We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Of sheep, gold and culture” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basque Museum & Cultural Center

Basque Museum & Cultural Center
611 Grove Street, Boise, ID 83702
208-343-2671
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 65 Attractions in Boise
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Contains exhibits and collections that provide a look at the Basque heritage, history and culture.
Jenkintown, PA, USA
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Of sheep, gold and culture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Basque Museum & Cultural Center was a revelation. Having spent time in the Basque region in Spain, I had no idea how influential they were in Idaho – or that they even went to Idaho. The museum is more than a repository of the past. It's a community center for present day Basque descendants, including Boise's mayor. The exhibits blend history, art, personal immigrant stories, Basque sports and everyday life. Make sure you visit the Cyrus Jacobs-Uberuaga Boarding House next door and the Basque food market across the street.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    14
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Unique and Historical Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is a wonderful history of the Basque presence in Idaho. The positive impact for Idaho business, schools and personal lives as a result of Basque influence is very significant. Great photos and historical summary supporting the Basque Spirit!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I was very impressed with this small museum. I learned some new information about the Basque region of Spain. Great pictures of past and present. All in all, a nice visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payette, Idaho, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“We were Spoiled!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were there as part of Idaho's Heritage Conference so we were getting all the bells and whistles. We LOVED the Basque dancers! We loved the video and report on the dig for the well at the Cyrus Jacobs/Uberuaga House and were happy to get to see the site even from a distance. It was all just great - the best food, the kindest servers, the best atmosphere, the best music, the best experience during the whole conference! I definitely plan a return visit!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield Twp, Carbondale, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A "must visit"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is a part of Boise that you do not want to miss.
The whole area represents interesting people and culture that so many have folks do not even know exist.
Who are the Basque? Visit and enjoy a lesson in history and meet interesting people and taste unique foods.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basque Museum & Cultural Center also viewed

 

Been to Basque Museum & Cultural Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basque Museum & Cultural Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.