We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NY style slice of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guido's Original New York

Guido's Original New York
235 N 5th St, Boise, ID 83702
(208) 345-9011
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 669 Restaurants in Boise
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“NY style slice of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Best by the slice pizza in Boise! It's just a little hole in the wall place, but it has the best thin crust pizza in town. Last time I was here it was cash only. Only a dozen or so tables, so not a lot of places to sit, but the line moves quickly and you can usually find a seat by the time your slices are done.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    23
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yum!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Freaking delicious and very authentic new york style pizza that you can buy by the slice. I really like the taste of the pizza sauce. Staff is nice and very hipster/alternative. Nice location downtown...

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The best in the state”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I teach a parenting class for Men. I think many of them just show up for the pizza. hopefully they learn something other than the best place to buy pizza. the service has always been great. I call in an order the day before the first class and then just go pick them up for 7 weeks after that. The pies are huge and very reasonable. i wish they had a gluten free option for the guys that need it. I have another class starting next month and will likely be ordering 14 per week. Thanks Guido's

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pizza by the slice ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

A slice and a coke is about as authentic as it gets. Guido's is a like mom & pop pizza joint that you would find all over the greater New York area except it's in Boise, Idaho. The menu is as simple as it gets a slice and a drink. The prices are right and the service is quick.

For Easterners out West we know the pizza in these parts is different than back home. Not that it is bad but certainly different. Guido's is run by folks from the NY metro area who know the traditional method. Sometimes the best food is the simplest food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best pizza-by-the-slice in Boise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I've eaten a lot of pizza in the valley, and this comes out the tastiest by the slice for purists. Not a place for a family dinner or a romantic date, but good for a quick lunch or a place to stop by when you’re downtown and hungry.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guido's Original New York also viewed

 

Been to Guido's Original New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guido's Original New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.