staff at the motel we stayed at.
A 50's diner mock-up complete with guitars, motorcycles etc, girls on roller skates as waitresses, seems alittle awkward inside a restaurant, but hey thats the show.
Now the food is just average, typical arrangement.
Positives: cheap price, seems clean, and plenty to look at.
Gotta go at least once.
If you find this helpful, click helpful link below!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rockies Diner also viewed

 

Been to Rockies Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockies Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.